Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 52

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 389

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 556

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 678

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/theme.php on line 507

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php:52) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/Bad-Behavior/bad-behavior/screener.inc.php on line 8

Strict Standards: Non-static method mediacaster::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/mediacaster/mediacaster.php on line 1059

Strict Standards: Non-static method admin_menu::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 345

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-dofollow/sem-dofollow.php on line 67

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-terms2posts.php on line 166

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-extract-terms.php on line 210

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 343

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-comments/sem-recent-comments.php on line 997

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-posts/sem-recent-posts.php on line 1191

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-search-reloaded/sem-search-reloaded.php on line 218

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme.php on line 135

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-captions.php on line 189

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-comments.php on line 311

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-nav-menus.php on line 487

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 586

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-sidebar.php on line 76

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-skin.php on line 248

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-utils.php on line 493

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-archives.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-calendar.php on line 150

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-cats.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-links.php on line 191

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::widgetize() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu_callback() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 74

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::catch_playlist() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::execute() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::is_skip() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 84

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::guess_permalink() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 111

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::check_hostname() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 123
Cyberpunk Review » Gunhed
Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::display_scripts() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method sem_google_analytics::display_script() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::get_options() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 95

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method sem_google_analytics::track_links() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 178

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::css() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::js() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: Parameter 2 to sem_theme_posts::display_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 182

Comments

April 10, 2006

Kybernetica.com said (trackback):

Gunhed…

[Source: cyberpunkreview.com] quoted: When you see “Adam Smithee” in the director’s spot, you know something has gone wrong - in this case, the answer is clearly the editing. Gunhed may qualify for the worst editing of all time….

April 11, 2006

David Gentle said:

Note also that the Land Rover in Virtual light is called Gunhed.

SFAM said:

Awesome! Terrific reference find David Gentle! It’s nice to know they got the name from a reputable source :)

April 13, 2006

David Gentle said:

I think it’s the other way ’round actualy

¤º¤Ã¤³¤±FXʳƮµ­…

½é¤á¤Þ¤·¤Æ¡£ÁÇŨ¤Ê¥µ¥¤¥È¤Ç¤¹¤Í¡£FX¤ò»Ï¤á¤¿¤Ð¤«¤ê¤Ç¤Þ¤À¤Þ¤ÀÊÙ¶¯Ãæ¤Ç¤¹¤¬¡¢¥Ö¥í¥°¤òΩ¤Á¾å¤²¤¿¤Î¤Ç¡¢¤è¤í¤·¤±¤ì¤Ð¸«¤ËÍè¤Æ¤¯¤À¤µ¤¤¡£…

July 19, 2006

mattness said:

thx, SFAM.
I saw a movie almost 20 years ago (with german dubbing, I missed the beginning so until now I didn’t knew what it was) - and thanks to your review (pictures) at last I tracked it down!
Yeah - all reviews on net I’ve read crush this movie.
But I love it - I was in love with Bebe for years (costumes are really great in this movie).
If you’ll treat this one as a summer movie - you’ll have plenty of fun. Just don’t analyze the plot and don’t look at bioroid -it looks like scuba diver with some seaweed from some Verne novel.

August 8, 2006

Adam Doub said:

Fun and interesting facts about movies that should have been great, but suffered from horrible budget-editing. A rather now popular Industrial band ‘Frontline Assembly’ used cuts of this film to make their video for the song ‘Mindphaser’. I think it’s hilarious that this movie works better as a music video than a movie ;)

SFAM said:

Hi Adam, is that video somewhere accessible? I’d love to see it.

Adam Doub said:

I know it’s easily downloadable from Emule, but if you want to just simply view it right now, check out -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLg70a-slao

Enjoy :)

March 16, 2007

Lukas Mariman said:

I pretty much agree with your review, especially concerning the editing severely damaging a potentially decent movie. I still like this movie, though; it has some really cool visuals in it and a definite cyberpunk atmosphere about it.

I also think this would make GREAT material for a computer game. Tactical combat, hacking, shooting stuff in a high-tech nightmare fortress piloting a tank/giant robot… How can you go wrong? ;-)

About the Gibson reference, as the other person said, indeed it was Gibson who got it from this movie, not the other way around. Although IIRC he altered the spelling to “Gunhead”, for whatever reason.

BTW, you asked about the children and where the heck they came from. The opening narration tells us how a handful of technicians and their families were stationed on the island. The children we see are apparently the only survivors. I think we see some skeletons of the others near the end of the movie.

BTW, there was a 3-part Gunhed manga published at the time; I myself got hold of parts 1 & 2 but never got the 3rd part. It was drawn by Kia Asamiya (sp?), known from series such as “Silent Möbius”, and it fleshed out the story; and explained among background stuff such as why the main character is reluctant to get in a cockpit.

March 17, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Lukas, thanks for the details on the people and the manga. I would like to get a hold of those.

March 23, 2007

Lukas Mariman said:

About the manga, you may be interested to know you can still get hold of that on Amazon.

April 19, 2007

Fluke32 said:

Hi does anyone know where I can get a torrent for this film?

June 25, 2007

nikita said:

HI HI
i think thats the movie i am lookng 4 ages…is the battle in a complex under the ground?????/ if yes, PLEASE where can i download it???my father is lookg for more then 10 year for this movie!!!PLESE!HELP and TKS xxy

@nikita: I don’t think it’s underground, although the complex probably has underground levels… As for it being available online, I can tell you I looked for it for ages. I guess it’s not known well enough for that.

Eventually I found a decent copy on Amazon. Don’t remember what I payed for it, but it was worth it. Very decent DVD release with nice looking menus and some nice anime trailers. Unfortunately, no featurettes, just a trailer.

June 26, 2007

nikita said:

@lukas:hi tks a lot for that information.to b honest i never liked that movie when i was a child but my father just loves it…even after all this time..so to make him happy i ll keep looking :-)

November 6, 2007

Curtis Blackburn said:

“and truly strange sound decisions (the Japanese actors speak Japanese
while the American actors speak English).”

You find it strange that the characters actually speak their own languages…?
What are you? German? ;)

January 5, 2008

wiredcoma said:

lol, i was just going to mention that A.M.D.A.

Does anyone know if that was fan made, or if it’s an official FLA music video?

Lukas Mariman said:

No, that was official FLA video clip. As the info on the various YouTubes (who are not a truck) says it even won an MTV Award at the time.

May 24, 2008

Axis said:

Hello!

I have the English version, and the Japanese version with subtitles for the non-English parts. It is different, like the difference between Sony and Magnavox, when it comes to robots that can mimic conducting an orchestra.

I just erased a LARGE comment detailing those differences — there’s little point because what I would like to see happen is I’d like to see this movie re-reviewed and hopefully get a higher rating.

Let me know how to get “Gunhed, the De-F*cked Version” to you, and I’ll oblige. It will have to be a DVD copy, because I’m not sure how to rip subtitles.

July 20, 2008

jmalmsten said:

Not only is the valuable currency named Tex-mexium… the kids seem to be named Seven and Eleven…

and the people using their own language and still understands each other made me think of Godzilla Final Wars… Which has similair babel-fish-weirdness… my only explanation, coming from a non-english-speaking nation, is that sometimes, to ensure foreign sales, movie-makers include enough english dialoge so that the story can be followed without reading subtitles… didn’t exactly work for me in this case, but I think that was the initial thought…

and I too think the english-release has the Alan Smithee for a reason…

I actually found out about this movie years ago when I on a whim bought a couple of Kia Asamiya manga’s at a flea-shop… One Gunhed and two Silent Möbius. Reading in the manga about the cool “new” live action movie always intrigued me. Actually watching the film makes me hope that the unbotched version is better.

And if I remember correctly, the script for this film was actually a competition-winner for an upcomming Godzilla movie at Toho…

here’s a quote from IMDB’s trivia section:

“The concept for the film came from a story contest that Toho held in 1986, which was to decide on the narrative for the next installment in the Godzilla series. Jim Bannon was the contestant who was noted for his Godzilla 2 script, which had Godzilla facing off against a giant computer, but was beat out by Shinichiro Kobayashi with his early draft for Godzilla vs. Biollante. However, Toho didn’t scrap Bannon’s second place entry, but instead had Masato Harada heavily rework the idea, removing Godzilla and other elements from the film, until they were left with the final product: the infamous Gunhed.”

so what can we say?… only in japan… only in japan ;)

September 1, 2008

Splicegraph said:

Directed by: Adam Smithee? IMDB has it listed as Alan Smithee. LOL Either way it’s a name used by a director that wants to remain uncredited for work that he/she’s embarrassed by. It is to laugh! Wonder who it was?

Splicegraph said:

Ah, just read that; Masato Harada had his name removed from the US version. He is credited on that release as Alan Smithee instead.

October 30, 2008

自閉世界 said (trackback):

ガンヘッドのファンサイト…

  ▲筆者が思いついたファンサイトのアイデア 『ガンネット』(笑) 「こんなサイ…

November 13, 2008

wushu said:

Hi all!

I actually think this movie is awesome (but I have some kind of love for low budget asian films). The GUNHED stuff vaguely remembers me of the Metal Gear.

I recently got a DVD copy, but I couldn’t find a suitable cover anywhere…

Anyone has? Could you please post a link to it?

Thanks in advance.

April 15, 2009

Otakustu said:

Interesting film this, I remember seeing the original Japanese trailer on an old Manga Video release back when I was a kid in the early 90’s and was fascinated with the film. Fast forward to 2009 and I eventually tracked down a R1 copy published by AD Vision. I have to say that I was pretty dissapointed with the nonsensical plot but the visuals are pretty good in an 80’s sort of low budget way.

June 13, 2009

Sonne said:

Have no idea hoew this masterpiece for so many years escaped my universe being the nerd i nerdedly am :-)
The scenography is awesome, all the sci - fi gimmicks computers tons of wires cables machines scrapmetal and what not are awesome.
The story though confusing to say the least = just makes me ictch to watch it over and over in happy happy joy joy childish bliss ;-) combined with the incredible cast and locations and settings makes it believable and not make you go “Hey that’s just far fetched!”
I boldly put it up there with Alien I - IV specially reminds me of I - II and Terminator, not to mention M.A.R.K. 13 a.k.a. Hardware and Deathmachine!
I strongly disagree with 4 out of 10 to me this is one of the rare sci-fi cults and definately immidiately a 10!!!
No offense guys!
Peace out to all you passionate movielovers!

August 24, 2011

Sinningflesh said:

I have owned several copies of this movie (VHS/DVD & English/Japanese) and can say that yes, there are differences between the Japanese release & the “Western” release. All I know is that what this film really needs is someone with a copy of the actual script to re-edit this movie into a proper film. Hell, perhaps Toho still has some of the removed footage stored?

One bit of trivia I remember about this from an article which got me interested in Gunhed - the article said they actually built transforming Gunhed tanks. I am inclined to believe they built transforming prop-tanks as I can’t see where else they spent the $10 million (U.S.) in the movie. There is/was a “real” Gunhed on display in Japan. Does anyone have more details on an “actual” Gunhed?

SilverFox said:

hi gunhed is so coll ^^
i have found the manga.
here can you read the manga
http://www.mangafox.com/manga/gunhed/

Axis said:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_9yJP9po2fAk/TP21jlLUDgI/AAAAAAAAA8M/2s5nMjQuCxU/s1600/GunHed.jpg

There’s a shot of the tank & the actor sitting astride it — apparently the entire thing was fiberglass over metal tubing with hydraulics for movement. Not sure if it ever made it to public display, I’ve been looking for a “making of” video, but my Japanese Kanji is weak…

January 3, 2012

regulatory scientist said:

Hello there, simply turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of other folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

March 13, 2013

Krytron said:

Adam Doub said:
“A rather now popular Industrial band ‘Frontline Assembly’ used cuts of this film to make their video for the song ‘Mindphaser’. I think it’s hilarious that this movie works better as a music video than a movie”

Their 1992 album “Tactical Neural Implant”, which “Mindphaser” was a single from, is considered by many *the* cyberpunk album - it would be really great to see it reviewed here in the cyberpunk music section (perhaps also “Hard Wired” from 1995, but definitely “TNI” first).

Leave a comment


~All Related Entries Related This~

 

<<--Back to top

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts