Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 52

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 389

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 556

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 678

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/theme.php on line 507

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php:52) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/Bad-Behavior/bad-behavior/screener.inc.php on line 8

Strict Standards: Non-static method mediacaster::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/mediacaster/mediacaster.php on line 1059

Strict Standards: Non-static method admin_menu::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 345

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-dofollow/sem-dofollow.php on line 67

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-terms2posts.php on line 166

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-extract-terms.php on line 210

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 343

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-comments/sem-recent-comments.php on line 997

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-posts/sem-recent-posts.php on line 1191

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-search-reloaded/sem-search-reloaded.php on line 218

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme.php on line 135

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-captions.php on line 189

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-comments.php on line 311

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-nav-menus.php on line 487

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 586

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-sidebar.php on line 76

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-skin.php on line 248

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-utils.php on line 493

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-archives.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-calendar.php on line 150

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-cats.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-links.php on line 191

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::widgetize() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu_callback() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 74

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::catch_playlist() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::execute() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::is_skip() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 84

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::guess_permalink() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 111

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::check_hostname() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 123
Cyberpunk Review » Matrix Revolutions
Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::display_scripts() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method sem_google_analytics::display_script() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::get_options() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 95

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method sem_google_analytics::track_links() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 178

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::css() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::js() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: Parameter 2 to sem_theme_posts::display_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 182

Comments

August 1, 2006

Case said:

The less I say about this the better. But your opinion is respected.

SFAM said:

Hi Case, believe it or not, it wouldn’t be the first time someone disagreed with me about this movie. In fact I’ve probabably racked up well over 1000 posts on the subject, so I’ve probably heard just about every criticism there is to the sequels. Many of them are very valid. Some, such as the idea that the movies should be fully understood in the first viewing, I don’t find as much value in, but certainly appreciate this perspective. For me though, the movie still gets better with each watching, similar to many of my favorite flicks. Suffice to say I know I’m in the minority on this one, and that’s OK with me. :)

August 2, 2006

Case said:

You’re kidding, right? People disagree on these films? Nooo… ;) I’ve never bought into the whole “you don’t get it” argument. There are plenty of movies I’ll freely admit I don’t “get,” but that certainly doesn’t diminish my enjoyment of them. Entertainment is entertainment, just as art is art. That’s never been my criticism of the sequels (of which I’ll only say I feel “Reloaded” is the stronger of the two). Oddly, I enjoyed this movie more than “Reloaded” on theatrical viewing, but my opinion changed drastically after viewing them on DVD. But I won’t get too deep into that…I’ll just say I thought “The Animatrix” (and, to a lesser extent, the games “Enter the Matrix” and “The Path of Neo”) are better “sequels” to the original “Matrix” than either of the two theatrical sequels.

*On a sidenote, have you ever thought about doing an article on the originally-proposed prequel/sequel the Wachowskis were going to do (bits of which ended up in parts of “The Second Renaissance - Parts 1 & 2″ of “Animatrix”)? If I had the time, I’d write a piece for you on the best fan-written sequel scripts I read in the past (one of which was simply amazing…I couldn’t believe it wasn’t professionally written).

August 3, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Case, that sounds like an excellent idea. Also, I know the Wachowskis had two versions of the sequels depending on whether Hugo Weaving decided to participate or not. Although, I never heard the alternative option. But yeah, I’d love it if you wrote a piece reviewing the fan-written sequel scripts. That sounds pretty interesting.

Case said:

Yeah, I read that they originally wanted to do a prequel first, showing how the machines took over and enslaved humanity. Then they wanted to do a sequel to the original. Apparently, WB balked at the idea (they just wanted the sequel). Some say the Wachowskis made the two sequels so (insert your own adjective here depending on your opinion of the sequels) as their own way of thumbing their nose at the studio system. Kind of what Tim Burton did with his second “Batman” film.

Either way, I’d love to find the script I read again, which I believe was uninspiringly titled “The Matrix 2.0,” and re-read it before I do a review. *spoiler warning* The interesting twist of the script (which was far more intriguing than anything in the actual sequels, IMHO) was that it turns out that the company Neo worked for at the beginning of the original film turned out to be the mainframe of the Matrix itself…therefore “Mr. Anderson” himself was helping program and maintain the Matrix! There was also an excellent scene in which Neo tries to teach Trinity how to fly. *end spoilers* Either way, great script…even Joel Silver read it and said it was “surprisingly good”…a germ of what might have been…

August 4, 2006

SFAM said:

Hmm, I hadn’t heard that about wanting to do a prequel as part of the trilogy. Everyone associated with the movies (Joel Silver, et al) seems to be clearly saying (at this point anyway) that the Wachoskis had a trilogy in mind from the beginning, of which the Matrix was the first part. Considering the brothers had complete ontrol over the sequels - like pretty much carte blanche - which is pretty rare in a studio system, I would be surprised if there was any kind of this nose thumbing vibe. This, incidentally, is why we don’t get an extended edition - the Wachowskis made the movies they wanted to make.

Whether or not we all like them is a different matter, but from what I’ve read (which is a decent amount, but certainly not everything), they clearly were able to make the movies and edit them the way they wanted, so the “blame,” if you don’t like them, falls not on the studio but with the Wachoskis.

But regardless, that script sounds pretty darn interesting. :)

August 5, 2006

Case said:

Funny, I read that when the studio approached them about a sequel, they were caught off-guard, because they had no idea where to take the story after the end of the original! I guess it all depends on which source you believe…or what mood they were in at the time of the interview. Either way, as far as blame goes, I just find it interesting that the Wachowskis themselves felt the need to brush quickly over the events in “Reloaded” and completely out-and-out CHANGE the events in “Revolutions” for the “Path of Neo” game. It’s as if even they knew how awful they were (Sorry! Don’t dignify that with a response…I apologize.).

August 19, 2006

spikethebloody said:

Another great review. I’d say the problems are completely with writing and acting in Revolutions. Although I don’t know what exactly people expect out of dialogue in a situation where characters are about to die. It is almost like we’ve been cursed by the Bruce Willis “laugh in the face of certain death” machismo. You don’t go all Dawson’s Creek when you are about to face 250K sentinels. Or at least I wouldn’t.

Nevertheless it is supposed to be entertaining and people don’t want to see action movies for the realism. So it is a valid complaint and a few of the secondary figures aren’t worthy of a casual fan’s concern. At that point I think the brothers rightly figured you already had your mind made up on the merits of the story and you were either hooked or not. If you weren’t hooked by the story, visuals, and ideas then you weren’t the target anyway. If you liked all of the above then you were going to love Revolutions.

August 21, 2006

Pavel said:

фильма хорошый тока мути многа которая там совсем ненужна была…

SFAM said:

anyone wanna translate for me?

EDIT: Damn, even a Russian dude who likes Ultraviolet is apparently dissing thisl :(

Alias said:

No idea, but the movie is different from the first two. And for that reason alone, I liked the movie.

November 18, 2006

Flatline said:

I would have to agree with this review on many points but i think its important to note one thing that was important to me, and i feel fits into the cyberpunk attitude at a certain level. If this movie had been an absolute box office smash it would have almost certainly been discredited as a decent film in my mind much to the degree that most Dick adaptions, although extensions of his work, fail to meet the criteria required to make them cult pieces or cyberpunk cannon.

this is not to say that one should base their opinions on popularity or lack thereof, but unless you’re dealing with japanese animation, cyberpunk does not sell.

SFAM said:

Hi Flatline, while I certainly agree with the sentiment that cyberpunk movies are usually not going to attract the mainstream audience, I think we can point to a number of cyberpunk flicks that did quite well at the box office - Matrix being a clear example. But also we can look at Terminator, Robocop, Total Recall and a few others for examples of cyberpunk movies that did OK at the box office. Regarding Revolutions, had this been a blockbuster or not, I don’t think this would have changed the sentiment all that much. Revolutions was clearly not made for the mainstream audience - most who watch it have a number of legitimate reasons why they don’t like it.

Just for clarity’s sake, Revolutions was not a money loser. This think took in a fortune if you add up international and domestic sales, coupled with DVD sales. The franchise as a whole is well over a billion dollars.

February 11, 2007

Mad Martha said:

The Wachowski brothers from the start of Matrix said they were heavily influenced by Manga/Anime.

I think this is most apparent in Revolutions , the direction the story takes and the ultimate “resolution” of the story is typically “Manga”.

I believe the “difficulty” with (western) people understanding the story stems from the different style of telling (and resolving) stories that come from a different culture (in this case an Eastern culture).

In many “western” films/stories (regardless of genre) it involves a basic “good vs bad” concept with (usually) the “good” winning.

In “eastern” stories we often see both sides of a conflict blurred as they go into greater depth defining the motivations and justifications of each stand point.

This in turn often leads to a resolution that involves BOTH sides to change and re-evaluate their own standpoints and ultimately BOTH have to change to affect a final solution.

This different approach to stories , in the past , has been “alien” to a lot of Western viewers , and did not sit well with a lot of people , who simply have not been exposed to such stories. (it broke their basic preconceptions of “how a story should be told” ).

Nowadays , with anime becomming more and more popular/widespread , I foresee more films taking this line of story telling - mostly because to “us westerners” it’s different and refreshing compared to what has gone before.

Just my two cents I thought I’d throw in..

[MM]

February 12, 2007

Dyce said:

When Neo knocks out the Sentinals at the end of reloaded and falls into a coma, does anybody have any ideas what the Oracle meant when she says that Neo “touched the source” when he did this, and that he should be dead? from a spiritual or scientific point of view this confuzzles me

Dyce said:

Case, with regards to the path of neo game; I kinda liked how they changed the neo smith fight so that it’s neo slamming smith into the crater and not the other way around as in the movie, i mean how DOES neo survive the impact? In reloaded he cuts his hand and the Merovingian says “see, he is only a man” yet here he survives being pile-driven into the ground so hard it creates a CRATOR, and just looks a little dizzy afterwards!

-And the hilarity of the Wachowski’s appearing and saying the ending of the movie was “Martyr time” and that it would suck in a game, and THEN, over the celebration scenes from the movie, they play WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS by QUEEN!!!!
GENIUS!!!

SFAM said:

Hi Mad Martha, the anime slant is an interesting take.

Dyce, my explanation for Neo touching the source is in the essay listed above.

February 13, 2007

Dyce said:

oh. Doh!

February 16, 2007

Neotrin said:

Matrix Revolutions was not bad; but check out the rewrite of Matrix 3 at matrixrememory.com. The Architect, the Merovingian and Persephone all figure in more heavily. Nice, chewy alternate version!

March 21, 2007

ecarg xxxx said:

yeah, i totaly agree with you 100% when you said some people just dont get it. all the guys i know who saw it where like “DUDE!!! the fights in the matrix revolution where beastly!!!” i answer “did you get the movie?” they answer “well, the people used alot of big words in it, but DUDE!!! the action in it, i tottaly got that!!! other than that, it was ok i guess.” i saw it when i was 12, and that was when i was like “yeah, whatever, just another guy movie” but after i saw it afew times, i tottaly got it. it tottaly moved me greatly, and i was kinda in shock after i saw it. it seemed so real. i like all the matrix films the same. coz they all ROCK!!!!! yeah!!! visit me at www.ecargz-picz-syt.piczo.com for more information. ps- methinks they should make another matrix movie about life in zion and the machine world after neo. thats my idea!!!! bye gang!!!!

March 22, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi ecarq, if they ever made another movie on this world, I’d like it to take place solely in the machine city. That would be interesting!

March 30, 2007

David said:

When I started watching this on sky box office, I was wanting the entire thing to end as quickly as possible, sorta like 1999 ;)

But in comparison to what you think you’re gonna get, the outcome is alot differe nt to what to expected. I agree with SFAM that the preformances were a lil’ dodgy in places where it should have been done better…

I’m not really a Matwix person myself, but if you’ve seen the first and the second, you gotta see the final episode I guess.

I remember walking into Virgin Megastores when Reloaded was avaitable for purchase- they had variant covers with neo, trinity and morpheus on to increase DVD sales… Corporate assholes!

Wonder how much dough Keanu made from both this a Reloaded… Jack Nicolson made $100,000,000 in total from Batman, including promo and merchandise.

April 5, 2007

Dyce said:

Why is Smith represented by flame? I know the idea of the Machine’s represented by light is supposed to show that they possess the “Pure spirit of humaity’ as suggested in Second Renaisance (and in the commentaries), but what does the flame of Smith represent, apart from it looks cool?
Or the symble (sp?) that we see when the camera pulls out of the matrix code during the title sequence? According to the making of docs, Mega City is built around the symble. Weird. It must have some meaning…

david said:

Smith doesn’t represent flame, wind, water, earth, etc or anthing like that-

Neo’s eyes are fcuked, but suprise suprise… he- ‘doesn’t need eyes to see’- or something :/

Neo is sensing Smith’s body heat (or Kane’s if you will), or it could be his chi…

david said:

he senses smith’s body heat or chi in the same way a snake does a small mammals.

April 6, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Dyce, taking your analogy that the machines represent the pure spirit of humanity, from that perspective, Mr. Smith represented by Flame would represent humanity’s damnation and descent into the pits of hell.

david said:

Wha wha wha??? represents humaiy’s damnation??!!

- I don’t think so dude!! Neo is just able to sense the body heat or chi, it is nothing that sophisticated!!

SFAM said:

Hi David, the perspective Dyce is going with isn’t a Sci-fi one. If he’s defining one as the pure spirit of humanity, then the “meaning” of Mr. Smith’s flames will be associated with similar terms. This is why I said “from that perspective.”

April 7, 2007

Dyce said:

he isn’t sensing kane’s body heat, because the flaming figure he sees is clearly wearing Smith’s shades, and even his tie! go on, explain that “David”, if that IS your real name

david said:

I can’t remember all of the bloody movie, but yeah it’s smith’s chi, when he reaches the machiene’s liar or whatever the hell it’s called, all the machienes are seen in green, and that is probably the electronic matrix signal.

I hate the Matrix…

April 14, 2008

KJL said:

Clayton Watson ruined the movie…..worst actor ever

April 23, 2008

flash freddy said:

I thought the series got worse as it moved forward. It’s like it was trapped and could never reach escape velocity. The thing just got more intense, muddled and ultimately futile as it went on.

The last one was the worst. About 1/3 the way through I found myself becoming very tired and jaded of the constantly overblown battling. I wanted to like it but I didn’t enough watching it. I think the brothers lost the plot. Let the bullshit CGI do the talking as they had SFA left to say themselves.

Personally I’m not enamoured with the bullshit philosophy. it really is comicbook PKD style philosophy but with no real depth and no real link to the world as is. PKD described a world he lived in, drugs, isolation, kipplization and insanity. PKD saw the future as the boring office block life it has become. The brothers describe a world they’ve read/phantasized about…. guys with big guns and girl with big tits mix in a bit of PKD into the zeitgeist washing machine and see what comes out.

I think they might’ve been more honest when they described it as a movie about Kung-Fu Vs Robots. The rest is french fried cheese.

Don’t mean to sound hostile… but I am ;)

May 12, 2008

Md. Ziaur Rahman said:

Now I am see the Movie

October 30, 2008

yoyo said:

I Lo0ove The Matrix Veeeeeeeery much

November 12, 2008

Dave 101 said:

This is simply the best sci-fi movie I have ever seen……

Dave 101 said:

(even better than Star Wars)

November 27, 2008

♣dariusdarazul♣ said:

a hola yo soy mexicano jejej bueno tienes unas super imagenes de mtrix jejej bueno hojala q puedeas pasa a mi metro www.metroflog.com/dariusdarazul te espero ai eee

December 1, 2009

Rawmekk said:

Ich stimme dir vollkommen zu, SFAM. Das war eins der großartigsten und spannendsten (soweit ein Review spannend zu sein vermag) Reviews seit langem. Und es hatte sehr interessante Denkanstösse, an die ich selbst noch garnicht gedacht hatte! Beim lesen sind mir Dinge aufgefallen, die ich unbedingt prüfen musste. Ich hab mir dann Reloaded noch einmal angeschaut und war erstaunt, wieviele tausend Interpretationen auch noch auf die Trilogie zutreffen könnten, breit gefächert. Es kommt nur darauf an, wie man die “Matrix” verstehen möchte. Eigentlich ist sie (genau wie die Filme), was man sich wünscht. Sie kann alles sein.

December 2, 2009

Rawmekk said:

Äh, Revolutions mein ich. Nicht Reloaded.

January 3, 2010

Tejas said:

NEO is d best character in MATRIX

Tejas said:

bNeo is the best character in matrix

September 17, 2010

Wolfblood said:

these movies are so gay i mean really the answer to the world is 44 really so gay

September 19, 2010

Darth Meow 504 said:

I’m not sure how the “you don’t get it” argument isn’t entirely valid, when so many critics clearly misinterpret or fail to understand key plot points. Just for one example, those on this thread who claimed Neo was seeing Smith/Bane’s “heat patterns or chi or something”. Is an uninformed or misinformed opinion really valid? Like I often bring up in political arguments, one is entitled to one’s own opinion but NOT one’s own facts.

And it isn’t like this is some massively vague collection of randomness that everyone interprets differently, there is a coherent narrative and set of plot points that those who do get it agree upon. They also are consistent with the information given in the Animatrix supplementary material, which a lot of critics don’t seem to have watched at all. If there is any major flaw in the Wachowski’s approach, it was that they did put a lot of vital information in that video that would have made the sequels make more sense to a lot of people. Not that it would have changed everything, the plot was still of a nature that required thought and insight to understand and a lot of the common audience just isn’t willing to put that kind of effort into a story. They may or may not be intellectually inferior, but they’re certainly intellectually lazy. But still, the Wachowskis probably should have done a better job of making sure all the needed information was actually in the main movies rather than rely on people to watch the supplementary material.

September 25, 2010

InCog Negro said:

This is one of the best, most thorough movie reviews I’ve ever seen. No biased opinions, just observation. Critics could learn a lot from you man.. Great Review

January 11, 2011

Wael Khairy said:

“The Matrix Revolutions” is possibly my favorite of the trilogy. It’s pure science fiction. Some of the darkest scifi imagery ever put on film is from this film. I would go as far and say it’s as dark as “Blade Runner” in terms of atmosphere.

The Neo and Trinity dive through the clouds scene is one of the most beautiful moments captured on film. The end battle is epic to say the least and it’s so different from your average “end” battle that I was completely captivated and unaware of what would happen next.

What a great review you’ve written here. Thanks a lot.

Best regards,
Wael Khairy

January 30, 2012

o said:

What was up with neo able to abosrb that robot into his body? Were they blending metaphysics into the mix? Or was Neo’s body connected to another reality and the robot went into the “source”? I’m talking out part III where neo, and trinity are in that ship.

July 10, 2012

Crashbone said:

Nothing more than plot hax. Neo is buffed up by the Machine Mind and Smith thinks he can corrupt the One (although there’s no One anymore since it was all podunk from the beginning), but in the end it’s Smith who’s assimilated and infested from within because of blah blah blah mad hacking skills from Neo+Machine. Who really needs to spend more time on such BS really? The hero won BECAUSE!
The film was bad because the action was tiring and pointless (and feeling so weak, especially with all those blades used and such a lack of maimed people), and the acting quite mediocre, so much that you actually didn’t care about the main characters that much and, somehow, fell more concerned about the fates of sidekicks and other anons like the two chicks with the rocket launcher (a feeling I shared with the two other pals I watched the movie with at the theater). The acting was so shite that it rivaled that of the Star Wars prequels, notably the last ones. Funny thing that less expensive cyberpunk movies seem to deliver so much better.
Plus the whole Neo that flies like supes, man, that was just so silly.
I’d rather they had hacked into the machine to obtain a code that allowed for some futuristic vehicle, some motorbike that flies like in Cobra. Now that would have been cooler and less hax-spirited than Neo who flies. Of course, the damn first movie ended with Neo reaching for the stars. I guess that to people not used to cyberpunk, Matrix either was a complete WTF or something that blew them away and got them into cyberpunk, but I wasn’t moved by that stuff.
Matrix, it’s the first movie, and it should have probably stopped there. Even Reloaded was already barely edible.

October 28, 2012

ronei felicio said:

thais matrix revoludade 2016 até 2018

Leave a comment


~All Related Entries Related This~

 

<<--Back to top

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts