Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 52

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 389

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 556

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 678

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/theme.php on line 507

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php:52) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/Bad-Behavior/bad-behavior/screener.inc.php on line 8

Strict Standards: Non-static method mediacaster::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/mediacaster/mediacaster.php on line 1059

Strict Standards: Non-static method admin_menu::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 345

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-dofollow/sem-dofollow.php on line 67

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-terms2posts.php on line 166

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-extract-terms.php on line 210

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 343

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-comments/sem-recent-comments.php on line 997

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-posts/sem-recent-posts.php on line 1191

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-search-reloaded/sem-search-reloaded.php on line 218

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme.php on line 135

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-captions.php on line 189

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-comments.php on line 311

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-nav-menus.php on line 487

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 586

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-sidebar.php on line 76

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-skin.php on line 248

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-utils.php on line 493

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-archives.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-calendar.php on line 150

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-cats.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-links.php on line 191

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::widgetize() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu_callback() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 74

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::catch_playlist() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::execute() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::is_skip() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 84

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::guess_permalink() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 111

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::check_hostname() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 123
Cyberpunk Review » Nirvana
Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::display_scripts() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method sem_google_analytics::display_script() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::get_options() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 95

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method sem_google_analytics::track_links() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 178

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::css() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::js() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: Parameter 2 to sem_theme_posts::display_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 182

Comments

January 17, 2006

ETM said:

I saw Nirvana some time ago, in Italian, so it was something else that distracted me - the guy who plays the virtual character is a very well known media person in Italy and I saw him all the time in various movies, TV shows and series, so, to me, he was a rather odd casting choice and a huge turnoff. I didn’t hate it, though, but I don’t remember much, so a second viewing is in order. I’ll see what I can do about that non-dubbed copy, too. No promises, though.

SFAM said:

Budo, I’d LOVE it if you could find a copy of this for me. I’ll gladly pay whatever costs you need for purchase and shipping. And incidentally, strangely enough, the VR guy was about the only character that seemed to work OK (mostly) in the dubbing for me, but then again I don’t think I’ve ever seen him before.

March 8, 2006

Emanuele Ravasi said:

Hello! I’m Italian and I think I can find a copy of Nirvana for you. I think the dvd contains english subtitles, but I’m not sure. The VR character is Diego Abatantuono, famous in Italy for his comedy movies. Some years ago, Abatantuono started to work in almost EVERY movie directed by Salvatores. The couple Salvatores + Abatantuono deserved an Oscar for the movie Mediterraneo. Bye bye!

SFAM said:

Hi Emanuele, welcome to cyberpunkreview! I would LOVE it if you could send me a Nirvana DVD in Italian with English subtitles. Email me at sfam@cyberpunkreview.com for a paypal total and I’ll gladly send you the cost of the DVD and shipping. Although, I really would need you to check for subtitles, as I don’t speak Italian.

March 18, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Nytflyer - yeah, I got that version. There’s always BUNCHES of copies of it on ebay, and in the stores for that matter. This is the one I have a problem with. The English dubbing truly sucks.

March 19, 2006

SFAM said:

Case located a copy at XploitedCinema.com for me! So the search for a version of this is off. It will set me back 30 bucks, but hopefully its worth it! :D

April 7, 2006

Hadakàar said:

’cause i’m italian, i’ve seen that in my language. Unfortunately the movie is better to view in italian, because contains a lot of dialect terms and Sergio Rubini (the hacker) speaks with a tipical south-italy accent and it’s very funny. Salvatores was able to mix the italian comedy with cyberpunk sci-fi. I love it! :D

ps. Jimi, Diego Abatantuono is a very famous comic actor in italy. It played some Salvatores’ movies (Mediterraneo, Marrakech Express).

pps. CyberpunkReview is a veryveryvery good blog and forum. I’ll link you :D

SFAM said:

Hi Hadakàar, welcome to cyberpunkreview :)

Yeah, I’ve decided to pay $30 (an insane amount of money for a DVD) to hear Nirvana in Italian. The dubbing is horrid. So even if I don’t understand Italian, this is OK, as at least the voice inflections will match the facial expressions now. I will probably re-review it, or at least change the star rating once I see it in Italian.

And WOW! Your site is rockin! You definitely have great participation there. I had no idea that you folks liked cyberpunk so much! I also voted on your book poll (Snow Crash)

ETM said:

Italians are extremely passionate about lots of things… did you know that they, for example, have one of the best organized Tolkien communities in the world, SFAM? And yeah, that’s a pretty cool website, Hadakàar! I bet you wish you spoke Italian like me, SFAM!

BTW, I wanted to post that Nirvana is on TV over here soon, and I don’t have that channel… Damn.

April 9, 2006

Hadakàar said:

ETM i didn’t see your comment here!
The “Società Tolkieniana Italiana” is very big and organized. an excellent fan’s society :)

i don’t think my site is so cool, but thanks ETM and SFAM!! I’m trying to create the first italian cp community.

April 14, 2006

Hadakàar said:

ETM, are you italian? :D

SFAM said:

ETM (first name is Budo) is from Montenegro. He speaks lots of languages though.

BTW, I just got Nirvana in Italian. I’ve watched a little bit, and can already say it’s LOTS better without the dubbing. I’ll probably be changing my review a bit in the next day or so.

[…] Since then, based on a personal pleading at the bottom of my review, a number of you offered advice on how I could obtain a copy of the Italian version. Case provided me a link on XploitedCinema.com where I could buy the copy - something I eventually did, even though it set me back $30 bucks. Now my updated review of Nirvana reflects this copy. […]

ETM said:

Ha! Just look at the cover… the very presence of boobies on it disqualifies it from the US market. I love Europe sometimes…

April 17, 2006

Hadakàar said:

ETM, do you think Montenegro will be Indipendent on May 21st?

About Nirvana’s cover….what boobs?? Ah…that little ones :lol: Never noticed, until now :D
Good cover, anyway, lots better than the american one. “Tron meets Blade Runner meets Matrix” haven’t any sense.

SFAM said:

I don’t really care whether the cover is introduced in the US - I just want the Italian sound track. :)

November 28, 2006

Yukon said:

Hi I´m saw the Nirvana and a big fan is a really top film.
He has everything what i need in my life.I´need only the dvd from nirvana with german languge can everybody help? yeah

January 16, 2007

NekOtaku said:

Errr..
I feel like such a spaz now, I watched the American release, and I didn’t realize it had been dubbed from Italian.. The English soundtrack didn’t do anything to ditract me from the movie, but I think this might be because I watched it on a television set with broken speakers, so I watched it in low expectations audio-wise anyways..
Nirvana definitly hit a soft spot in my heart, it’s so obviously low budget, but extremely well executed!

February 20, 2007

Illusive Mind said:

A bad tagline is a dangerous thing. I hated the first X-Men movie because the trailer told me if I “liked” The Matrix, I’d “love” X-Men.

Loved the cartoon series though, especially ‘Bishop’ probably CP elements in the episodes that take place in the ‘future’.

May 4, 2007

almy said:

ova je stranica najbolja

May 23, 2007

neofilip said:

ovo je jedan od najboljih filmova koji sam gledao
nigde ne mogu da nadjem linkove za download
ako ih neko ima neka ih zakaci

This is one of the best move i ever seen
a can’t found rapidshare links for it
if any one have them please put them on

June 29, 2007

Piotr said:

In Poland this movie was added to a computer magazine.
Many movies on DVD are added to newspapers or magazines in Poland.

In Poland you can still buy a movie DVDs in such a version (without a magazine) for about 2-3 USD.

You can still get “Nirvana” in Poland (its the same I’ve got) :
https://ssl.allegro.pl/item208550648_nirvana_christopher_lambert.html
4,90 Polish Zlotys is about 2 US Dolars or less than 2 Euro

Its in english version with polish subtitles.

July 6, 2007

jackketch said:

I’ve just bought and ripped a copy of the polish dvd (don’t worry it’s in english!). With any luck I’ll be putting it up on mininova.org over this weekend. I may also have it as a direct download on my website.

July 7, 2007

jackketch said:

http://2khh4.com/n1rv4n4/

-direct download linky

July 9, 2007

CLY said:

It’s really good movie and thanks for share. I can’t found it for a long time in Turkey.

jackketch said:

Please note, interest in my download link has been extreme (130GB downloaded yesterday alone) and there’s the rub. My web hosting service suspends me if I transfer more than 120 GB on any single day. Suspension is for upto 24 hours.

So if you find the site has been suspended then try again the next day or use the bt link.

October 31, 2007

jackketch said:

Why ‘reeking torrent’? I’ve not had any complaints about it so far and a lot of praise. Oh and btw I took the direct download link down as there was just too much demand and it was crashing the site.

November 25, 2007

iamlove67 said:

I wasn’t that bothered by the dubbing…until I heard Solo’s voice…

June 8, 2008

stanley said:

I originally saw this a few years ago after midnight on tv, but it was in the horrible dub. I still enjoyed it then but gettng the italian version it deifnitely feels like your watching a more serious cyberpunk film. Stylistically it’s very interesting and pretty impressive for a low budget italian film.

June 9, 2008

jackketch said:

(apologies to Root if this is a double post, first one doesn’t seemed to have gone through)

I have put up a better quality divdrip on rapidshare http://rapidshare.com/users/Y29AOV (thanks to Gr0z in Belgium for ripping it) . Join with HJsplit (free, google). Its another rip of the english version that came with the a polish pc mag.

June 23, 2008

fiola said:

A million thanx jackketch!!!!! :D

July 4, 2008

Arkhaz said:

Thx for the uploads!
However it would be even better (if possible, to the lucky owner) to create a torrent with the Italian version along with subs (in english and spanish if there are any).
That would be highly appreciated too, because it is almost impossible to find it elsewhere.
Thx again to those who have contributed by uploading/posting/commenting!

August 4, 2008

redcat said:

omg, this is probably the only place on the web to find this movie. thanks a lot! to me it’s a sci-fi classic, looking very good concerning that it’s made in 1997.

October 19, 2008

Nirvana 1997[dvdrip]x264[aac]eng[mp4] (1s 0l) said (pingback):

[…] Review: Nirvana review @ Cyberpunkreview […]

January 4, 2009

Zilla said:

here it is: (Nirvana 1997[dvdrip]x264[aac]eng[mp4])

I WANT DVD9 :)

April 5, 2009

PinkyHellbitch said:

=O wow this look hot i’ll download it right now !

April 29, 2009

p2501 said:

Nirvana has very good cyberpunk atmosphere. Also the choice of music corresponds to ‘90 idea about cyberpunk and because it is European project it has it’s own peculiarities which makes it different (then for example Ghost In The Shell (1995)) and interesting.

March 30, 2010

Vente maison 22 said (trackback):

Vente maison 22…

Nous recommandons à nos internautes votre article : Cyberpunk Review ” Nirvana. A disposition sur notre compte Facebook et Twitter….

April 22, 2010

Sniper said:

What can I say, one of my favourite. Must have!!!

May 24, 2010

TailEx said:

Well, I think this is one of the best cyberpunk movie, I put in in one line with Blade Runner and first Matrix. I have 3 version of it: russian, english and italian and I don’t bored from it yet. :) The itailan is the best of course.

Must have, must see and see and see forever! :)

May 25, 2011

jimi said:

hi. I’m alive and Solo is here with me. I’ve didn’t delete him… see you in the next game…..
http://www.fliis.com/?v=ITV_g76U67Q&q=nirvana%20theme

July 2, 2011

spiralofhope said:

I watched it in Italian and it was pretty good, although the subtitles I had weren’t perfect.

I’m re-watching it in English and I must say that it’s just fine for my tastes. The lead actor is dubbing over for his character, which is really nice since I know his voice well (from Highlander).

July 12, 2011

Vampyre Mike said:

Excellent Cyberpunk film, have a copy of the Italian edition I will watch soon enough. I even loved the U.S. release ;)

January 13, 2012

vincenzoml said:

I feel the need to comment :) This is directed by Gabriele Salvatores, who typically does not do science fiction. All the other actors don’t either. Sergio Rubini is an amazing actor on its own, and so is the director. The result when watched in Italian is a very high quality, philosophical Italian movie, with the regional accents, the missing love, the short poetry and all the rest, which oddly is … a great cyberpunk movie! And while I think Lambert is perfect for the role, it’s by far the worst actor in the movie… and when watching this one should appreciate the contrast between the “perfect” Lambert who is really the only good guy here, and the outlaw-ish life of the hackers involved. And I’ll stop here, I think this renders the idea.

Amazing web site, thanks for your work!

July 21, 2012

vampyre mike said:

Ok, so how does this synopsis I found online make ANY sense at all. Doesn’t to me, and I’ve seen the film about five times now in both Italian and English…

Jimmie begins his quest into the Suburbs in search of Lisa together with Joystick who’s sold his corneas and now sees in black and white through two electronic prostheses, and Naima a young woman hardware expert who’s lost her memory and can only insert artificial memories in her head and memories of her virtual secret partner, Solo, her true alter-ego..

October 1, 2012

capnsid said:

Just saw this last week- verrry Neuromancer-like. I love the Case/Molly/Maelcum-style relationship between the three leads. The AI is much like the McCoy Paulie, The Dixie Flatline.

I think Gibson should see this film if he hasn’t already. His fave Gibsonian film was Albert Pyun’s Nemesis, which borrowed from Johnny Mnemonic, and other sources. This one has all the marks of a William Gibson c-punk novel: street-level hustlers/hackers, programmers, tough cyber chicks, foreign travel as de riguer, and, of course, a run through cyberspace.

Also, Naima’s sliver of microsoft inserted into her parietal lobe is much like Neurmancer’s Panther Modern Paul inserting a black plastic shard into a socket behind his ear.

Joystick’s implants also bring to mind Batuo, from Ghost In The Shell. I’ll buy the Italian cut off of Amazon. Philip K. Dick would be dazzled, or scared, of the present view of the future.

P.S. Love the end theme, too!!!

July 17, 2013

Solo said:

Moooovie Goooooood!

December 19, 2013

DasNetzInDir said:

Love this movie! German Synchronisation is quite good, like really often!
This movie was leading position of my list called “Puzzle die Matrix” =”Puzzle the matrix” for a long period.
Now it ranks 5th positon. You can check it out here http://www.moviepilot.de/liste/gehirnwindungsaktivierer-top-100-jimiantiloop

Unfortunally I didn’t find time to make an english version…

Nevertheless… Thanks for this great Page!
Rock on Cyberpunkreview!

Leave a comment


~All Related Entries Related This~

 

<<--Back to top

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts