Cyberpunk Review » Gene Generation in Theaters This Summer

April 2, 2006

Gene Generation in Theaters This Summer

Screencap

 

Cyberpunkreview contributor, “Case” has been in discussions with the director for the Gene Generation, a movie coming to theaters this summer. Case passes along a description of the film written by the director himself:

“In the dark decadent world of our future, Mankind has found themselves close to the extinction with the last city on Earth. Forced to implement a controversial Natural Selection process, the government built a wall surrounding the last city named Olympia. By a careful selection process using our genes and DNA, the Kalafkan Government chose only the best and most promising to survive the destruction of Olympia, before building a new city where it once was. This process led to a crime known as DNA Hacking, where people steal genes and DNA in hopes of entering Demeter. The government started hiring assassins, to take out and kill these hackers who have polluted the system. In exchange, the Assassins are granted entry to Demeter. Michelle (Bai Ling) is one of those Assassins. Forced to render her services to the government by any means necessary, Michelle can only hope that death wouldn’t take her soul down like Olympia would. The Gene Generation is a science fiction movie about romance, revenge and redemption”

 

Screencap

 

The description certainly sounds pretty close to cyberpunk in themes, and considering that Case is posting this, I’m guessing the film qualifies. In any event, Bai Ling in Black Leathers kicking ass is enough for me to show significant interest! I have no idea the budget involved, but hopefully Case can enlighten us. The Gene Generation stars Bai Ling (one of my favorites! :)), Parry Shen, Alec Newman, and Faye Dunaway, and is directed by Pearry Reginald Teo.

Mr. Teo, best of luck in finalizing your film!

This post has been filed under Upcoming Movies by SFAM.

Comments

April 4, 2006

Pearry Reginald Teo said:

This movie is a humble movie from my beginnings into the cyberpunk culture. While in no way a hollywood scale production, with the budget only a fraction of it, we pulled in a lot of favors from the crew of Bladerunner, Fight Club and The Crow to retain the consistent look that I was looking for in my interpretation of what a cyberpunk movie should look like. This movie is made to cater to a subculture that has consistently intrigued and fascinated me, hopefully many that will continue to support my thirst for the darkness of our subconscious. We even have a myspace page if anyone will support and join the evolution. Commercialism is dead…

April 5, 2006

SFAM said:


April 6, 2006

Pearry Reginald Teo said:

No problem. You can hit me up on myspace anytime to ask me any questions and I’ll try to answer them in between renders of the film. And yes, Gene Generation is the same budget as One Point O. Hopefully, gene generation will find its way into this culture eventually.

April 7, 2006

Neuromancer said:

This movie (and the sites) is looking so good you definitely got me excited about it. I love the idea of DNA hacking. This feels a lot like the first time i read Neuromancer. The same gritty setting in a high-tec world.

I believe that cyberpunk-people are a special kind of breed. Almost always politically aware but always willing to contribute and participate on our favourite subject. Where else would an (independant) filmmaker respond on comments about his/her movie.
My compliments and you just added your first Dutch fan to the already vast fanbase.

SFAM said:

I agree - it’s most cool hearing from the film maker :)

April 14, 2006

Pearry Reginald Teo said:

I’m giving out free t-shirts on myspace. Case is getting one for sure. If you wanna reserve it (go to the blog) and put down you guys are readers from cyberpunkreview.com and I’ll put you guys in first priority

http://www.myspace.com/genegeneration

April 15, 2006

Case said:

Pearry’s the man…that’s all I’ve got to say.

SFAM said:

Pearry’s request has prompted me to join myspace (http://www.myspace.com/cyberpunkreview). I’m still working out how to customize it, but at least I should be able to comment on Pearry’s blog now (apparently I have to wait a few days though).

SFAM said:

Thanks Pearry :)

October 27, 2006

gridbug said:

Definately looking forward to this!

Also, it looks like there isn’t any current activity on the Gene Generation MySpace page… been waiting to be added for a couple weeks now?

Bai Ling in leather. Don’t get no better than that. :p

November 8, 2006

Katsumi said:

I’m still having issues on determining when this movie is (was?) due for release… and where, actually. I really want to see it - I love The Crow, and this movie stars Robert David Hall which is even cooler. ^_^
Anyone have information for me?

February 1, 2007

howling said:

hey when does this movie come out its 2007 come on?email me if u find out or just go to my myspace look for me by my email spartan_superior@yahoo.com

SFAM said:

Hi Howling, I was check checking the Gene Generation site out yesterday for this exact question. No worries, as soon as I hear the date, I will be publicising it.

March 1, 2007

wiredcoma said:

VFX 80% done! :D

“Well, thanks a lot for everything. VFX is 80% done, we are closing to the finish. Thanks for hanging out guys, I’m doing the best I can to make sure it looks the best it possibly can. Hopefully I meet up to you all’s expectations.”

From The Gene Generation Myspace Blog.

I swear I remember reading something about march… but I don’t see it now. o.O

SFAM said:

I think they’re targeting something later, like September, but hopefully we get some info about this soon. I can’t wait to see Gene Generation. :)

March 2, 2007

Case said:

I haven’t heard a peep about the release date, unfortunately, and I’m actually IN the movie…well…as a mug shot, at least. But I’ll definitely let you know if I hear anything…

March 3, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Case, hopefully you don’t get edited out :D

Just kidding! Hopefully you’ll post a screencap of the scene with you in the movie when you get it!

March 5, 2007

Case said:

Will do…IF I don’t hit the cutting room floor, that is. Heh… I’m told it’s a fairly crucial scene, though, where Bai Ling’s character is flipping through some mug shots at a police station and you see my face briefly in there. Even I am edited out, though…no biggie.

SFAM said:

Alright, now I’m jealous. Tell me you didn’t get to meet Bai Ling?

March 9, 2007

Case said:

No reason for jealousy…I didn’t meet her. Pearry literally said, “Wanna be in the movie? Send me a mug shot of you”…and that’s pretty much it. I didn’t get within a million feet of the set, so…

March 11, 2007

SFAM said:

Wew!

June 10, 2007

cristian said:

how can download this film, really y want to see. if someone can help me y really…

August 15, 2007

LoRez said:

hey cristian..
download this film?
who R U?
the only reason films like this can get made is that they have a niche market that will FANatically support the film. Go see it in the theatre then buy a copy when it comes out. the reason more films like this dont get made is people like you!!!!.
THIEF

September 3, 2007

BriBri said:

When is this actually coming out? I’ve been very hard-pressed to find any specific date…

any news? Something… I think the lone cricket chirping may know more than me. (not surprising)

March 3, 2008

Neur@l said:

Damn this movie is taking forever to get in theaters. Fucking been waiting since 2006 when I first heard about it. But according to their MySpace, it’s already finished and they’re done with editing. They already had the official screening. So I’d assume it’s just a matter of time before it’s in a theater near you.

June 8, 2008

Steamboy said:

So isn’t this out yesterday? It looks great. I’m really into cyberpunk aswell as steampunk, biopunk and dieselpunk and this looks like one hell of a great cyber/bio punk movie XD

I can’t wait for the dvd

June 20, 2009

Bood said:

Saw this DvD in the new releases section at Hollywood Video.

January 31, 2013

joshua said:

Unless you realy like bai ling it was a very bad movie the plot sucks.

Leave a comment


~All Related Entries Related This~

 

All Upcoming Movies

<<--Back to top

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts