Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 52

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 389

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 556

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 678

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/theme.php on line 507

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php:52) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/Bad-Behavior/bad-behavior/screener.inc.php on line 8

Strict Standards: Non-static method mediacaster::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/mediacaster/mediacaster.php on line 1059

Strict Standards: Non-static method admin_menu::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 345

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-dofollow/sem-dofollow.php on line 67

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-terms2posts.php on line 166

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-extract-terms.php on line 210

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 343

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-comments/sem-recent-comments.php on line 997

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-posts/sem-recent-posts.php on line 1191

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-search-reloaded/sem-search-reloaded.php on line 218

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme.php on line 135

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-captions.php on line 189

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-comments.php on line 311

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-nav-menus.php on line 487

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 586

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-sidebar.php on line 76

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-skin.php on line 248

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-utils.php on line 493

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-archives.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-calendar.php on line 150

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-cats.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-links.php on line 191

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::widgetize() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu_callback() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 74

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::catch_playlist() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::execute() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::is_skip() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 84

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::guess_permalink() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 111

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::check_hostname() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 123
Cyberpunk Review » Ghost in the Shell
Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::display_scripts() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method sem_google_analytics::display_script() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::get_options() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 95

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method sem_google_analytics::track_links() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 178

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::css() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::js() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: Parameter 2 to sem_theme_posts::display_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 182

Comments

January 22, 2006

Sherry said:

This movie looks awesome, I was given the movie as a gift by a wonderful person(odd to be sure) but after reading your review.. I really must watch ASAP!!

SFAM said:

Thanks Sherry! I’m guessing you will love it. It’s a deeply contemplative movie with terrific action breaks. :)

amberlita said:

Ah yes. The only reason I saw this movie was from it’s repeated presence on your lists. Pretty excellent too. I think it bears rewatching to fully grasp not only some of the ideas but some of it’s strengths as well.

SFAM said:

Thanks Amber! It’s always cool to see when my reviews have an impact on someone’s watching habits. I must say though, I kind of like the site idea for posting these reviews more than the list idea. There is lots more I can do here, especially in terms of creating a relationship structure.

I almost want to start up another site on Sword and Sorcery movies, as I have just about as many of these (around 100 or more) as I do cyberpunk-type flicks.

*Goes in search of an available URL*

[…] I will probably write a separate essay on this, but just to be clear, this viewpoint shows that the Matrix trilogy is the philosophical sequel to Ghost in the Shell (GITS). GITS2: Innocence does not follow Motoko’s journey after she integrates – Neo does. GITS2: Innocence is really a furthering of the philosophies that Oshii advanced in Avalon, meaning that conceptually, GITS2: Innocence is the sequel to Avalon, not the original GITS. […]

February 6, 2006

Jordan Meeter said:

Wow, this is an excellent review! Thank you so much for this, as well as the information you left in the comment on my blog. Very useful indeed. :]

SFAM said:

Welcome Jordan!

Glad you liked the review. I think you’ll find there’s a bunch of great animes out there for GITS: SAC fans. I think GITS: SAC (yet to be reviewed by me, but I will do this soon) is bringing a whole new level of interest to cyberpunk anime, and hopefully to cyberpunk as a whole. Its the perfect entry show.

February 20, 2006

Neuromancer said:

Thanks for a great review!
Mamoru Oshii is truly a master of making multilayered movies where-in “heavy” philosophical themes are made accessible by astonishing imagery. This is groundbreaking work in storytelling, design and used techniques. Truly a landmark in the genre and probably beyand as well.
Music is often underrated but in this movie the work from Kenji Kawai can not be missed and becomes a part of the story. In my mind, the scene where Motoko is constructed simply would not be as strong as it is now without this wonderfull music to complement it.

SFAM said:

Hi Neuromancer, great point about the music. Definitely this plays a big part in setting the mood. And it’s absolutely a landmark - I put Ghost in the Shell in the top three movies needed to understand the genre (Metropolis and Blade Runner being the other two).

March 5, 2006

DannyV_El_Acme said:

Although written originally by Masamune Shirow, the Ghost In The Shell film is incredibly different in mood to Shirow’s original work, and is a superior product for it. This is Oshii’s baby all the way. It’s very interesting to compare it to the original manga, because even though the original story is the same, the mood and presentation couldn’t be further apart. The Ghost In The Shell manga is to put it bluntly, quite laughable. Tons of dumb comic-relief moments, frankly exploitative scenes that serve no purpose(the Motoko-two female cyborg-lesbian sex scene), dumb subplots(the Fuchikoma revolution) and oodles of meaningless psychobabble drag the manga to an almost unreadable point. Oshii discarded everything that was superflous about the manga and streamlined all plot and themes into a coherent, engaging, and highly philosophical work.

I saw this movie when it came out and I haven’t seen it since, I really need to get a copy of it to analyze it better.

SFAM said:

Hi DannyV_El_Acme, welcome to Cyberpunk Review! Hope you like it here. While I definitely agree that I like Oshii’s work better than the Manga, I disagree that Shirow’s manga is laughable. It certainly had a very different (lighter) tone than Oshii’s stuff. And Oshii only used some of the story - interestingly, other parts have come out in GITS SAC. As for the little tryst, I don’t really mind this much, as it sort of clarifies a few things - Oshii never discusses the possibility of Motoko having the ability to have human experiences like that, whereas Shirow makes it absolutely clear that the Cyborg body has been fully wired. I will say that I like Shirow’s sequel - Man-Machine Interface lots better.

May 14, 2006

Desirina.com » Ghost in the Shell (the movie) said (pingback):

[…] There is a more complete review of the movie at cyberpunkreview.com, with screen caps and stuff, so if you want to know more about the movie, check it out. SFAM also has some thoughts about connections between GITS and The Matrix which are interesting. […]

March 9, 2007

Saruwatari said:

Ghost in the shell in my opinion is by far the greatest manga/anime in the history and japanese animation. Ferthur more the first movie is the better one out of th two in innocence i got the feeling of lonely without motoko kusanagi. Having said that out of the two movies innocence does rob you of your emotions and you feel the suffering that batou is feeling without the major by his side.

March 18, 2007

Joshoewaa said:

I love this movie, its probably my favourite anime. The climax of the movie is supurb, its so atmospheric. The city’s visuals are amazing…

SFAM said:

Hi Joshoewaa, I couldn’t agree with you more. GITS is still my favorite anime.

March 29, 2007

David said:

I seen this anime when I was 12, and aside from the realistic artwork and backgrounds, I was board outta my my. I remember rewatching it a year later just for the naked shots of Pusunagi and the puppet master’s female body.

The story is pretty similar to the first two Palalabor movies, which, since they share the same director as Ghost In The Shell, is inevitable I suppose. It uses alot of philosophy, slow driven plot, and character introspection, which at times can envoke a ‘ghostly’ feeling, while at others it’s just plain tedium. I recall myself dozing off at the end when te sniper was flying overhead the building, thinking ’shit this is boring…’

If I had to chose ‘the greatest anime of all time,’ I would have to chose three, because it would be incredibly hard to define ‘the greatest.’ BUT, Ghost In The Shell wouldn;t be amongst those three.

April 3, 2007

James NIGDEF said:

Regardless of this being an anime film it is a truly fascinating piece of work, exquisitely paced and directed and that asks challenging questions about identity and technology. The art is beautiful (these urban backgrounds!) and a lot more tasteful and consistent than the expensive CGI crap of its unfortunate sequel. It is a shame that the english dubbing is so bad: the characters’ voices are too monotonous and expressionless and it doesn’t do justice to the great dialogue. Apart from that, it’s all good.

June 4, 2007

randomrob said:

I’m still hoping Bandai will get permission to redub this film w/the GITS SAC american voice actors… I would like to hear Mary Elizabeth McGlynn do Motoko’s dialogue.. IMO she’s really made the Major her own woman..

As for the endless whining about Innocence- only Mamoru Oshii could’ve brought that manga to the screen at that time in the way he chose to do it (ie- editing the crap out of the source) and have been taken seriously. Masamune Shirow had nothing to do with Innocence.. it was Oshii’s baby, and a way for him to continue to expand on the themes he was pulling from Shirow.

IE- cyberpunk itself has been fleshed out as a genre to a bigger audience than it ever has before because of GITS, and because of Oshii, who dared to make it unflinchingly serious.

Ergo: what makes you love GITS is what makes you loathe Innocence.

Go figure.

(somebody wake me up when they make a GITS SAC MMORPG pleeeeease)

:)
I can dream :D

July 1, 2007

PSY said:

IMO this is one of the few instances where the adaptation is better than the original. God only knows how many times I’ve watched this over the years, and God only knows how many more times I will watch it. One of those films you show people that believe “Anime is like, DBZ yeah?” to show them the error of their ways.

It has many critics, most of which I find tend to hate it because “It doesn’t make sense.” or “There is no story!”. But we live in a world where we are spoon fed our plotlines, so it is to be expected. I for one am greatfull for the chance to exercise the ol’ noggin’. ;-)

July 3, 2007

project_2501 said:

Brilliant film, but I didn’t understand the secene where Arakami is in the woods with all the soldiers - what happened then?

Also - On the Akira DVD, there’s a quote that says something like ‘without Akira, there’d be no Matrix’. The only thing from Akira I can think of that’s also in the Matrix is Tetsuo stopping the tank shell. I would have thought GITS was much more influential on the W. bros…

July 16, 2007

Jay said:

I think it’s awesome that you saw the connection between The Matrix and GITS, sicne they are both largely based on the philosophy of Jean Baudrillard. If you haven’t read up on him yet, I highly recommend it. He’s one of the main theoreticians of hyperreality - the idea that in hi-tech cultures we are apt to confuse fantasy with reality.

Awesome review too. Nice read. I’ll be sure to check this site in the future.

July 17, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Jay, I actually read Baudrillard in college (I took some semiotics courses). And yeah project_2501, I would definitely agree that GITS was far more influential on the Matrix trilogy. But Akira is definitely one of the main stopping points on the road to where we got, so who knows.

October 16, 2008

hell said:

movie

October 30, 2008

kabukiman said:

I saw the movie about 10 years ago and I stunned by it’s visual and philosophical issues. I have buy it, as the manga. They are very different, but the movie follows the end of the manga very closely in it’s spirit. The SAC are also very good, but are less about escathologic issues, and more about espionage and action. By the way, what did you think about man-machine interface?

kabukiman said:

Oh, and congratulations for the site, it’s excelent. I come here nearly everyday since I discovered some months ago, and I haven’t explored all.

October 31, 2008

Stormtrooper of Death said:

Hello Kabukiman, this site has also an excellent and up-to-date forum…

November 10, 2008

suke said:

thanks for this review… well also this comment is like obvious I would like to add to the part of the matrix, the first part where neo discoveres that he is in an emulated life, I think it is very similar to GITS where the garbage collector discovers that his life(wife and daughter) is all emulated by the hacker

suke said:

congrats for the site its great

June 10, 2010

belodeau said:

“It’s a f***ing toaster!”
I’d be interested in a comparison essay between GITS and the new Battlestar Galactica series. What is the line between humanity and not, once AI becomes sentient, etc…

June 12, 2010

Stormtrooper of Death said:

Belodeau, thanks for the comment.

“Its a fuc…ing toaster..”

hehe, when i have to choose between a hot female humanoid and a toaster… I go for the female humanoid…. hehe.

April 4, 2011

Nathan said:

Just saw the two movies after looking through your website. I’m completely amazed, and I’m deeply grateful to you for writing this article and entertaining such a great website.
Thanks SFAM!

Nathan.

June 9, 2011

jone4s said:

Hello, i made a little crappy Ghost in the shell fan music video… i hope its ok to post it here.. maybe i post it in the forum as well…
i like Ghost in the shell (only the movie!) very much…and cyberpunk in general as well too…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNcYMFx3iyk

November 26, 2011

Van Fanel said:

Una excelente película, sobre todo por que trata sobre si una maquina puede tener alma y el tremendo poder y responsabilidad que esto implica, el mismo nombre de las películas y serie lo remarca

June 14, 2012

Joe peters said:

was it really the end of Ghost in The Shell find out here, http://www.mangauk.com/index.php?p=vanishing-point

October 11, 2012

REI said:

I’ve been aware of GITS film way back in highschool, but I was only able to watch it in 2012 after I played Metal Gear Solid 2, which touched an almost similar theme. I got bored at first, but then something about the Major made me watch the film again. Then, I realized, watching the Major was like “looking at myself in the mirror”. Underneath the sci-fi theme, I realized that it’s a story about liberation. The movie was so smartly done, I could not praise it enough. I’ve never watched a film with lots of hidden meanings on the visuals, and yet they all point towards the same thing, and they all connect towards making a coherent story. Not to mention, the drawings are very sensual and the soundtrack, engaging.

January 22, 2013

Colin said:

Happy New Year! It’s 2013 and a new Ghost in the Shell is to be released this year : GHOST IN THE SHELL ARISE.. February 12..

January 23, 2013

rell said:

I first seen this on cable in 2000, watch ergo proxy in see the similarity between the two

April 26, 2013

Murloc said:

For me, one of the best movies ever made.

October 27, 2013

Head-shaker-2000 said:

I know this site’s not very active, despite ample material in the world - nudge nudge, wink wink- but I know people are still involved in the comments section and further discussion of these topics, so that gives me hope, anyway, regarding Ghost in the Shell, my mate did an old skool style remix of the theme, it’s fuckin wikkid, check it owttt
https://soundcloud.com/bkcx/ghost-in-the-shell-um
Let me know if there’s any other ghost in the shell remixes out there, movie theme, or SAC. My email’s up there, and I’m a music junkie, so get me all the remixes. Nice wannn

April 23, 2014

The Man of Mans said:

Love this movie , like Akira more. But the series are killers.
The movie looks better, the serie is done by a different technique.
But still its deep. If you never saw the serie, i recommend it.

Leave a comment


~All Related Entries Related This~

 

<<--Back to top

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts