Cyberpunk Review » P3rsp3ctiv3 (Perspective)

May 6, 2011

P3rsp3ctiv3 (Perspective)

Movie Review By: Mr. Roboto

Year: 2011

Written and Directed by: Mehmet Can Koçak

Watch on Vimeo (NSFW Version) or YouTube (Safe Version)

Check ‘em on Facebook

Degree of Cyberpunk Visuals: High

Correlation to Cyberpunk Themes: High

Key Cast Members:

  • Hobo: Mehmet Can Koçak
  • Shell 001: Ilhan Şen
  • Cyber Pimp: Nazım Çınar
  • Redhed: Piper fawn
  • Rating: 7 out of 10

    Perspective opening

    Overview: Billed as a “Tribute to the cyberpunk genre,” Perspective gives us a rather unique… perspective… of a cyberpunked future, where VR is the drug of choice to escape the harsh reality of… well, reality. Mehmet Can Koçak shows us one person’s escape to a VR fantasy by not just following him with a camera, but with the person AS the camera as we look through the hobo’s eyes. It’s perfectly understandable if you suddenly feel like hunting shamblers, cyberdemons, or zombies with roast-turkey headgear…

    Perspective - Hobo Jacks In

    After all, it’s called “Perspective” for a reason.

    We “watch” as the hobo purchases a cartridge from a shady dealer then heads into a wreck of a building where he jacks into his Commodore 64T…

    64 Terrabyte Commodore

    64 Terabytes of RAM… on a Commodore 64… it can happen.


    … and dives into a fantasy encounter with a redhead girl. Until an apparent glitch causes more than a program crash.

     

    There once was a girl named Alice… At a running length of only ten minutes, Perspective doesn’t have much time to present in-depth themes. The one main theme is the mirror; How we see ourselves in reality and fantasy, and how the two can suddenly become fused together to cause no end of confusion. Or as Friedrich Nietzsche put it, when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you.

     

    Conclusion: Short-n-sweet. ‘Bout all I can really say. Koçak’s piece shows some potential for something more like, let’s say, a whole series of first-person movies; Short, interwoven films showing life in this future, and the viewer gets to choose what character’s eyes they would like to experience it. Might be a challenge to make, but it would a radical new way to “watch” movies.

    This post has been filed under Internet Find, Cyberpunk movies from 2010 - 2019, Amateur Film Production, Dystopic Future Movies, VR Movies, Man-machine Interface, Surreal Cyberpunk Movies by Mr. Roboto.

    Comments

    May 6, 2011

    SSJKamui said:

    Sounds interesting. I see, at the moment, you want to focus on reviewing Amateur film production. (It’s actually the third review about such a movie this month. )

    Plast said:

    Well, there isn’t any high-budget cyberpunk movies around, so he review anything there is?

    May 7, 2011

    Burnt_lombard said:

    Well the past 2 reviews were projects made by long time CPR members. Though there are a few others that pop up like “Forbidden Dream”.

    Anyway I think it’s good that there’s more of a mix of Independent, low budget and “amateur” projects with films from Warner Bros, Fox Etc. Especially since the genre has such a DYI aesthetic. Short films aren’t for everyone, but there are lot of good finds on Vimeo.

    SSJKamui said:

    I didn’t say it’s bad. I only recognized that Mr.Roboto seems to have periods where he concentrates on a certain medium. At the beginning of the year, he reviewed a huge amount of Music CDs.

    I also was surprised that he sticked to a medium for such a long time this time. Often, after 2 reviews of the same medium, he switched to another medium. (Especially after he reviewed media created by users.) So, I was a little bit surprised that he covered 3 Short movies in a short time.

    I didn’t mean that was bad and I didn’t want to criticize it, I only thought maybe, there was a kind of pattern in his reviews.

    I know, Mr.Roboto largely focuses on media which aren’t widely known and I think this is good.

    May 8, 2011

    DrPretto said:

    Interesting idea, also explored in other movies like “Strange Days”, “eXistenZ” and “Gamer”. He should also think about making a full movie. But I don’t know if they can pay that professional adult star (Piper Fawn), who is the redhead in the short.

    Mr. X said:

    Another interesting Vimeo short: http://vimeo.com/8569187

    PublicKnowledge said:

    Check out this film, if you’re reviewing / discussing independent short films with cyberpunk themes.

    www.vimeo.com/13772758

    May 12, 2011

    Dylan said:

    Interesting post. I’m a newcommer, but old cyberpunk fan and will link this blog to my own, which focuses more on the gaming aspect of cyberpunk.

    I posted a brief overview of cyberpunk and would be curious to see what you all think: http://digitalorc.blogspot.com/2011/05/cyberpunk-where-did-it-go.html

    May 16, 2011

    chlordane said:

    Glad you reviewed this, I thought it was interesting.

    June 7, 2011

    spiralofhope said:

    This was a good watch!

    June 8, 2011

    Sniper said:

    Hehehe, never neglect debugging! Which reminds me to clean my box. Great one!

    June 13, 2011

    Synapse said:

    This short I thought was much more awesome than rust valley. I thought it was a really great reveal and excellent contribution to the cyberpunk genre for such a short film. There were many more moments of “what is happening here,” some good injokes for commodore fans, good production (I liked how they actually typed in the keyboard what was being displayed on the screen!), and the ending really made you think twice about his perceived reality.

    July 6, 2011

    Dmpstrbaby said:

    The Vimeo version is also censured.

    July 7, 2011

    Dw46F said:

    Has anyone found the uncensored version?

    July 15, 2011

    Dmpstrbaby said:

    You can download the full NSFW version on VODO

    http://vodo.net/perspective

    July 16, 2011

    Burnt_lombard said:

    Or just google Piper Fawn. Since the middle section of this short was lifted from one of her countless videos.

    July 21, 2011

    Steelhaven said:

    Plast said:
    “Well, there isn’t any high-budget cyberpunk movies around, so he review anything there is?”

    AND THIS MAKES ME WANT TO CRY. A LOT.

    July 23, 2011

    bax said:

    for a while i was wondering where the monitor was, then i was like “ahhhh”

    August 6, 2011

    peqeopaul said:

    hahahaha i will wait till the gay version of the red hed game comes out, i would be conected all day with that shit on my head…..

    August 14, 2011

    chlordane said:

    Redline (2009 film)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redline_%282009_film%29

    watching it right now, check it out.

    February 11, 2012

    Muzaffer Can said:

    Nice to see a Turkish fellow messing with cyberpunk.

    July 18, 2012

    Jen said:

    I noticed from looking at the list of films you’ve seen and reviewed below that you haven’t got David Blair’s home-made “Wax or the Discovery of Television among the Bees”. This film has been uploaded in its entirety onto Youtube.com along with a stack of old Soviet Estonian cartoons some of which may take your fancy. You need to watch the David Blair flick (it’s about 80 minutes long) at least 2 - 3 times to even understand the plot and the film’s themes as the scope of the ideas is wide-ranging and full-on. You can try watching the 10-minute short fil sequel “Finding the Telepathic Cinema of Manchuria” first to get a feel for Blair’s style at http://www.animateprojects.org/films/by_date/2010/telepathic_cinema. Have fun!

    Also try watching Gabriel Salvatore’s film Italian-language sci-fi flick “Nirvana” which has a more conventional style and narrative for a cyberpunk film and stars Christopher Lambert.

    Leave a comment


    ~All Related Entries Related This~

     

    <<--Back to top

    Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts