Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 52

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 389

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 556

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 678

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/theme.php on line 507

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php:52) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/Bad-Behavior/bad-behavior/screener.inc.php on line 8

Strict Standards: Non-static method mediacaster::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/mediacaster/mediacaster.php on line 1059

Strict Standards: Non-static method admin_menu::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 345

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-dofollow/sem-dofollow.php on line 67

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-terms2posts.php on line 166

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-extract-terms.php on line 210

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 343

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-comments/sem-recent-comments.php on line 997

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-posts/sem-recent-posts.php on line 1191

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-search-reloaded/sem-search-reloaded.php on line 218

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme.php on line 135

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-captions.php on line 189

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-comments.php on line 311

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-nav-menus.php on line 487

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 586

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-sidebar.php on line 76

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-skin.php on line 248

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-utils.php on line 493

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-archives.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-calendar.php on line 150

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-cats.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-links.php on line 191

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::widgetize() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu_callback() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 74

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/post.php on line 948

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 588

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 588

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::catch_playlist() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::execute() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::is_skip() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 84

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::guess_permalink() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 111

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::check_hostname() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 123
Cyberpunk Review » Movies Ordered by Star Rating
Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::display_scripts() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method sem_google_analytics::display_script() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::get_options() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 95

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method sem_google_analytics::track_links() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 178

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::css() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::js() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: Parameter 2 to sem_theme_posts::display_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 182

Comments

April 12, 2006

groovykid said:

[…] Movie Ratings […]

April 6, 2007

r said:

r said:

RoboCop: Prime Directives http://imdb.com/title/tt0220008/

SFAM said:

Hi R, the list above is only the movies I have reviewed, not the complete list (the complete list is being transferred from a thread in the Meatspace to the Wiki - I intend to get this done this weekend).

Incidentally, Gattaca has already been reviewed - check in the 8 star movies. The Robocop special is on the list.

r said:

Swordfish? if hackers is there http://imdb.com/title/tt0244244/
Paycheck? if minority report is there http://imdb.com/title/tt0338337/

r said:

sorry then

SFAM said:

Hi R, Swordfish? No, I don’t consider that cyberpunk. Paycheck is on the list. See the “What is Cyberpunk?” page for details on why something might or might not be included.

July 22, 2007

Anakha said:

mmhh, well though its by far not the best Cyberpunk-Movie, looking what “hrm” “special Works” you`ve been rating whats about “Running Delilah”?
It´s sure as hell better than Robocop 3, Deathmachine or for that XChange…

August 14, 2007

APX said:

mate, I cant believe you don’t added Max Headroom in any place…
Anyway, congratulations, awesome work :D

January 5, 2008

Me said:

So just to be clear, were calling all Sci-Fi movies cyberpunk now right? Don’t get me wrong I love Sci-Fi movies, and these are the best.

http://project.cyberpunk.ru/idb/index.html

Me said:

6 out of 10 for Johnny Mnemonic?!

January 13, 2008

x said:

There is one Finnish cyberpunk movie: Lipton Cockton in the Shadows of Sodoma

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0113662/
http://www.kolumbus.fi/jukka.uusitalo/lipton.htm

January 20, 2008

Michael Miller said:

Great Site!

Two Words ??

Max Headroom

10 stars

February 28, 2008

Moon said:

Hey nice work here, many that I’ve missed so now I have some work to do at my local DVD store and ebay! Anyway, a notable movie that you might like to consider for the list is ‘Redline’ (titled ‘Deathline’ in USA).

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0124349/

March 5, 2008

Liam said:

Anyone seen Meatball Machine?

March 17, 2008

Wintermute said:

Soylent Green
needs 10 stars, It’s equal to Metropolis.
Thankgod matrix ’sequels’ arent at the top, but 9 stars is a bit over the top. Considering Akira has only 8 stars

April 8, 2008

Wellboy said:

Sorry, my English is terrible…
I think Neon Genesis Evangelion and Rax-Xephon (japanese mangas) are two amazing cyberpunk stories. I suggest you that see it.

April 18, 2008

Bethany said:

Has anyone seen a cult-classic anime of shorts called “Robot Carnival”?
In my opinion, it is the best anime ever created.
This one short, called “Presence” is one of the most profound.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093871/

They actually have it on YouTube in 3 parts…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8BB4BLSc0c
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpqM5eDMXyY&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtpT8Qio_LY&feature=related

Bethany said:

I want to add that the subtitles are horrible and don’t make sense most of the time, and that I recommend the dubbed version, which is actually better overall.

April 23, 2008

Wintermute said:

Dunno if Evangelion is true Cyberpunk tho, but it would/might come close… although i would still recommend it…. and i hope that Bethany isn’t recommending to watch the series and the movies in the over-dub of NGE, the sub’s give out soooooo much more information

April 25, 2008

StrangeCat said:

I am surprised why KARAS is not added to your movie list I would give that the 10 stars and beyond it’s fucking insane! If anyone hasn’t seen it buy the box set on Amazon.com for 20 bucks it’s really really worth it. It was the highest production anime movie ever made. The CG is beyond sick. It’s the highest quality period.
You have movies like Wonderful Days Blue Sky, I think you should Add KARAS as well.
www.youtube.com do a search for KARAS anime. watch the trailer.

April 30, 2008

Bethany said:

No, Wintermute I hate dubbed most of the time… but since Robot Carnival is so rare, the Japanese audio is very, very poor quality and the voice acting can sound monotonous.
The subtitles were done by Japanese people who don’t speak English and it doesn’t even make sense most of the time. The dubbed ran on the Sci-Fi channel in the early nineties (back when Anime wasn’t mainstream and was considered art instead of a money-making machine like it is now) so it’s surprisingly the best dub I’ve ever seen and until a few months ago, I actually thought it was first recorded in English.

October 7, 2008

h1r0pr07464n157 said:

what about westworld, futureworld, fortress, and many others.

October 15, 2008

DAZa said:

Ridley Scott has done ok for himself. come on the north east, as the south’s got no talent.

October 16, 2008

Aerelon said:

Aeon Flux isn’t worth 9 stars! more like 6.

If he was adding all sci-fi then star-trek would be in there!

November 10, 2008

Jean-no said:

Yeah ! Max Headroom is the first Cyberpunk TV show ever, after all (I liked “Robocop the serie” and “Dark Angel” too).

A movie missing too : Class of 1999 (cyberpunk squel to Class of 1984)

December 21, 2008

Cypher said:

do all the non-english films have sub-titles?

C.

September 1, 2009

ICE-M said:

have a look at They Live. It has some cyberpunk themes in it.
Negative Impact of technology on humanity - mindcontrol, subliminal advertising
Corporate control over society - aliens and the elite controlling us
Story focuses on the underground - the hero is a construction worker who is homeless and they resistance are poor people on the

October 25, 2009

Servinal said:

Circuitry Man

Servinal said:

and does the Cube series qualify?

October 29, 2009

Kunstler said:

Fortress with Christopher Lambert is definitely cyberpunk-themed. Too bad that sequel was shitty/

November 2, 2009

Kunstler said:

I strongly recommend you “Inhabited Island” and “Inhabited island: skhvatka”. (it is a two-part movie, meant to be watched as a whole) It surely has both cyberpunk visuals and cyberpunk themes.
Too bad that it wasn’t released in english-speaking countries, but you can find subbed version on torrents.

November 20, 2009

John Daniels said:

Great website, I love it! You said that you are still uploading reviews, and I realy hope that you have not missed 13th floor, It is one of my all time favorite movies. Also have you seen the new Outer Limits, robot episodes? A really good one is Resurrection. E-mail me if you need a link to other cool movies and TV shows that are not listed here.

John Daniels said:

There are a lot of dark themed movies and shows about the future but I would think that it will be more like the last Star Wars movie where the guy is standing on the ledge of his apartment 100 stories or so in the air and is looking out over the city, which happens to be the whole planet :-) People will have more freedom than ever before because technology have giving them the freedom from diseases and death and from manual work. One show that goes into this is movie Zordon and Death Wish from Star Trek with the woman commander, o and cannot forget Walle.

John Daniels said:

It would be awsome to be an android!
This is a cool looking android:
http://excaliburgateopeners.com/johns/Misc/Making%20of%20Human%20Androde.wmv

January 1, 2010

L said:

I’ suppose you to be as stupid as a monkey, and probably more…
There’s no mention to Neon Genesis Evangelion.
Oh you miserable old bags

January 21, 2010

Anonymous said:

I have a suggestion for this list: Cowboy Bebop.

While it may flow more like a Western, Cowboy Bebop does fulfill a lot of the cyberpunk criterion. There’s a lot of hacking, some people have synthetic limbs, and there’s an entire episode dedicated to a digital cult.

August 24, 2010

pulketo said:

Yesterday i saw sleep dealer, i think it’s a good movie, what do you think will you put it in this list?

December 2, 2010

defglorian said:

why there is no battle star galactica on the list? yes, it’s more sci-fi then cyberpunk, but robots that believe in one God and wanted to kill/live-with humans are very much cyberpunk i think. Generally, best “theology-line” in any film making that i have seen. Speech of main anti-human robot at the end can be compared with last speech in blade runner :)

p.s. great site, great movies, great comments.

December 3, 2010

SSJKamui said:

I already wrote a review of Battlestar Galactica, but it wasn’t yet uploaded on the main site. (The submission thread of the review: http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1508 )

June 29, 2011

Vampyre Mike said:

Love the website! Gohastings.com just had a sale and I bought a ton of the movies you’ve reviewed on here for a buck or two a piece. This site is a great service to all fans of Cyber Punk ;)

Be good,

August 1, 2011

daschectron said:

Hey, I was researching data i thought might be useful to my titulation project wich is a shortfilm… that´s how i get here… you know, I think this site rocks…. thank you. I´ve watched many many of the movies you rate here… and I´m so glad i can keep a track on those by year and all that, check them, actualize and rewatch some of my favorites…. thnks again :)

daschectron said:

Hey, I was researching data i thought might be useful to my titulation project wich is a shortfilm… that´s how i get here… you know, I think this site rocks…. thank you. I´ve watched many many of the movies you rate here… and I´m so glad i can keep a track on those by year and all that, check them, actualize and rewatch some of my favorites…. thnks again :)

December 25, 2011

cybermodo said:

Is there any place for STALKER (Tarkovsky) on this list?

SeniorCitizen said:

if you can point out any cp element in it, my answer would be yes. otherwise, - which is my safest bet btw, - no.

SSJKamui said:

Well, there were already some discussions about Stalker on the site. Personally, I don’t believe that it’s Cyberpunk but more “Proto Cyberpunk Influence” like. (So, it was produced before Cyberpunk and lacks many elements.) It had influence on at least one Cyberpunk movie, Avalon.

Judging from the Cyberpunk Review Criteria, there is definitely a negative impact of technology on humanity, but this is rather thin and the technology is more like nuclear technology/radioactivity and not directly Cybertech.

The visuals definitely have got a certain Cyberpunk feel with some industrial scapes but this overlaps with Postapocalyptic fiction in this case, so, you can’t fully say that it’s Cyberpunk because of the visuals.

There are some psycho/memory game elements in the plot which also are typical for Cyberpunk but this doesn’t necessary make it Cyberpunk.

From what I’ve seen of the movie, it also looked a lot like La Jetee, which is considered Cyberpunk by Cyberpunkreview.

Because I haven’t seen the movie completely yet, I am not sure if it’s Cyberpunk, Proto CP or nothing. (Some months ago, I thought about watching the movie completely and write something about this topic. )

December 26, 2011

SeniorCitizen said:

stalker is a must for everyone

cybermodo said:

Stalker explores deepest layers of human conciousness trough a lot of symbolic representations of the Zone, same as two persons (brain implants?) with him representing scientific and artistic mode of thought. He uses carefully done rituals (hacking software?) to move around the ZONE. The Zone itself may be seen as a Matrix. The Room is the ultimate goal of enlightenment or madness. Movie was deliberately reduced to minimalist visuals as an SF, and centers on mystical voyage. My question is - if Tarkovsky was alive and took any true cuberpunk book, and if he did to that book the same as he did to “The Roadside Picknick” when making Stalker, would it look something like this? Stalker was his favourite movie, and he made an art out of stripping down SF elements and effects to the zero level. Still people value it as one of the best SF movies made. So, again, maybe there is cyberpunk alot, if we push our imagination. And pushing it was the main intention of Tarkovsky. IMO it is more cyberpunk in these terms, than classic SF. Offcourse, primary it is pure metaphysical work, but every great cuberpunk converges to that point.

December 27, 2011

SSJKamui said:

I agree on the topics of minimalism and psychic themes of Cyberpunk. There are also really some analogies between the illegal entering of the zone and hacking.

I also completely agree on your opinion on the visual side. Especially the Zone as an industrial wasteland fits quite well.

The Zone as a Matrix/Cyberspace is a bit of overinterpretation, because it’s not directly a product of machine calculations. (And most interpretations see the Zone more like a “zone of exclusion” of areas with a too high dose of radioactivity. (Like Tschernobyl or the 40 kilometres radius of Fukushima.) Some parts of the movie like the baldness of the protagonist and that one of his children is shown with a physical disability in the movie are interpreted as negative Effects of the contacts with the Zone and possible irradiation. The Stalker games are also based on these theories.) On a general way, the Zone can be seen as a Campbellian second world behind the mundane which is also often a metaphor the Cyberspace is used for. (The most famous use of this would be Tron.) (The Zone could also be seen as a typical “confrontation with death to find the boon and/or your true self” described by Campbell and Philosophers like Kierkegaard and Heidegger.)

(Even if it’s seen more nuclear than cyber, this still has relevance to the Cyberpunk genre as lots of media use allusions to nuclear technology. For example, in Angel Cop, Nuclear Waste was a part of the antagonist conspiracy, Bubblegum Crash ends with an attempted attack on a nuclear power plant, in Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex, in one episode, there was a government operation to secure the fuel rods of an old reactor etc. Even in Akira, there were some nuclear metaphors.)

Maybe, you are right with that there was some influence between later depictions of hackers activities and the depiction of the entering of the Zone.

March 8, 2012

What are the best hard Sci-Fi movies? - Quora said (pingback):

[…] looking through this site if the genre of cyberpunk or post-cyberpunk intrigues you though:http://cyberpunkreview.com/movie… I recommend Nirvana a lot (very underrated film - watch Nirvana only in Italian with English […]

April 19, 2012

Yankees Tickets said:

Great post, I think website owners should learn a lot from this web site its real user friendly . “A happy childhood has spoiled many a promising life.” by Robertson Davies.

May 11, 2012

odszkodowanie said:

Prowadzê bardzo podobny blog, te teksty s¹ bardzo inspiruj¹ce. Polecê znajomym.

July 6, 2012

Masque said:

Wild Palms would be a nice addition to the list.

August 11, 2012

Kay said:

Why not Space Truckers (1996)?

March 13, 2013

Extreme410 said:

Genocyber. the greatest over the top brutal bloody extreme cyberpunk anime ever and this is an older one folks.For music tats relevant to this theme and BEYOND ektoplazm.com genre darkpsy goa trance ,forest psy etc for jewelry go to esty.com

U have been cybernetically enhanced to the maxxxxxxxxxxxx

July 14, 2013

White Falon said:

Is this site even updated anymore?

September 7, 2013

razorwinged said:

how about the movie “sleeper dealer” from mexico?

March 15, 2014

dfc said:

Hey, I’ve a question
Robocop 2 and 3 doesn’t count?

Leave a comment

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts