Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 52

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 389

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 556

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 678

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/theme.php on line 507

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php:52) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/Bad-Behavior/bad-behavior/screener.inc.php on line 8

Strict Standards: Non-static method mediacaster::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/mediacaster/mediacaster.php on line 1059

Strict Standards: Non-static method admin_menu::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 345

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-dofollow/sem-dofollow.php on line 67

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-terms2posts.php on line 166

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-extract-terms.php on line 210

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 343

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-comments/sem-recent-comments.php on line 997

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-posts/sem-recent-posts.php on line 1191

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-search-reloaded/sem-search-reloaded.php on line 218

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme.php on line 135

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-captions.php on line 189

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-comments.php on line 311

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-nav-menus.php on line 487

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 586

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-sidebar.php on line 76

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-skin.php on line 248

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-utils.php on line 493

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-archives.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-calendar.php on line 150

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-cats.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-links.php on line 191

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::widgetize() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu_callback() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 74

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::catch_playlist() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::execute() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::is_skip() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 84

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::guess_permalink() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 111

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::check_hostname() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 123
Cyberpunk Review » Hardware
Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::display_scripts() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method sem_google_analytics::display_script() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::get_options() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 95

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method sem_google_analytics::track_links() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 178

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::css() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::js() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: Parameter 2 to sem_theme_posts::display_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 182

Comments

January 31, 2006

SFAM said:

BTW, there’s this terrific site about Hardware that has a ton of interesting things about it, including its most awesome and interesting sound track. Check it out:

 

http://www.everythingisundercontrol.org/soundtrack.html

March 4, 2006

sysscan said:

Check out Death Machine by the same director.

SFAM said:

Hi Sysscan, welcome to cyberpunkreview!

Regarding the Death Machine suggestion, Do you mean Dust Devil by Richard Stanley (Same director) or do you mean Death Machine(1995) by Stephen Norrington?

March 7, 2006

sysscan said:

My mistake. It is Death Machine by Stephen Norrington. He was on the special effects crew for Hardware. Death Machine is pretty good though. It is one of my favorite cyberpunk movies. I didn’t see a review for it on this site. You should do one.

SFAM said:

Hi sysscan, I have about 60-70 movies still to review (there’s a list of them in the Meatspace), including a number of big name ones (Robocop, Matrix sequels, etc.). I haven’t seen Death Machine but I’ve heard of it. Was not really sure it was cyberpunk or not. I’ll give it a go. Thanks for the recommendation! :)

June 18, 2006

Anonymous said:

This movie was the one that started me in the cyberpunk genre, so to say, after Hardware I begun reading PKD, Gibson, finding other movies to watch, it’s one of my all time favorites!
I had a VHS as well, then got a laserdisc, but it’s still pan&scanned. Did it come out on DVD in any country yet? I surely can’t find any info that it did. Too bad!

Lenny Nero said:

Whoops, forgot to fill out the name for the above post.
Anyways, the soundtrack is awesome indeed, plus I used a bunch of lines from the movie recorded off an LD in my own compilations of “cyberpunk” music.
“It’s stupid, sadistic, and suicidal to have children these days.”
or
“It’s gona get worse before it gets better, survival of the fittest.”
“You’d like that wouldn’t you?”
and the radio news
“The two creators of the population control bill were found dead today in what seemed to be a …” Well it’s long but darkly funny!

SFAM said:

Hi Lenny Nero - I agree - the soundtrack is a riot (the download link for the sound track is in the comments above). As for widescreen, I have yet to find this anywhere. The movie has been released in DVD in Europe - but this is pan and scan as well.

July 26, 2006

Isamu242 said:

Wow, how anyone be talking about the terd that is Death Machine on the Hardware forum is way beyond me.

August 8, 2006

Adam Doub said:

So many great cameos in this film… namely Iggy Pop (Angry Bob, the radio broadcaster) and Lemmy Kilmiester of Motorhead fame (The tough Taxi Driver). Also the actor who played Alvy was fairly common Streamline anime voice actor. And hey, any soundtrack with early Ministry on it is a winner to me ;)

SFAM said:

Iggy Pop as Angry Bob with the “Industrial Dick” is totally awesome. ANd yeah, the soundtrack (available online) is terrific.

February 15, 2007

syberberg said:

Hardware was released in Mainland Europe as M.A.R.K.13 and slightly edited. It has been released on a limited edition DVD, only 666 copies were made.

I got this on VHS as soon as it was released due to the cameo of (Fields of the Nephilim frontman) Carl MaCoy (The Nomad/Zone Tripper). I was totally blown away and have watched it so many times I end up reciting the entire dialogue. There are many themes explored in the movie, but incase anyone hasn’t seen it yet, I’ll leave you to find them all.

Unfortunately there was a large scene cut from the movie that reveals more about Mo Baxter, how he lost his arm and the relationship between Mo and Jill. It fits between the sex sceen and them going to sleep. This sceen IS NOT in the uncut version. The uncut version is the same as the UK release.

For more Hardware discussion, particularly the framing, goto

http://www.everythingisundercontrol.org/bb/index.php

And for those yet to witness:

http://1000futuristicfilms.net/hardware_info.htm

Enjoy.

February 16, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Syberberg, thanks for the great info! You might notice that I’ve linked the everythingisundercontrol.org site up above, regarding the most awesome soundtrack. And I certainly didn’t know that there was a “more” uncut uncut version. Too bad this movie isn’t brought back to DVD. Truly I just don’t understand why. I would guess that many low-end distributors would be fighting over the rights to do this. Any ideas about this?

February 18, 2007

jhanus said:

Hi!
Now is 23:52, February 18, 2007, and after 15 years I finally found M.A.R.K.13, thanks to cyberpunkreview.com, I watched this movie when I was 6y old, and only thing I did remember was robot “redish eyes” and somewhat dark scene.
But when I saw the painted skull, I knew that this is it!!!

Thank you, and all the best to cyberpunkreview.com!!!

July 21, 2007

Mihaly said:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hardware-DVD-Richard-Stanley-Horror-Dylan-McDermott_W0QQitemZ320138694077QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item320138694077

The DVD is on Ebay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its like 25 bucks with shipping. It is PAL 2 but that is easily dealt with, with a little program called DVDshrink!

July 24, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Mihaly, it’s been out in Region 2 for a while. Let me know how you like it.

July 30, 2007

Enys said:

Filmed for ONLY one million dollars? Thats a huge budget ahah !!!

Burnt_Lombard said:

$$$$ doesn’t mean anything. Especially if there’s good writing. But a bad movie will turn out crappy with 1 million dollars or 100 million dollars. Michael Bay proves this over, and over, over…

August 10, 2007

SZALENIEC Z HO said:

Yes, yes - It’s very good film.

August 30, 2007

Maverick said:

That reminds me, I haven’t seen this in ages and ages. Good movie. Dust devil was also a good one. If I remember rightly they both had an unusual atmosphere to them.

September 2, 2007

T. F. H. » Burn:Cycle OST said (pingback):

[…] listening to the music of Simon Boswell, who not only does the soundtrack for Burn:Cycle but also Hardware and Hackers. […]

SciFi man said:

I recently saw this movie and really liked the first 25 minutes. A very nice start with plenty of atmosphere, cool looks and dystopian feel to it. The rest of the movie was disappointing. Largely confined to the apartment and battling the hard-to-kill Terminator like cyborg.

November 14, 2007

noskich said:

Not bad, but nothing special, I would give it a 5 out of 10. story is very simple, and the “hip” environment has been presented to the viewer only superficially without going into details. This leads to a feeling of like you re just watching a movie rather than getting an idea of an another fictional reality.

January 4, 2008

frankie smales said:

m.a.r.k 13- hardware 1990

is the most brilliant scfi shocker i have ever seen since bladerunner and alien
and it is excellently visualized with great sets and stae of the art special effects
and great performances from dylan mcdermott and the slitheringley sexy stacy travis
as the kimono laddened heroin and a bright red feeling to the movie and looks good
in electronic 3d and an kick ass soundtrack to boot and i give it a 20/10

frankie smales

(frankie smales movie & tv review uk)

January 15, 2008

Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles Pilot Episodes said (pingback):

[…] long, lost, forgotten low-budget cyberpunk flick from Richard Stanley has been ripped off here. In Hardware, set in a dystopic future, a guy finds a cool looking robot head which he brings back home to give […]

February 7, 2008

higgins said:

Hi!

Talking about low-budget aswomes… You don’t have a «Fortress» (1993) review here.

«Fortress 2» (1999) is crap, but if you liked «Hardware», you should REALLY check out «Fortress».

Another low-budget dystopian is «Daybreak» (1993) but I’ve seen it only one a long time ago, so I don’t recall very much of it.

August 7, 2008

wisnu said:

hooooooooooooooooooo

August 17, 2008

synthetic_creature said:

i used to have this on vhs!!! fucked if ill ever find it anywhere again lol. great film. love the presentation

August 27, 2008

gus said:

un peliculn de ciencia ficcin fuera de lo normal, con multitud de paranoias raras (no las voy a comentar por si alguien no ha visto la pelicula), yo hubiese quitado unas pocas y la pelicula hubiese quedado mas seria.

te deja en la boca un sabor agridulce alucinante al final de la pelicula con ese temazo musical titulado “the order of death” (public image) que he escuchado miles de veces, nunca me canso de oirlo.

salu2 desde Espaa-Spain.

Executer SSD said:

“No Flesh Shall Be Spared”, Mark:13

Cyber Greetings from Portugal!

Definitely, Richard Stanley’s Hardware (1990) aka M.A.R.K.13 is one of the best “low-budget” post-apocalyptic dystopian cyberpunk film from the early 90’s. I’ve always remembered it to be quite a dark movie, almost like Ridley Scott’s Alien (1979) or James Cameron’s The Terminator (1984), although not as great production wise. It really serves as an example of modest cinematography coupled with great atmospherics. One should have in mind that not every investor or producer wants to risk money on a potential “weak” product, more so in such lesser genres as thematic science fiction or horror. Those were the hard times…
This film is on the top of my “Most Wanted” and I still hope it will be released in a decent DVD (if not Blu-Ray) edition, uncut and in its 1.85:1 original aspect ratio (some would say 4:3 fullscreen; others matted 1.85:1).
I still have my old VHS copy taken from a late night TV broadcast, right after it premiered at the Fantasporto Film Festival in 1991. Oh, the secret glory!

“Cyberpunk” aside, also recommended is the 5 disc limited edition of Richard Stanley’s second feature as director, Dust Devil (1992), if not for the film itself (comes in Final Cut and Work Print versions) then for its content alone (3 feature length documentaries, Simon Boswell’s Original Soundtrack on CD, et al.)

Richard Stanley has upped his page; check it out for some cool stuff at:

http://www.myspace.com/richardstanley13

There’s also this little BBC documentary on independent filmmaking, featuring some behind-the-scenes footage of Hardware and of Richard Stanley’s impressions on his first directing role. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O61gm2ZuFWQ

The Future is Red and Hot!

September 25, 2008

H1T3K L0L1F3 said:

This movie has the best soundtrack for a Cyberpunk film after Bladerunner in my opinion, I have had to copy my original as it was getting too much play. When I saw this first I was blown away, I had read the 2000AD short story and found this to be a good take on it. To this day I love to quote this film, I love the building security guys, “…dying in space is real easy, one f**k-up and your gas, spread out over a thousand miles of stratosphere” or Lincoln Wineberg Jr’s “wobbly” poem. I love how a cheap Indi movie can portray the feel of a cyberpunk dystopia when big budget movies along those lines just fail. This is one movie I’d recommend to anyone out to find some cyberpunk material or who wants a great post-apocalyptic soundtrack to download to their brain…

February 26, 2009

damageinc86 said:

anyone know where to get an original laserdisc of this?

zenseeker said:

Just got around to seeing this movie on Zone Horror last night, it really is a fantastic little movie :) Quite a downbeat ending, but all the better for it. I could have lived without the cameo from Motorhead’s Lemmy though.

March 2, 2009

frankie smales said:

hi damageinc86

yes i can help you that the movie is hard to get on laserdisc
now that everyone has upgraded to dvd since the late 90’s now
and only way you can get this on laserdisc try online auction sites like ebay or visit your local collectable movie memorabillia
store to see if they have the original laserdisc if all failing that
just get an dvd player and do the same of try to get it on dvd by looking in ebay because sadly theres is no real money in laserdiscs anymore because of the dvd and the hybrid dvd
boom are hitting stores worldwide and just treat laserdiscs as wall hanging display items ok.

yours faithfully

frankie smales

(retro movie fan & guru)

May 17, 2009

Feyhra said:

On June 22nd Richard Stanley’s Hardware will finally be getting an official DVD release, so there ought to be a much more viewable copy available then.

I also did a little digging around and company releasing it recently applied to the BBFC for ratings for a couple of Stanley’s old Super8 movies, including the ‘prequel’ to Hardware, ‘Incidents In An Expanding Universe’, which runs at about 45 minutes and introduces all the characters we later see in Hardware.

http://www.bbfc.co.uk/website/Classified.nsf/0/c79726275a6e052c802575a6005acee2?OpenDocument&ExpandSection=4

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hardware-DVD-Stacey-Travis/dp/B001TJKW4A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1242565022&sr=8-1

June 13, 2009

Sonne said:

Yeah the bad news past and gone about the quallity of the print sure is right it robs it of 1 measly star but now has be reissued due 22 June 2009 so we can brake out the ecstatic jawbreaking grin of pleasure watching it as a 10 out of 10! As it is!
And lean back in euphoric xstacy while M.A.R.K. 13 conducts the classics with skyskraper sized speaker in wide-angle and fingers crossed the volume will still be cranked up as she turns on Ministry late at night making me jump in my seat but not adjust my volume ;-)
“Ohh we all sing our wibbely wobbely… ” Hehehhehe ;-)
Cult Supreme!

November 17, 2009

Silk Cut said:

Recently picked up a copy of Hardware. Its a special edition DVD

March 3, 2010

hardwarewiz said:

awesome hardware movies! 10/10!

April 22, 2010

l1zrdking said:

Blu Ray is out, still kind of high though, Ive been tryin to peep one on ebay.

November 6, 2010

cyberfra said:

hi, i’m watching your very interesting cyberpunk movie reviews, must say that i think some films of your list don’t belong to cyberpunk genere but only sci-fi, nevermind, agrre with you 100% about this awsome film, pure gold cyberpunk.

Btw, compliment for your very nice site.

“.. sky was the color of television tuned to a dead channel :)”

July 31, 2011

Vampyre Mike said:

Started off good, got odd and stupid towards the middle. Was not a fan, and usually I’m pretty easily pleased with movies. Especially CP ones… hrmm

December 25, 2011

SeniorCitizen said:

i watched hardware twice and… i just don’t get this one. it starts off beautifully in the wasteland featuring a zone-wanderer collecting junk, rolls on with angry bob’s cynical and dark-humored radio broadcast, “the skyline was beautiful on fire, all twisted metal stretching upwards, everything washed in a thin orange haze”, etc etc… and then the whole thing gets stuck somehow, the story begins “lagging” at a certain point (namely the frame where Jill gets her gift) and no significant development occurs ever since (besides the resurrection and the killing). it’s all idlings to the end from that point. i don’t say the overall film necessarily would be bad, it’s just as if the director would’ve lost the script halfway the shooting and additionally forgotten what he originally wanted with it, so he rush-made up the rest on a sunday afternoon to finish the job before deadline. it owns a unique cp-feel for sure and has some decent attributes regarding both scenes and characters to build in this radioactive dystopia, but as a movie, it fails. it’s just embarassing for me to watch after a while. as for the soundtrack… the lyrics are considerately.. well… the tune is pretty catchy though. 5/10

SeniorCitizen said:

and the dramaturgy play is just ludicrous

April 11, 2012

bordeaux said:

Dans l’ensemble, le film fonctionne. Il contient accrocheurs, magnifiquement multicolores visuels (presque tous les scène est baignée dans une couleur différente déposant), et réussit à créer un paysage entièrement réalisé futuriste sur un budget extrêmement limité. Le Mark 13, créé par l’imagination l’image, semble raisonnablement menaçante, même si elle est un peu trop penser à des robots sans peau terminator de The Terminator et ses suites.

April 22, 2012

zara7 said:

hey, thanks for pointing me to this movie, and more importantly, thanks for all your hard work on this site! i really appreciate what you guys do, y’know, sifting through all the chaff, so that noobs like me don’t have to! btw, are you familiar with ‘vexille’ ?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0970472/

it’s not great, and it’s got its fair share of problems, but it’s certainly ambitious and cyberpunk! keep up the good work yo’ll! ;)

also.. does ‘cowboy bebop’ not fit vaguely into cp? watanabe does appear to have slipped in at least a few passing references to cyberpunk staples… y’know, cybernetic replacement trauma, evil domineering corporations ruling over everything, advanced technology barely working and needing constant repair, many people wearing black market tech to enhance abilities or implanting tech, not to mention the hacking, and the noir feel to the whole series… just a thought!)

October 5, 2012

Punk:Cyber said:

I found this movie on youtube (full and 1 pice)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZSVrosLJNw

I hope its the full vertion you look ;)

May 3, 2013

Howk said:

I love this movie! There are so many great things in this it’s hard to
name just one! Btw the way the name of the android ” Mark 13″
is in reference to a bible passage. That passage states ” No Flesh shall be spared. ” The movie is based on a one shot story in a british
comic strip, 2000 A.D. I believe.

Love your site Howk

May 27, 2013

horatio_ said:

I actually watched a version of Hardware today on Netflix stream. Not sure if its any different than the one you saw. I liked the environment a lot, especially the beginning, but like others who commented i felt like it fell flat at the end (or at least it became a horror/thriller/monster movie).

Anyhow the cyberpunk elements were great, thanks for the recommendation, love your site.

July 7, 2013

Guest said:

Wow, the site is back. Great news.

December 4, 2013

Peter said:

Hi, first time poster, long time reader.
Usually I don’t feel the need to comment about films, weather I like them or not, but I felt the urge here.
I saw this on TV as a kid and it scared the shit out of me, so much so that I couldn’t watch.
Now I saw it on youtube and gave it a go again. And frankly I don’t see what the fuss is about - 9 out of 10?
I realize its a small budget film, but come on. The acting was mostly annoyingly bad, especially Shades after getting high, the pacing went to shit mid-movie, editing was awkward in the action scenes. The robot did some pretty weird things and I could not take it seriously after it crushed that can in the chick’s face. Also, the freaky neighbor was cool, but when he met the girl, it all went to hell. No way she didn’t figure out he was the creep who had been stalking her. He practically told her so.
The soundtrack was very good, granted. And so was the camera work (with a few exceptions). Also, the atmosphere and visuals - all great. Special note to the special effects. BUT. The acting and editing drags it to mud. I mean, I don’t mind stereotyped and 2-dimensional characters - that’s all well and good in flicks like this, but the forced melodrama is really bad when it’s acted bad.
All in all - 5/10 from me.

April 25, 2014

M said:

Just saw it and I really don’t see what’s so special about it.
It’s pretty predictable (”it’s their population control” - “Jee! you think?!!”) and it’s basically a low-budget Terminator clone.

Leave a comment


~All Related Entries Related This~

 

<<--Back to top

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts