Cyberpunk Review » Matrix Revolutions

July 30, 2006

Matrix Revolutions

Movie Review By: SFAM

Year: 2003

Directed by: Andy & Larry Wachowski

Written by: Andy & Larry Wachowski

IMDB Reference

Degree of Cyberpunk Visuals: Very High

Correlation to Cyberpunk Themes: Very High

Key Cast Members:

  • Neo: Keanu Reeves
  • Trinity: Carrie-Anne Moss
  • Morpheus: Laurence Fishburne
  • Mr. Smith: Hugo Weaving
  • Rating: 9 out of 10

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    Overview: Yes, the majority of the population was disappointed with Matrix Revolutions. Many voiced issues with various movie aspects such as dialogue and acting. More still complained that the overall story was non-sensical, with many points seemly completely incoherent. Some even commented that even though it was incoherent, they absolutely loved the action sequences. Personally, I found an altogether different movie. At times I almost felt Matrix Revolutions was purposely written for someone exactly like me. My background in cybernetics seemed wonderfully tailored to understanding the trilogy from a science fiction perspective (versus the philosophical perspective that is most often explored) – as rarely do I find a symbolic struggle of positive and negative feedback systems so overtly played out in film. Strangely enough, many others tend to have this same sentiment (that the movie was MADE for them), although their backgrounds are very different from mine. In this sense, for those that LOVED Matrix Revolutions, something about the movie just “clicked” for them – in most cases, that special something was different for each person. While yes, the action is astounding, as are the visuals, its this aspect of Matrix Revolutions which is most intriguing to me. It may not be for everyone, but for those that like it, its almost tailor made.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Story: Matrix Revolutions is the third installment of the Matrix Trilogy, where Neo’s decision at the end of Reloaded causes a final confrontation between Zion and the Machines. In rejecting the Architect’s control system, Neo has thrown the relationship between humanity and the machines in a completely unpredictable direction. The machines are quickly digging to reach the last human city of Zion, while Neo, Morpheus, Trinity and a host of others look to recover from their last ditch attempt meeting with the Architect at the end of Reloaded.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    Nothing was at it seemed. The history of the one was a lie, all part of an elaborate control system. Now, in less than twenty hours, the machines will penetrate Zion’s defenses, and potentially destroy humanity forever. Worse, Neo’s mind has somehow separated from his body and now lies comatose next to Bane on-board the Ship called the Hammer. Morpheus is still despondent about the false prophecy, and the Zion’s defenses have been all but wiped out by a premature EMP pulse.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    It turns out that Neo’s mind has been trapped in a place in-between the Matrix and the Machine City, inside something called the Mobile Avenue Train Station (better known as limbo, which is an anagram for “Mobile” Avenue). Unfortunately, this is controlled by the Merovingian. Trinity and Morpheus, along with Seraph must now convince the Merovingian to let Neo Free. Meanwhile, Mr. Smith has virtually taken over the Matrix with duplicates of himself while Zion prepares for the attack of the Machines, and decide to place virtually all their resources into holding the dock. As things become clear, Neo decides the only way he can save Zion is to personally go to the virtually impenetrable Machine City. Meanwhile, as the Dock Fight goes from bad to worse, Niaobi (Jada Pinkett Smith), Morpheus and company race back in the Hammer to help save Zion with the humanity’s last remaining EMP.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    Revolutions is a War Movie: Whereas the first movie, the Matrix involved a personal awakening, and Matrix Reloaded was almost more of a chase movie, Matrix Revolutions is more a war movie than anything else. In this sense, each of the three movies are very different from one another. Many new characters are introduced in Revolutions, while some of the staples of the first two movies take more of a back seat. We see less of Morpheus here, for instance, but are almost bombarded with a myriad of secondary characters, each intended to bring us a sense of drama associated with the enormity of their undertaking. While one can discuss how well each of the minor characters worked, the need for their inclusion is rather clear – without them, the scale of the conflict doesn’t really work.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Matrix Trilogy as a Participative Movie Watching Experience: Most movies are meant to be conveyed in a rather passive manner – one which may require the view to actively pay attention to what transpires but doesn’t require them to actively think about what they have seen. Conversely, quite a few cyberpunk flicks are just the opposite – animes like Serial Experiments Lain or Fragile Machine, extreme Japanse Cyberpunk flicks like Tetsuo, indie flicks like Puzzlehead, or even action flicks like Casshern all require the viewer to spend significant time actively thinking through the implications of what they just saw. The Matrix Trilogy, and especially Matrix Revolutions flat out requires active participation to make sense of it. Arguments abound on this point as many critics consider this a sign of bad movie making, while many Matrix fans respond with the inevitable, “You just don’t get it” comment, as if those who hate Revolutions are somehow intellectually inferior. My take on this is that this is more a sign of preference in movie tastes. Some people (like me) LOVE to encounter movies that take more than one viewing to really understand, whereas others absolutely hate watching films like this. Regardless where you come down on this, your perception of whether you like Revolutions or not will in large part be answered by your preferences on this scale.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Power of The One: The Oracle makes clear in her meeting with Neo that the “power of the one” comes from the Source, and that this power is necessary to communicate with the source. From a SciFi standpoint, the explanation for this is clear – the power of the one is based on the sentient learning program embedded in Neo from birth (the Architect tells Neo this at the end of Reloaded). As is documented in my Man-Machine-Interface essay, this is what gives Neo the power to attack the machines in the real world. Neo has Sysadmin-like powers so that he (the sentient program portion of Neo) is able to reboot the Matrix.

     

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    Getting Back to a Steady State: In Reloaded, Neo, with significant prompting from the Oracle has effectively wiped out the Architect’s negative feedback control system (meaning a cybernetic control system that “negates change from an initial goal state). The thresholds were exceeded, and the entire control system spun out of control. This, after all was the Oracle’s purpose. From a cybernetic perspective, the Oracle’s goal was to create a positive feedback loop (increasing change from an initial goal state). In doing so, she effected the complete destruction of the negative feedback system that had managed human-machine relations for the better part of 600-800 years. When a cybernetic control system exceeds its thresholds, it is possible for the system to again regain a steady-state, but almost never is it possible to return to the previous steady state. This truly is the Oracle’s purpose. By effecting out-of-control change (by creating the anomaly that is Mr. Smith), the Oracle created a situation where both the humans and machines would need to work together to stave off elimination of their species. The proposed steady state (peace) would have to be founded on a completely different set of assumptions. This would necessitate changes in the operation of the Matrix, and a far more integral relationship between the humans and machines.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Philosophical Aspects: Matrix Revolutions, even moreso than the previous films, is replete with interesting philosophical references from Hinduism, Christianity and various writers that ideas such as freewill and determinism, the nature of reality, the notion of purpose, and so on. In totality, the Matrix is a virtual cornucopia of ideas which ends up leading towards a larger integration of purpose, one which serves to unite the needs of man and machine in their struggle to survive. That these ideas are melded into a very compelling story – one which can almost completely divorce itself from the SciFi aspects and still work is pretty amazing. One can easily view the trilogy from the perspective of Neo as a messianic figure who’s story arc involves the coming of age, the sheding the bonds of slavery, and eventually the recapturing of humanity’s (and the machine’s) salvation. The Matrix Trilogy is one of the very few movies which have spurned an ever increasing number of philosophical analysis books – truly this is rather unique, and itself something to be celebrated.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Acting: While much has been said about some uneven performances, by and large, the leads in Matrix Revolutions turn in very solid performances. Keanu Reeves deserves additional credit for the incredible work he in preparation for the part – his martial arts and wire work in Revolutions are just terrific. Hugo Weaving turned in a supporting performance worthy of what I would consider an Oscar nomination. His monologue (“Why Neo, why?) near the end is absolutely riveting. However some of the secondary actors, most notably the “kid” (Clayton Watson) were pretty bad. Also, there were some dialogue issues in Revolutions which could have been worked a bit more (shortening the Trinity “you gave me one more chance” scene, for instance). In light of the incredibly ambitious goals for Matrix Revolutions, its not too surprising that some of the details could have been worked more.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The FX: Matrix Revolutions has some of the most impressive FX on film. Regardless whether or not you hate the film, the quality and enormity of the FX we see in Revolutions is a wonderful cap to the series. From an FX standpoint, the Dock Fight was an absolutely monumental undertaking. This combination of CG, miniatures, full-sized models with human actors, and motion-capture provided one of the great battles ever seen on film. Because of the speed and chaos, like many elements in Revolutions, it really does take an extra watching or two to really get the sense of what’s happening. But once you aren’t overwhelmed by the enormity of it, the pace of the battle and the actions of the machines make sense. In fact, it becomes clear that the dock fight is one of the most significantly choreographed combat scenes ever put on film.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Visuals: Visually, Matrix Revolutions is a stunning movie. While the bulk of the visuals use a blue-red color sceme, the familiar green matrix colors are also prominently displayed. Similarly, we get bursts of yellow-orange colors denoting machines disconnected from the Matrix. Shadows are liberally used in the larger panoramic scenes, while many of the close-ups are more starkly lit. Overall, the mood of the blue-red color scheme is reminiscent of Star Wars’ Empire Strikes Back, in that we get the same darkened atmosphere.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Score: Don Davis’ music for Matrix Revolutions provided a terrific accompaniment. The diversity, from industrial sounds to haunting choral arrangements served to heighten the tension and energy at pivotal scenes. Probably the highlight of this was at the beginning of the Super Burly Brawl between Neo and Mr. Smith where the piece, “Neodammerung” signals the final confrontation.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Screen Capture

     

    The Bottom Line: The Matrix Trilogy is one of the most ambitious projects ever undertaken in movies. It combines almost two distinct storylines – one based on philosophy and religion and the other based on science fiction – with revolutionary effects, great action and truly interesting ideas throughout. As a cyberpunk dystopia, it’s hard to find a situation worse than the one posed in the world of the Matrix. While the majority of its viewers found fault with Revolutions, especially the ending, I personally found enormous satisfaction out of both the ending and the movie as a whole. While I certainly agree that there are some acting and dialogue issues, as a whole, Revolutions was a terrific ending an absolutely terrific trilogy.

     

    Matrix Revolutions Page 2: More Screencaps –>>

    ~See movies similar to this one~

    This post has been filed under Man-machine Interface, Dystopic Future Movies, Awesome Cyberpunk Themes, 9 Star Movies, Awesome Cyberpunk Visuals, Cyberpunk movies from 2000 - 2009, VR Movies, Movie by SFAM.

    Comments

    August 1, 2006

    Case said:

    The less I say about this the better. But your opinion is respected.

    SFAM said:

    Hi Case, believe it or not, it wouldn’t be the first time someone disagreed with me about this movie. In fact I’ve probabably racked up well over 1000 posts on the subject, so I’ve probably heard just about every criticism there is to the sequels. Many of them are very valid. Some, such as the idea that the movies should be fully understood in the first viewing, I don’t find as much value in, but certainly appreciate this perspective. For me though, the movie still gets better with each watching, similar to many of my favorite flicks. Suffice to say I know I’m in the minority on this one, and that’s OK with me. :)

    August 2, 2006

    Case said:

    You’re kidding, right? People disagree on these films? Nooo… ;) I’ve never bought into the whole “you don’t get it” argument. There are plenty of movies I’ll freely admit I don’t “get,” but that certainly doesn’t diminish my enjoyment of them. Entertainment is entertainment, just as art is art. That’s never been my criticism of the sequels (of which I’ll only say I feel “Reloaded” is the stronger of the two). Oddly, I enjoyed this movie more than “Reloaded” on theatrical viewing, but my opinion changed drastically after viewing them on DVD. But I won’t get too deep into that…I’ll just say I thought “The Animatrix” (and, to a lesser extent, the games “Enter the Matrix” and “The Path of Neo”) are better “sequels” to the original “Matrix” than either of the two theatrical sequels.

    *On a sidenote, have you ever thought about doing an article on the originally-proposed prequel/sequel the Wachowskis were going to do (bits of which ended up in parts of “The Second Renaissance - Parts 1 & 2″ of “Animatrix”)? If I had the time, I’d write a piece for you on the best fan-written sequel scripts I read in the past (one of which was simply amazing…I couldn’t believe it wasn’t professionally written).

    August 3, 2006

    SFAM said:

    Hi Case, that sounds like an excellent idea. Also, I know the Wachowskis had two versions of the sequels depending on whether Hugo Weaving decided to participate or not. Although, I never heard the alternative option. But yeah, I’d love it if you wrote a piece reviewing the fan-written sequel scripts. That sounds pretty interesting.

    Case said:

    Yeah, I read that they originally wanted to do a prequel first, showing how the machines took over and enslaved humanity. Then they wanted to do a sequel to the original. Apparently, WB balked at the idea (they just wanted the sequel). Some say the Wachowskis made the two sequels so (insert your own adjective here depending on your opinion of the sequels) as their own way of thumbing their nose at the studio system. Kind of what Tim Burton did with his second “Batman” film.

    Either way, I’d love to find the script I read again, which I believe was uninspiringly titled “The Matrix 2.0,” and re-read it before I do a review. *spoiler warning* The interesting twist of the script (which was far more intriguing than anything in the actual sequels, IMHO) was that it turns out that the company Neo worked for at the beginning of the original film turned out to be the mainframe of the Matrix itself…therefore “Mr. Anderson” himself was helping program and maintain the Matrix! There was also an excellent scene in which Neo tries to teach Trinity how to fly. *end spoilers* Either way, great script…even Joel Silver read it and said it was “surprisingly good”…a germ of what might have been…

    August 4, 2006

    SFAM said:

    Hmm, I hadn’t heard that about wanting to do a prequel as part of the trilogy. Everyone associated with the movies (Joel Silver, et al) seems to be clearly saying (at this point anyway) that the Wachoskis had a trilogy in mind from the beginning, of which the Matrix was the first part. Considering the brothers had complete ontrol over the sequels - like pretty much carte blanche - which is pretty rare in a studio system, I would be surprised if there was any kind of this nose thumbing vibe. This, incidentally, is why we don’t get an extended edition - the Wachowskis made the movies they wanted to make.

    Whether or not we all like them is a different matter, but from what I’ve read (which is a decent amount, but certainly not everything), they clearly were able to make the movies and edit them the way they wanted, so the “blame,” if you don’t like them, falls not on the studio but with the Wachoskis.

    But regardless, that script sounds pretty darn interesting. :)

    August 5, 2006

    Case said:

    Funny, I read that when the studio approached them about a sequel, they were caught off-guard, because they had no idea where to take the story after the end of the original! I guess it all depends on which source you believe…or what mood they were in at the time of the interview. Either way, as far as blame goes, I just find it interesting that the Wachowskis themselves felt the need to brush quickly over the events in “Reloaded” and completely out-and-out CHANGE the events in “Revolutions” for the “Path of Neo” game. It’s as if even they knew how awful they were (Sorry! Don’t dignify that with a response…I apologize.).

    August 19, 2006

    spikethebloody said:

    Another great review. I’d say the problems are completely with writing and acting in Revolutions. Although I don’t know what exactly people expect out of dialogue in a situation where characters are about to die. It is almost like we’ve been cursed by the Bruce Willis “laugh in the face of certain death” machismo. You don’t go all Dawson’s Creek when you are about to face 250K sentinels. Or at least I wouldn’t.

    Nevertheless it is supposed to be entertaining and people don’t want to see action movies for the realism. So it is a valid complaint and a few of the secondary figures aren’t worthy of a casual fan’s concern. At that point I think the brothers rightly figured you already had your mind made up on the merits of the story and you were either hooked or not. If you weren’t hooked by the story, visuals, and ideas then you weren’t the target anyway. If you liked all of the above then you were going to love Revolutions.

    August 21, 2006

    Pavel said:

    фильма хорошый тока мути многа которая там совсем ненужна была…

    SFAM said:

    anyone wanna translate for me?

    EDIT: Damn, even a Russian dude who likes Ultraviolet is apparently dissing thisl :(

    Alias said:

    No idea, but the movie is different from the first two. And for that reason alone, I liked the movie.

    November 18, 2006

    Flatline said:

    I would have to agree with this review on many points but i think its important to note one thing that was important to me, and i feel fits into the cyberpunk attitude at a certain level. If this movie had been an absolute box office smash it would have almost certainly been discredited as a decent film in my mind much to the degree that most Dick adaptions, although extensions of his work, fail to meet the criteria required to make them cult pieces or cyberpunk cannon.

    this is not to say that one should base their opinions on popularity or lack thereof, but unless you’re dealing with japanese animation, cyberpunk does not sell.

    SFAM said:

    Hi Flatline, while I certainly agree with the sentiment that cyberpunk movies are usually not going to attract the mainstream audience, I think we can point to a number of cyberpunk flicks that did quite well at the box office - Matrix being a clear example. But also we can look at Terminator, Robocop, Total Recall and a few others for examples of cyberpunk movies that did OK at the box office. Regarding Revolutions, had this been a blockbuster or not, I don’t think this would have changed the sentiment all that much. Revolutions was clearly not made for the mainstream audience - most who watch it have a number of legitimate reasons why they don’t like it.

    Just for clarity’s sake, Revolutions was not a money loser. This think took in a fortune if you add up international and domestic sales, coupled with DVD sales. The franchise as a whole is well over a billion dollars.

    February 11, 2007

    Mad Martha said:

    The Wachowski brothers from the start of Matrix said they were heavily influenced by Manga/Anime.

    I think this is most apparent in Revolutions , the direction the story takes and the ultimate “resolution” of the story is typically “Manga”.

    I believe the “difficulty” with (western) people understanding the story stems from the different style of telling (and resolving) stories that come from a different culture (in this case an Eastern culture).

    In many “western” films/stories (regardless of genre) it involves a basic “good vs bad” concept with (usually) the “good” winning.

    In “eastern” stories we often see both sides of a conflict blurred as they go into greater depth defining the motivations and justifications of each stand point.

    This in turn often leads to a resolution that involves BOTH sides to change and re-evaluate their own standpoints and ultimately BOTH have to change to affect a final solution.

    This different approach to stories , in the past , has been “alien” to a lot of Western viewers , and did not sit well with a lot of people , who simply have not been exposed to such stories. (it broke their basic preconceptions of “how a story should be told” ).

    Nowadays , with anime becomming more and more popular/widespread , I foresee more films taking this line of story telling - mostly because to “us westerners” it’s different and refreshing compared to what has gone before.

    Just my two cents I thought I’d throw in..

    [MM]

    February 12, 2007

    Dyce said:

    When Neo knocks out the Sentinals at the end of reloaded and falls into a coma, does anybody have any ideas what the Oracle meant when she says that Neo “touched the source” when he did this, and that he should be dead? from a spiritual or scientific point of view this confuzzles me

    Dyce said:

    Case, with regards to the path of neo game; I kinda liked how they changed the neo smith fight so that it’s neo slamming smith into the crater and not the other way around as in the movie, i mean how DOES neo survive the impact? In reloaded he cuts his hand and the Merovingian says “see, he is only a man” yet here he survives being pile-driven into the ground so hard it creates a CRATOR, and just looks a little dizzy afterwards!

    -And the hilarity of the Wachowski’s appearing and saying the ending of the movie was “Martyr time” and that it would suck in a game, and THEN, over the celebration scenes from the movie, they play WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS by QUEEN!!!!
    GENIUS!!!

    SFAM said:

    Hi Mad Martha, the anime slant is an interesting take.

    Dyce, my explanation for Neo touching the source is in the essay listed above.

    February 13, 2007

    Dyce said:

    oh. Doh!

    February 16, 2007

    Neotrin said:

    Matrix Revolutions was not bad; but check out the rewrite of Matrix 3 at matrixrememory.com. The Architect, the Merovingian and Persephone all figure in more heavily. Nice, chewy alternate version!

    March 21, 2007

    ecarg xxxx said:

    yeah, i totaly agree with you 100% when you said some people just dont get it. all the guys i know who saw it where like “DUDE!!! the fights in the matrix revolution where beastly!!!” i answer “did you get the movie?” they answer “well, the people used alot of big words in it, but DUDE!!! the action in it, i tottaly got that!!! other than that, it was ok i guess.” i saw it when i was 12, and that was when i was like “yeah, whatever, just another guy movie” but after i saw it afew times, i tottaly got it. it tottaly moved me greatly, and i was kinda in shock after i saw it. it seemed so real. i like all the matrix films the same. coz they all ROCK!!!!! yeah!!! visit me at www.ecargz-picz-syt.piczo.com for more information. ps- methinks they should make another matrix movie about life in zion and the machine world after neo. thats my idea!!!! bye gang!!!!

    March 22, 2007

    SFAM said:

    Hi ecarq, if they ever made another movie on this world, I’d like it to take place solely in the machine city. That would be interesting!

    March 30, 2007

    David said:

    When I started watching this on sky box office, I was wanting the entire thing to end as quickly as possible, sorta like 1999 ;)

    But in comparison to what you think you’re gonna get, the outcome is alot differe nt to what to expected. I agree with SFAM that the preformances were a lil’ dodgy in places where it should have been done better…

    I’m not really a Matwix person myself, but if you’ve seen the first and the second, you gotta see the final episode I guess.

    I remember walking into Virgin Megastores when Reloaded was avaitable for purchase- they had variant covers with neo, trinity and morpheus on to increase DVD sales… Corporate assholes!

    Wonder how much dough Keanu made from both this a Reloaded… Jack Nicolson made $100,000,000 in total from Batman, including promo and merchandise.

    April 5, 2007

    Dyce said:

    Why is Smith represented by flame? I know the idea of the Machine’s represented by light is supposed to show that they possess the “Pure spirit of humaity’ as suggested in Second Renaisance (and in the commentaries), but what does the flame of Smith represent, apart from it looks cool?
    Or the symble (sp?) that we see when the camera pulls out of the matrix code during the title sequence? According to the making of docs, Mega City is built around the symble. Weird. It must have some meaning…

    david said:

    Smith doesn’t represent flame, wind, water, earth, etc or anthing like that-

    Neo’s eyes are fcuked, but suprise suprise… he- ‘doesn’t need eyes to see’- or something :/

    Neo is sensing Smith’s body heat (or Kane’s if you will), or it could be his chi…

    david said:

    he senses smith’s body heat or chi in the same way a snake does a small mammals.

    April 6, 2007

    SFAM said:

    Hi Dyce, taking your analogy that the machines represent the pure spirit of humanity, from that perspective, Mr. Smith represented by Flame would represent humanity’s damnation and descent into the pits of hell.

    david said:

    Wha wha wha??? represents humaiy’s damnation??!!

    - I don’t think so dude!! Neo is just able to sense the body heat or chi, it is nothing that sophisticated!!

    SFAM said:

    Hi David, the perspective Dyce is going with isn’t a Sci-fi one. If he’s defining one as the pure spirit of humanity, then the “meaning” of Mr. Smith’s flames will be associated with similar terms. This is why I said “from that perspective.”

    April 7, 2007

    Dyce said:

    he isn’t sensing kane’s body heat, because the flaming figure he sees is clearly wearing Smith’s shades, and even his tie! go on, explain that “David”, if that IS your real name

    david said:

    I can’t remember all of the bloody movie, but yeah it’s smith’s chi, when he reaches the machiene’s liar or whatever the hell it’s called, all the machienes are seen in green, and that is probably the electronic matrix signal.

    I hate the Matrix…

    April 14, 2008

    KJL said:

    Clayton Watson ruined the movie…..worst actor ever

    April 23, 2008

    flash freddy said:

    I thought the series got worse as it moved forward. It’s like it was trapped and could never reach escape velocity. The thing just got more intense, muddled and ultimately futile as it went on.

    The last one was the worst. About 1/3 the way through I found myself becoming very tired and jaded of the constantly overblown battling. I wanted to like it but I didn’t enough watching it. I think the brothers lost the plot. Let the bullshit CGI do the talking as they had SFA left to say themselves.

    Personally I’m not enamoured with the bullshit philosophy. it really is comicbook PKD style philosophy but with no real depth and no real link to the world as is. PKD described a world he lived in, drugs, isolation, kipplization and insanity. PKD saw the future as the boring office block life it has become. The brothers describe a world they’ve read/phantasized about…. guys with big guns and girl with big tits mix in a bit of PKD into the zeitgeist washing machine and see what comes out.

    I think they might’ve been more honest when they described it as a movie about Kung-Fu Vs Robots. The rest is french fried cheese.

    Don’t mean to sound hostile… but I am ;)

    May 12, 2008

    Md. Ziaur Rahman said:

    Now I am see the Movie

    October 30, 2008

    yoyo said:

    I Lo0ove The Matrix Veeeeeeeery much

    November 12, 2008

    Dave 101 said:

    This is simply the best sci-fi movie I have ever seen……

    Dave 101 said:

    (even better than Star Wars)

    November 27, 2008

    ♣dariusdarazul♣ said:

    a hola yo soy mexicano jejej bueno tienes unas super imagenes de mtrix jejej bueno hojala q puedeas pasa a mi metro www.metroflog.com/dariusdarazul te espero ai eee

    December 1, 2009

    Rawmekk said:

    Ich stimme dir vollkommen zu, SFAM. Das war eins der großartigsten und spannendsten (soweit ein Review spannend zu sein vermag) Reviews seit langem. Und es hatte sehr interessante Denkanstösse, an die ich selbst noch garnicht gedacht hatte! Beim lesen sind mir Dinge aufgefallen, die ich unbedingt prüfen musste. Ich hab mir dann Reloaded noch einmal angeschaut und war erstaunt, wieviele tausend Interpretationen auch noch auf die Trilogie zutreffen könnten, breit gefächert. Es kommt nur darauf an, wie man die “Matrix” verstehen möchte. Eigentlich ist sie (genau wie die Filme), was man sich wünscht. Sie kann alles sein.

    December 2, 2009

    Rawmekk said:

    Äh, Revolutions mein ich. Nicht Reloaded.

    January 3, 2010

    Tejas said:

    NEO is d best character in MATRIX

    Tejas said:

    bNeo is the best character in matrix

    September 17, 2010

    Wolfblood said:

    these movies are so gay i mean really the answer to the world is 44 really so gay

    September 19, 2010

    Darth Meow 504 said:

    I’m not sure how the “you don’t get it” argument isn’t entirely valid, when so many critics clearly misinterpret or fail to understand key plot points. Just for one example, those on this thread who claimed Neo was seeing Smith/Bane’s “heat patterns or chi or something”. Is an uninformed or misinformed opinion really valid? Like I often bring up in political arguments, one is entitled to one’s own opinion but NOT one’s own facts.

    And it isn’t like this is some massively vague collection of randomness that everyone interprets differently, there is a coherent narrative and set of plot points that those who do get it agree upon. They also are consistent with the information given in the Animatrix supplementary material, which a lot of critics don’t seem to have watched at all. If there is any major flaw in the Wachowski’s approach, it was that they did put a lot of vital information in that video that would have made the sequels make more sense to a lot of people. Not that it would have changed everything, the plot was still of a nature that required thought and insight to understand and a lot of the common audience just isn’t willing to put that kind of effort into a story. They may or may not be intellectually inferior, but they’re certainly intellectually lazy. But still, the Wachowskis probably should have done a better job of making sure all the needed information was actually in the main movies rather than rely on people to watch the supplementary material.

    September 25, 2010

    InCog Negro said:

    This is one of the best, most thorough movie reviews I’ve ever seen. No biased opinions, just observation. Critics could learn a lot from you man.. Great Review

    January 11, 2011

    Wael Khairy said:

    “The Matrix Revolutions” is possibly my favorite of the trilogy. It’s pure science fiction. Some of the darkest scifi imagery ever put on film is from this film. I would go as far and say it’s as dark as “Blade Runner” in terms of atmosphere.

    The Neo and Trinity dive through the clouds scene is one of the most beautiful moments captured on film. The end battle is epic to say the least and it’s so different from your average “end” battle that I was completely captivated and unaware of what would happen next.

    What a great review you’ve written here. Thanks a lot.

    Best regards,
    Wael Khairy

    January 30, 2012

    o said:

    What was up with neo able to abosrb that robot into his body? Were they blending metaphysics into the mix? Or was Neo’s body connected to another reality and the robot went into the “source”? I’m talking out part III where neo, and trinity are in that ship.

    July 10, 2012

    Crashbone said:

    Nothing more than plot hax. Neo is buffed up by the Machine Mind and Smith thinks he can corrupt the One (although there’s no One anymore since it was all podunk from the beginning), but in the end it’s Smith who’s assimilated and infested from within because of blah blah blah mad hacking skills from Neo+Machine. Who really needs to spend more time on such BS really? The hero won BECAUSE!
    The film was bad because the action was tiring and pointless (and feeling so weak, especially with all those blades used and such a lack of maimed people), and the acting quite mediocre, so much that you actually didn’t care about the main characters that much and, somehow, fell more concerned about the fates of sidekicks and other anons like the two chicks with the rocket launcher (a feeling I shared with the two other pals I watched the movie with at the theater). The acting was so shite that it rivaled that of the Star Wars prequels, notably the last ones. Funny thing that less expensive cyberpunk movies seem to deliver so much better.
    Plus the whole Neo that flies like supes, man, that was just so silly.
    I’d rather they had hacked into the machine to obtain a code that allowed for some futuristic vehicle, some motorbike that flies like in Cobra. Now that would have been cooler and less hax-spirited than Neo who flies. Of course, the damn first movie ended with Neo reaching for the stars. I guess that to people not used to cyberpunk, Matrix either was a complete WTF or something that blew them away and got them into cyberpunk, but I wasn’t moved by that stuff.
    Matrix, it’s the first movie, and it should have probably stopped there. Even Reloaded was already barely edible.

    October 28, 2012

    ronei felicio said:

    thais matrix revoludade 2016 até 2018

    Leave a comment


    ~All Related Entries Related This~

     

    <<--Back to top

    Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts