Cyberpunk Review » Robocop

March 23, 2006

Robocop

Movie Review By: SFAM

Year: 1987

Directed by: Paul Verhoeven

Written by: Edward Neumeier & Michael Miner

IMDB Reference

Degree of Cyberpunk Visuals: High

Correlation to Cyberpunk Themes: Very High

Key Cast Members:

  • Officer Alex J. Murphy/RoboCop: Peter Weller
  • Officer Anne Lewis: Nancy Allen
  • Dick Jones: Ronny Cox
  • Bob Morton: Miguel Ferrer
  • Clarence Boddicker (Crime Lord): Kurtwood Smith
  • Rating: 9 out of 10

    screen capture

     

    Overview: One of the truly unique movies in the cyberpunk genre, Robocop seems to be slowly receding from our conscious. No longer (in the US) is it carried at places like Best Buy. This is truly a shame because Robocop offers us one of the best instances of near-future cyborgs on film, and in the process, raises some pretty interesting questions. One top of this, Robocop offers some really fun satire along with an in-your-face realistic violence tone throughout that only adds to its mood.

     

    screen capture

     

    The Story: In a very near-future setting, general law and order has broken down. In the crime-ridden city of Detroit, Omni Consumer Products (OCP) has taken over the public safety duties. To cut costs, they have decided to explore options for automating the police force. One option supported by Dick Jones (Ronny Cox) the number 2 guy at OCP, involves the development of a fully automated mobile weapon system called “ED 209.” While ED 209 is an absolute badass, it screws up in the final demo and ends up peppering one of OCP’s employees in the process.

     

    screen capture

     

    Enter up and coming executive, Bob Morton (Miguel Ferrer). Bob takes ED 209’s demise as an opportunity to convince the CEO to give the Robocop project a try. This involves taking a “just-dead” cop, and embedding the key parts of his body (brain, lungs, heart, etc.) into a robotic body that interfaces and “controls” the mental processes through controlling prime directives. Detective Murphy (played wonderfully by Peter Weller), who has just died in a gruesome death at the hands of Detroit’s crime lord (Kurtwood Smith) becomes the new “volunteer.” His memory is erased, his limbs are removed, and then becomes OCP’s corporate property as their latest innovation.

     

    screen capture

     

    Murphy is transformed into a fully encased crime fighting machine. Robocop is released on the streets to start kicking ass. Unfortunately, Dick Jones doesn’t take his defeat gracefully, and begins to cause trouble both for Robocop’s creator, Bob Morton, and finally for Robocop. It turns out that OCP’s plan for managing detroit’s crime situation isn’t all above board, as there appears to be some linkage between OCP and Detroit’s crime lord. Robocop’s troubles get even worse as he begins to remember who he was in a past life.

     

    screen capture

     

    The Satire: Verhoeven is known for having an off-beat sense of satire. In a technique later used for Total Recall and Starship Troopers, Robocop does this primarily through its news reports and commercials. These, along with the corporate greed thematics transforms Robocop into a social commentary on the 80s excesses. The Commoditization of society permeates every aspect of human life in Robocop. Corporations are inherently evil and humanity is a cheap sales pitch. Like Starship Troopers, you’ll continually catch yourself smiling at the commercials and news reports, as Verhoeven really has a talent for this type of satire.

     

    screen capture

     

    The Violence: Fair warning – Robocop is an extremely violent movie – so much so that upon its initial release, they had to cut two seconds of violence to prevent from receiving an “X” rating. Nothing is held back here, as Verhoeven continually strives for hyper-realism. We see limbs getting blown off, blood spattered faces and walls, and in-your-face gore of all varieties from beginning to end. However, the violence doesn’t stick out as a sore thumb – instead it serves to give the near-future city a nourish realism feel. In short, it works within the context of the narrative and surrounding visuals.

     

    screen capture

     

    The FX and Set Designs: While Verhoeven gives us a somewhat futuristic city, he seems to err on the side of looking “normal.” We see this most clearly in the Ford Taurus police cars (which were brought in after everyone agreed the futuristic police car designs looked too tacky to be considered). However, the set designs are all wonderfully constructed, and all seem work well with one-another. The ED 209 looks terrific, and the stop-motion animation for it generally works. Robocop’s exterior design does look hoaky at first, but you eventually get used to it. On the other hand, Robocop without his helmet looks flat-out awesome.

     

    screen capture

     

    The Cyborg Questions: Robocop/Murphy give us a rich set of questions to ponder relating to cyborgs, the integration of programming with human minds, and in determining ownership after death.

    • Cyborg and Humanity: As Murphy begins to realize who he was, and worse, what he’s become, the question asked is what degree of Murphy’s humanity remains? Murphy’s partner, Anne Lewis (played by Nancy Allen) serves to surface these concerns, as she still thinks that Murphy is inside somewhere. Yet, every aspect of humanity has been taken away from Robocop – he doesn’t have a home, but instead returns to a borg-like podchair at night to regenerate. Even if Robocop eventually considers himself human in some sense, it’s no longer clear what that even means. At best, Robocop is part of that strange category we call “post-human.”
    •  

    • Man-machine interface – Robocop Style: Robocop gives us an interesting look at human brain-matter that has been fully integrated into a cybernetic body. Even more interesting though is the notion that external programming could limit the functioning of the human brain from controlling its new cyborg casing. If we think about it, this isn’t as far fetched as it may initially look: similar to how firewalls block “targeted” information from either entering or exiting a network, Robocop’s programming ensures the human mind adheres to the prime directives. But while the prevention part seems possible, the “directive” nature of the rules seems dubious, as does the erasing of his memory. These perhaps, are far harder to do without destroying the “cop experience” they so desired by picking Murphy in the first place.
    •  

    • Dixie Flatline Construct Concerns: Similar to the Dixie Flatline Construct in Neuromancer, for all intents and purposes, Murphy is dead prior to being transformed into Robocop. At best we can consider him a zombie as his brain matter was re-animated after death. But like Dixie Flatline, he can think and perform sensemaking. Also like Dixie Flatline, he is limited by programming constraints. However, unlike Dixie Flatline, Robocop can still “feel.” So the question is this – if we develop the capability to re-animate someone’s consciousness after death, do they have the same basic human rights as they did when they were alive? Or are they the property of the corporation who revived them? Even weirder, could corpse’s estate executor (or spouse, for that matter) “sell” the corpse’s consciousness to a third party? If this is so, could your conscious be sold after the fact to pay off unpaid debts? Truly, the questions are mind-boggling!

     

    screen capture

     

    The Bottom Line: Robocop has to be considered one of the essential films of the cyberpunk genre. Some of the action scenes could have been better choreographed (a lot of the bad-guy deaths had the worthless storm trooper feel to them), but truly, the quibbles with this film are minor. Unlike the sequels, which largely come across as pathetic attempts to cash in on the original’s success, Robocop takes itself seriously from beginning to end. Because of this, it really does rise to something special. Even though Best Buy no longer considers Robocop worthy of carrying, don’t let this fool you – assuming you can stand the violence, Robocop deserves to be watched.

     

    ~See movies similar to this one~

    This post has been filed under Dystopic Future Movies, Awesome Cyberpunk Themes, Man-machine Interface, 9 Star Movies, Awesome Cyberpunk Visuals, Cyberpunk movies from 1980-1989 by SFAM.

    Comments

    March 23, 2006

    DannyV_El_Acme said:

    Man, do I ever LOVE this movie. Not only is it a great cyberpunk movie(hell, great MOVIE period), it’s also a product of its time. It’s satirizing of the sacharine sweet consumeristic 80s culture is a sure sign, but also its balls-to-the-wall violence and take-no-shit attitude. There’s NO WAY a movie like this could have been made in the 90s, or even today. Well, unless you count Starship Troopers, another Verhoeven piece.

    And fun fact: just like Blade Runner was the inspiration for Bubblegum Crisis, Robocop was the inspiration for episode 3 of Bubblegum Crisis’ prequel,the AD Police OVA, called The Man Who Bites His Tongue. But while Robocop explores a man-machine regaining his humanity, AD Police explores the other extreme: humanity being lost in the throes of cybernetic induced dementia. Pretty good story, actually.

    Fun fact number 2: This movie was written by FRANK FUCKING MILLER. Another reason to love him, folks! Between Robocop, Sin City and Batman: The Dark Night Returns, nobody delivers noirish, dystopic action like the big M!

    And on a final note, the main theme for Robocop RULES.

    SFAM said:

    Hi DannyV, yeah, Robocop is terrific. And I definitely need to watch the AD Police. But the Frank Miller thing? I found a link that mentions this started in 2003. He didn’t write the original Robocop, did he? He’s not listed at IMDB (then again, as we see with Renaissance, IMDB isn’t always complete).

    March 24, 2006

    DannyV_El_Acme said:

    Frank Miller ghostwrote the first one, and he took full credit for the second one(why? beats me!), and he wrote both the old Marvel Comics, and the newest series that’s on sale right now.

    SFAM said:

    Ah cool! Didn’t know that. That’s terrific. :)

    Although, um, I think he’da been better off taking credit for the first one. ;)

    April 8, 2006

    Neuromancer said:

    To be frank i was surprised when this movie came out (after Flesh and Blood and The Hitchhiker) it was a hit outside of Europe.
    The gritty realism, black satire, lots of nudity and ultra-violence usually doesn’t do well in mainstream commercial movie-land on the other side of the ocean.
    I sure am glad it did since after this Verhoeven made the excellent Total Recall and Starship Troopers. Same thing with the latter: it was seen as fascistic propaganda by some reviewers while it is exactly the opposite (hate against Nazism is firmly rooted in the Dutch conscience)

    I’ll buy that for a dollar!

    SFAM said:

    Hi Neuromancer, I think it’s fair to say that Robocop went right up to the boundaries of becoming an X-rated movie, and due to the publicity of this, many were intrigued to see it - so much so that it got almost immediate cult-hit status. But also it was the relative polish that Robocop provided that I think made it do well - this was just a well shot movie.

    July 8, 2006

    Adam Messinger said:

    This movie also has one of the best final dialog exchanges among movies of its kind.

    “Nice shooting, son. What’s your name?

    “…Murphy.”

    SFAM said:

    Hi Adam - agreed. That was a terrific exchange. Too bad the CEO character was ruined in Robocop 2. Looking back, it sort of takes the cool quality away from that scene.

    August 28, 2006

    ed crunk said:

    this movie was filmed in DALLAS because they had one of the most forward thinking, futuristic skylines of the 1980’s…

    if you are familiar with the city…you will notice quite a few landmarks.

    SFAM said:

    Hi Ed Crunk, thanks for sharing that! I hadn’t known where it was filmed - Dallas really did look pretty futuristic for the 80s. BTW, you have a very cool Myspace site. :)

    August 31, 2006

    kakumakoo said:

    Who in his right mind would do a movie like this in this time and age where everything has to be pg-13 in order to get as much people to watch your cut and dismembered, crappy and happy family piece of sh**?
    Who would make a sci-fi “robot” movie so violent and so crude that almost got an X rating and that, to many people, contains the most violent scene of the 80s? (the execution)
    Well the guys from Robocop did and I salute them for it!

    Robocop it’s an excellent movie and they don’t make ‘em like this anymore!!!

    September 23, 2006

    edcrunk said:

    hey, thanx…seeing that i don’t have a girlfriend or a life…i just pour countless hours into useless facts and crappy myspace pages. =-)

    microchip said:

    check out my MySpace page then http://www.myspace.com/grozdan

    microchip said:

    the only robocop for me is the first one, the others are crap

    December 3, 2006

    Mysterious said:

    I know this a little late, but the Frank Miller thing is a bit misunderstood. He wrote the original DRAFT of RoboCop 2, but the studios took it and changed it to to the final mess of a product it was.

    Speaking of which I need to get the graphic novel.

    February 25, 2007

    Binary 384 said:

    Man Robocop was the best movie out there, it is too bad that they do not sell it in the US any more. Well I guess I will go rent it at the mom and pop movie store, see ya!

    SFAM said:

    Hi Binary 384, you can still buy this online. Just Best Buy, and other brick and mortar stores don’t carry it.

    June 6, 2007

    iris bas said:

    hai i have seen the fillm two and i love it

    June 28, 2007

    robofreak said:

    I remember seeing this on home video in 1988 (I was 14; couldn’t see the 18-rated version at the cinema in the UK). It totally blew me away then, and I’ve watched it regularly over the years since. I owned the VHS tape, and now I have the extended version DVD - fantastic! This is one movie that’ll always be a favorite. Everything about it is great :) “Thank you for your cooperation. Goodnight.”

    June 29, 2007

    randomrob said:

    I always felt this movie had a wonderful Frank Miller feel to it. With another director, it would have been a disaster. Only Verhoven could pull it off. Genius, and so telling about where security in this country is still going, and has gone.

    July 15, 2007

    Burnt_Lombard said:

    Some of the Mill scenes where shot out my way in a small town called Monnesson which is about an hour away from Pittsburgh.

    I’m just repeating what others have said, but this film is a great satire, and wonderfully done. Probably my favorite film out of the 80s.

    ….And yeah the sequels and series afterward were horrible.

    August 31, 2007

    Hugo said:

    Has anyone seen a four-part Canadian series called ‘RoboCop: Prime Directives’ featuring Page Fletcher as Murphy/RoboCop?

    It harks backs to the original in respect to its social satire (including overly violent children’s cartoons, a brainwashing Japanese toy franchise and just about everything else in between), its violence (though not as bad or gorey) and features a splash here and there of the original, ‘What is humanity?’ equation.

    Of course, it’s no match to the original and lacks the same sort of cyberpunk edge (it’s obviously a major Canadian city :P). I just wondered if anyone had seen it…?

    September 29, 2007

    asad013 said:

    paul verhoeven made this movie sooo amazing i luv it without him it
    would have been crap 9.5 / 10 i think ta

    October 14, 2007

    HASRUL RAZIE said:

    Saya minat robocop sebab robocop best

    November 20, 2007

    piotr said:

    Hi
    Remember what I wrote about “Running man”?
    The same in here. Robocop is a terrific sociological forecast.
    And the scene with ED 209 http://pl.youtube.com/watch?v=o0kWgcIlWn0 is marvellous!!!
    Robocop is a ingenious dark vision of the future!!!!
    And it is better visually made than “the running man”

    And one thing about the cyborg stuff. Someone said to me that robocop (Murphy) had transplanted only the cortex the rest went out.
    If that’s true this is another terrific psychological/biological question made.
    With only the cortex the consciousness is heavily altered!!!

    March 12, 2008

    ^ RAM said:

    AMÉN!

    March 14, 2008

    Synthoid said:

    You a COLLEGE BOY or somethin’, huh? Bet you think you’re pretty smart, huh? Think you can outsmart a bullet? What’dya say we find out!

    April 2, 2008

    CRIGKILO said:

    GTFHHDJSJWEUJJFJERYEUJDJERHRF4HUDFERUETERTHC8CURTTGNJXXIJOTGNSADUDRNGTIIHSEFJRTRNHGGUSDFGH56JNGHDJGNL5TJC HDFGLJKNRFHUSRO3UXHRFOYYJSGRYJYEJFTTTHWVJRNGJDFGJERFGHETIO34YREDFOIRHHTGIRJHGTOIRGHIORGHRUGHRUSDI8ERUEJRJKR GEDDMJDRHEDJDFHYSEUIERBDJERUEDUEDNCDHCDJDNCHCHCBCDBFNMDFNVNMJVFGJNFNFNFNJHVFNHVFHHVFBHDFSDUJGVGWQUIDFKCHFHDFJHDHDUJDFISDGTSUIDFGXSJDGHSGHSDUJHSDVFAHJSHGSYSDGXGHDSYDGHSHSYHEDTYSYWAUYSYTSDTSDTSTDYDSATYDTYSATEDYSZGRHYSGTDHSTWYEDYTDYERYERTYETWUDTWUDFDYDFUSA64R76464645756CFBNVCHDHDRUFGHEDHFGTHDGHTGRFHFGHRFFHFHFHFGHFGTJKERBRUJTHJHXHXCHDHDHDHVFHDHFFBEDEBIBFEKJFHERJKLBHEDJKLBHERJKGHDJGHDJKGBDJKBGBDBJKGGBDJGGBNDFVJKBNDFBVJBNDFGBVJKGKDGNJKLFGN

    June 9, 2008

    Esteban said:

    LOOKING FOR THE NAME OF A CYBORG MOVIE
    Hi I just want to ask for the name of a cyborg movie I saw in the 80’s, back then I was a kid so I don’t recall the title, but I do recall some of the story and that I loved it.

    Its about a male cyborg who has a female scientist human friend and at the end he dies fighting the villian so he can save her and his friends. If someone can tell me the name of that movie Ill be greatful since Ive been searching for it for years and have read many cyborg and cyberpunk movie reviews and never found it.

    Any help will be appreciated, please email me to steviethecarpenter@yahoo.com

    Thanks and great site!

    June 21, 2008

    Autobot_Prime said:

    I loved that you picked up the existential questions posed in this film. It’s one of the main themes that keeps me coming back again and again. Though there are a few questions I always asked and some opinions I have that I thought you might be interested in, after reading your review.

    Murphy’s death. All we really got was that Murphy was declared “legally dead”. Other than that, there is no other information as to what kind of death state he was in when he was declared. Was he clinically dead? or did he enter full Brain Death. After all most doctors will decalre legal death during the onset of clinical death, while brain death still has yet to occur. It was implied in RoboCop 2 that the brain had to remain “alive” to be useful in a cyborg. So that would mean that Murphy’s brain was kept active during the entire surgical process that transformed him into RoboCop. If that is the case, then could RoboCop be the basis for new legislation regarding death? Could it be argued that even though his memories were wiped out, his brain was kept alive thereby meaning that he never really died? After all, many people who are clinically dead are kept on life support to keep teh brain alive. They have rights as long as the brain remains alive. Why not Murphy?

    Memories. Does RoboCop have memories? This is an arguement I have had with a friend many times over the years. I believe Murphy’s memories were totally wiped (or more appropreatly blocked) from his mind. What we see when RoboCop is “remembering” his past is not truly remembering anything, but feeling. The line said by RoboCop in the mill to Lewis is the perfect literal idea. “I can feel them, but I can’t remember them.” When RoboCop walks through Alex Murphy’s old home, we see his memories, but I feel this is just Veerhoven visually expressing the emotions RoboCop is starting to feel. The same thing can be daid for his dream. We, the audence, see the act through Murphy’s eyes, but that is only to envoke the feeling RoboCop is having. I always thought the shadowy image seen on the monitor during RoboCop’s dream was the closest thing to a memory RoboCop has of his past “life”. Basically Even though OCP was able to blank his memory, they couldnt bloank his emotional capacity. In the end that’s what makes us human. So Does RoboCop’s capacity to feel make him human? Or is it just an unforseen product glitch? Is he a person or property? This is a question that humanity has been asking since the dawn of man. And at each step in our evolutin from teh primal beginning to today we face this dilema again and again. Even the American Civil War was fought over the idea of what is human and what is property, and can one sentient being truly own another.

    Murphy may not be Alex J. Murphy. For all intentse and purposes, Alex J. Murphy cesed to be after his memory was wiped, and he was bound by his prime directives. That being said, his emotional capacity as well as his expierences after the fact made him into another person altogether. It’s similer to a person who recovers from severe brain trauma. They may have some memory loss and old friends who knew them before the trauma will say that they are a “completely different person”. This happened with a friend of mine. His girlfriend was in a severe automobile accident, spent a month in a coma, and when she awoke, she had memory problems (she couldn’t remember the first date she had with my friend, as an instance). Soon after she fully recovered, my friend broke up with her, beacouse he said she was not the same person he knew before the accident. She acted diferent, talked different, and even had new prefrences when making love. She tried to tell him she was in fact, the same person, but to him she was someone else. So is she the same person she was before? Or did her amnisia and brain trauma make her someone slightly different? If RoboCop’s memory was wiped, is he still Alex J. Murphy at the end of the film? Or is he someone else totally different based on his new memories, expierences, and prime directives? These are all ideas I get when watching RoboCop, and the main reason I keep wanting to watch.

    Thanks for reading this and please forgive all of my horrable spelling and gramerical errors. Thank you.

    July 10, 2008

    Swashbuckler332 said:

    I came across this incisive essay because I had just recently watched “RoboCop” for the first time in some years and was completely blown away by it.

    It’s not so much that the film holds up — which, for the most part, it does — it’s that it was so remarkably prescient. The movie may have been darkly satirical in 1987, but so many aspects of it, from the depiction of the corporate juggernaut Omni Consumer Products’ control over the lives of everyday citizens to the “Media Break” segments which are almost indistinguishable from Fox News, ring so true in this day and age that they were as disturbing as they were funny.

    There are a few points I’d like to make:

    Frank Miller was involved in the scripting of “RoboCop 2″ and “3,” he didn’t have anything to do with the first film at all. I’m not sure where that rumor got started.

    The cuts to avoid the X-rating amounted to about a minute of footage. This version was for years exclusive to the Criterion Collection laserdisc and DVD releases. However, the uncut version is the one that is preserved on Blu-ray.

    The additional moments of violence in the cut that the M.P.A.A. had originally rated X do, indeed, intensify the effect of the film. There are two major additions. The first is a gruesome extension of the early scene with Mr. Kinny which is so violent and over-the-top that it can’t be taken seriously, and thus is actually less disturbing than the less graphic edit seen in the R rated theatrical version.

    On the other hand, Murphy’s death runs almost a full minute longer in Verhoeven’s cut, a sadistic scene that brutalizes the audience almost as much as it does the character, which not only intensifies one’s hatred of Clarence Boddicker (Kurtwood Smith) and his unruly gang, but also ensures the viewer’s sympathies for Murphy’s plight. The harsh depiction of his dismemberment and the coldness with which Bob Morton (Miguel Ferrer) treats Murphy’s remains only intensifies Frankensteinian nature of the transformation. In fact, the dream sequence, the scene in which RoboCop walks through Murphy’s old home and the moment in which Lewis assists his targeting by aiming at jars of baby food (an evocative illustration of how certain areas of life are now denied him) are all that much more emotionally gripping because of the trauma he experienced.

    August 22, 2008

    Anon said:

    I’d like to add my appreciation to this thread. Can’t get enough of this movie lately.
    A true classic.

    August 23, 2008

    avoidz said:

    This film being so great makes the prospect of the inevitable RoboCop “reboot” movie all the more awful.

    September 30, 2008

    Stormtrooper of Death said:

    Saw it last week, have it on DVD. Indeed the questions Robocop askes about his former family and wife, and when the other tells him:

    After you died, her live moved on, the is now with another man. Robocop, showed feelings, even when he was 90% machine, still in his human brains, he had a sense of emotions.

    Cool movie from 1987. Makes you indeed wonder, what will happen, when AI turns emotional. Are they then still concerned machines, are would they be equal to human /meat bots ? meat with brains, or machines with human brains ….

    October 11, 2008

    J. Reid said:

    An absolutely great movie! The plot was really good and the action and violence made the movie even better. I give it a 10!

    November 15, 2008

    LEON said:

    Last Night, November 14, 2008. 08:00 PM. “ROBOCOP” was shown in free T.V. I wasn’t able to finish it. I fell asleep while watching. When I woke up, it was the evening news. Everytime “ROBOCOP” is shown on free T.V., I’m having a hard time to finish watching. “ROBOCOP” for me, is one of the most boring movies ever made. It always makes me fall asleep.

    Anonymous said:

    @LEON: You must have a very short attention span. And commercial breaks on free-to-air TV movies don’t do much for viewers like you. I can only feel sorry for you that you can’t enjoy such a classic movie.

    November 19, 2008

    SFAM said:

    Leon, I’m afraid I’m going to agree with Mr. Anonymous here…

    November 25, 2008

    anton said:

    i love robocop. anybody want to make this movie?

    December 2, 2008

    Adam Daub said:

    Make the movie? No, they already did that. Did you mean “Re-make” ? If so… please, I beg you, don’t encourage Hollywood.

    December 6, 2008

    Samurai said:

    Final word on Frank Miller’s involvement with the series (and let’s see how much you like this very good sf flick after this statement): ROBOCOP screenwriters ripped off DARK KNIGHT RETURNS down to exact comic panels from the graphic novel. Miller sued and as part of the settlement he got to writer 2 & 3. This started his new film career which continues to this day. Thanks.

    Autobot_Prime1979 said:

    *to Samurai*

    Interesting, even though I’ve read ‘The Dark Knight Returns’ and see as many similarities between it and RoboCop as I do it and Burton’s own Batman farce that actually claims to have been inspired by Miller’s comic. I would love to know what sources you used in what I am sure was a heavily researched claim. I would also like to know what movies he was involved with between RoboCop 3 and Sin City. The Miller interview on the Special Features for Sin City (as well as his biography episode on A&E) has him making the claim that he left Hollywood in disgust after his involvement on the RoboCop sequels.

    September 8, 2009

    Dudayz said:

    Robocop its cool and untill now i still watching this film !!

    Strodong said:

    Very Cool Robocop I love it !

    An absolutely great movie! The plot was really good and the action and violence made the movie even better. I give it a 10!

    Dudayz said:

    I Have one post about robo cop please take and give your comment in i http://dudy-adityawan.com !! robocop its very fantastic i like !

    avoidz said:

    I would also like to know what Samurai’s source is for his information, because I’ve read a ton of RoboCop articles over the years since the movie came out and never read anything, anywhere that corroborates that story.

    Swashbuckler332 said:

    “Final word on Frank Miller’s involvement with the series (and let’s see how much you like this very good sf flick after this statement): ROBOCOP screenwriters ripped off DARK KNIGHT RETURNS down to exact comic panels from the graphic novel. Miller sued and as part of the settlement he got to writer 2 & 3. This started his new film career which continues to this day. Thanks.”

    This statement really doesn’t make any sense whatsoever. The screenwriters aren’t responsible for the composition and framing of shots, that’s the job of the director and cinematographer. Furthermore, while there are some minor ideas that ‘RoboCop’ and ‘The Dark Knight’ do have in common, they are fairly minor and there there is just no way that a plagiarism lawsuit would ever have been entertained by a lawyer, much less been successful.

    So unless somebody produces any evidence to the contrary, Frank Miller had nothing to do with the first ‘RoboCop’ movie. At all.

    avoidz said:

    What Swashbuckler332 said… The link is spurious.

    Samurai is obviously just a troll.

    October 27, 2009

    gdxfg said:

    un e di nse kejt filmat jan rrena un e per alltijet se jan me boj
    a kur pu desin ata nuk desin vesh bahen cashtu jipne ka festa
    filmin robocop

    December 15, 2009

    salis alias sali sounds said:

    Robocop should be send back to every scene for every child to watch because it contains good scene. Infact we must force all World Broadcasting / Tv station to telecast it again.
    Please do well to work on this, this christmas time thank you.

    September 15, 2010

    ardhie said:

    great film on 90’s.

    I like the character.

    October 7, 2010

    old-sci-fic said:

    I remember I saw this movie. However, I never really liked it. I prefer sci fic where the main characters have brain and decide for themselves.

    October 20, 2010

    Hasrul Razie @ ngah said:

    Syarat-syarat pernyataan adalah seperti berikut:-

    Umur- 25 hingga 45 .

    Kurus ( jangan terlalu kurus ).

    Mesti minat dan tonton semua filem Robocop.

    Mesti pandai tiru gaya berjalan,membuat aksi dan bercakap macam Robocop.

    Sama tinggi dengan Peter Weller dan Page Fletcher.

    Mesti ada ciri-ciri yang sesuai untuk watak Alex Murphy.

    Untuk lelaki sahaja ( kaum adam sahaja ).

    January 7, 2011

    deadmovies said:

    I like it, because it has shot in Detroit

    March 27, 2011

    Aytakk said:

    I remember when this first came out and I was a kid. This sort of movie has great appeal to kids especially kids like me who loved robots.

    I remember watching it on TV when I was 12. We’d been watching it up until the part where the OCP exec is in his apartment snorting cocaine off the hookers. Thats when my parents turned it off and wouldn’t let us watch the rest. Not the violence (which was edited for TV anyway) but the sex.

    Finally got to see it all a couple of years later around the time Robocop 2 was in new release on video and it was pure awesome.

    I have watched it again recently and I’d give it 9/10. I think its held up well over the years.

    July 15, 2011

    Samuel Ezimuo said:

    Robocop still remains my favorite: i just love that movie.as a matter of fact,i just got it again lately and i can watch it over and over again…

    July 24, 2011

    Vampyre Mike said:

    Never realized Robocop was really Cyberpunk. I also hadn’t seen it fully in over ten years I would say. But on buying the Blu-Ray and re-watching it, it most def is. And still holds up pretty well too!

    February 7, 2014

    MattBowron said:

    I wonder how people view the remake of RoboCop that’s come out just recently (2014).

    Leave a comment


    ~All Related Entries Related This~

     

    <<--Back to top

    Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts