Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 52

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/cache.php on line 389

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 537

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 556

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 653

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/classes.php on line 678

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/theme.php on line 507

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php:52) in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/Bad-Behavior/bad-behavior/screener.inc.php on line 8

Strict Standards: Non-static method mediacaster::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/mediacaster/mediacaster.php on line 1059

Strict Standards: Non-static method admin_menu::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 345

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-dofollow/sem-dofollow.php on line 67

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-terms2posts.php on line 166

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-extract-terms/sem-extract-terms.php on line 210

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::init() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 343

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-comments/sem-recent-comments.php on line 997

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-recent-posts/sem-recent-posts.php on line 1191

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-search-reloaded/sem-search-reloaded.php on line 218

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme.php on line 135

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-captions.php on line 189

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-comments.php on line 311

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-nav-menus.php on line 487

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 586

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-sidebar.php on line 76

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-skin.php on line 248

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-utils.php on line 493

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-archives.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-calendar.php on line 150

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-cats.php on line 175

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-tile-links.php on line 191

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::widgetize() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method admin_menu::ob_add_menu_callback() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-admin-menu/sem-admin-menu.php on line 74

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/post.php on line 948

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 588

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/query.php on line 588

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::catch_playlist() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::execute() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::is_skip() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 84

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::guess_permalink() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 111

Strict Standards: Non-static method YLSY_PermalinkRedirect::check_hostname() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/ylsy_permalink_redirect.php on line 123
Cyberpunk Review » Cyberpunk Movies by Decade
Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method mediacaster::display_scripts() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method sem_google_analytics::display_script() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: Non-static method sem_google_analytics::get_options() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 95

Warning: ob_start(): non-static method sem_google_analytics::track_links() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-google-analytics/sem-google-analytics.php on line 178

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::css() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method subscribe_me::js() should not be called statically in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 160

Warning: Parameter 2 to sem_theme_posts::display_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/cyberp5/cyberpunkreview.com/wp-content/plugins/sem-theme/sem-theme-posts.php on line 182

Comments

January 26, 2006

The S-man said:

Hi SFAM!

You might want to add the japanese animation “Bubblegum Crisis” to your cyberpunk movies of the 80s list (released in Japan in the 1980s/in North America in the 90s).

It was quite popular in the west, had a kick ass soundtrack, and was full of Philip K Dick and Blade Runner themes. Bubblegum Crisis also spawned off other related anime such as Bubblegum Crash and the grittier AD Police Files.

The show was later remade and repackaged in a “2040″ version but nothing beats the first one for screenplay and originality.

You can find out more here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubblegum_Crisis

P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I was actually pretty impressed by the new Appleseed but more because of the interesting (and successful, I thought) fusion of CG and original animation than it’s chopped up storyline. I love the old Appleseed of course, especially in it’s manga and graphic novel form.

SFAM said:

Hey S-man, Welcome! Nice to see you here - I like your site.

And actually, yeah, I still have a good 30-40 or move movies to get up online that I already have reviews or partial reviews for. Then there is still quite a few afterwards that I know about and have seen that I still need to write reviews for (Paranoid 1.0, for instance, which is terrific!).

Bubblegum Crisis probably fits into the partial review category, as I may want to take more screencaps - here’s what I wrote on this before:

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/vine/showpost.php?p=6464966&postcount=9

While decent, I don’t like this anime as much as others do - it seems to get cited quite a bit more as a cyberpunk anime than I think it should. There are lots better ones out there. I haven’t seen the AD Police files version yet though - is that better?

Probably the next one I’ll be getting up in the 80s groupings is Appleseed, or possibly finaly getting to some of the more of the live movies like Brazil, Robocop, etc.

But yeah, aside from the hair (for some reason, this looked very “reboot-like”), I really liked the animation of the 2004 Appleseed, and liked that it started earlier in the Manga (before hitting the city), but the storyline was a bit problematic in places.

February 3, 2006

ash72 said:

How about Equalibrium which was a decent cyberpunk movie with some nice visuals and lots of matrix style fight scenes.

Also noted that Gunhed, the 1980’s Japanese robot movie has not been listed yet. Not excellent I know, but still worth a mention maybe.

Really like this web site by the way. Keep up the excellent work.

-/\sh72-

February 4, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Ahs72, Welcome to Cyberpunkreview!

Yeah, Equalibrium is a very fun movie with nice visuals, especially considering that it was done on a 20 million dollar budget. It’s really not all that cyberpunk though from a themes standpoint. Outside of the 1984 type aspect, there really isn’t that much else there. But I agree that it definitely has the visuals, and will definitely get reviewed here eventually.

I still have a good 40 movies or more still to review (many of which I already have reviews completed - I just need to load them), including biggies like Terminator, Robocop, Matrix, etc. I’ve spent a decent amount of time on movies many haven’t heard of, but the thought is I will get to at least one a day, so within two months, I hope to have close to 100 movies up.

As for Gunhed, I haven’t seen it, much less heard about it. Thank you so much for the mention!!! It looks like its well out of production so I’ll see if I can get this on ebay.

BTW, in the next week or so, I’m going to try to put a list of movies up in the meatspace that I’ve seen and plan to review. This will help you all in recommending new ones.

EDIT: Looks like I was looking for the wrong listing - Gunhed is still available.

March 11, 2006

Jora_Dyn said:

Love the site. Lots of great films reviewed. Can’t wait to see more.

I know you probably have a lot more films to review, but just wanted to note a recent Chinese film called 2046, by Wong Kar Wai. It’s not really complete cyberpunk, but the story revolves around a writer who is writing a futuristic novel.. and so often times they switch to scenes that are actually supposed to be out of his book. So we get to see some really nice cyberpunk visuals…

http://www.sonyclassics.com/2046/main.html

well if you get a chance check it. It’s out on dvd now in the States.

SFAM said:

Hi Jora_Dyn, welcome to cyberpunkreview :)

I’ve heard terrific things about 2046, and definitely intend to check this out. However, I was going to do so more for its terrific story vice the cyberpunk visuals. I wasn’t aware it had those. I’ll definitely bump this up on my watching now. Thanks!

March 17, 2006

Case said:

I was wondering what you’d have to say about the Danish cyberpunk film SKYGGEN (in the states retitled - horribly - WEBMASTER)? I’ve never seen it myself, but I’ve often considered importing it. I imported the Italian version (longer cut, no horrid dubbing) of NIRVANA and was extremely pleased with it. Also, if you’re going to add Gilliam’s BRAZIL (which I agree is extremely cyberpunk in theme), are you also going to add films such as Jenuet and Caro’s DELICATESSEN and THE CITY OF LOST CHILDREN? Both of which I would really consider steampunk, instead (which is a genre I’d ask if you’ll ever to a sub-section on).

March 18, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Case, welcome to cyberpunkreview! :)

Now I’m totally jealous - where did you find a real copy of Nirvana??? I can’t find this anywhere - ebay never has it, for instance.

Brazil? Definitely on the drawing board (10 stars of course). Both the visuals and the themes in this movie push it towards cyberpunk. Regarding Delivatessen and City of Lost Children, I must confess I haven’t seen either, but had previously ruled them out based on comments from them. I have to revisit both to be sure.

Skygen? I need to see this again - I have this dropped from my list and I’m not sure why (I had it at one time). Thanks for bringing it up! :)

Regarding steampunk as a subgenre, I definitely agree that it is one, and have thought about buying “steampunkreview” as a domain name, but honestly, I’m pretty tapped out with cyberpunkreview.com. While I generally love steampunk movies, I really don’t see steampunk as being all that similar to cyberpunk, either thematically, visually or in tone - this probably requires an essay though.

Case said:

Hi SFAM, thanks for the welcome. ‘Glad to be here.

After that horrid edited, dubbed Region 1 disc Buena Vista released, I found my “real” copy of NIRVANA on XploitedCinema.com. I think they still have a few copies left of the Italian Cecchi Gori release of Gabriele Salvatores’ film (the company which also released his brillant DENTI a few years back). They’re used discs, but they’re in pretty good condition (no playing problems with mine, as long as you have a PAL-compatible player). Picture’s not as sharp as the remastered American disc, but…still totally worth it.

Aw, shame on you about DELICATESSEN and CITY OF LOST CHILDREN. Jeunet and Caro are geniuses…but like I said, this is where we enter a gray area. I’ve seen CITY listed as cyberpunk, but it’s only in theme, mostly, if anything at all…dealing with lost dreams and dream recovery, etc. The visuals themselves are straight steampunk if there ever were ones (but, then again, I’d say the same for Gilliam’s TWELVE MONKEYS). Ditto DELICATESSEN, despite the futuristic setting.

SKYGGEN (I refuse to call it WEBMASTER) - by no means a great film, it’s low-budget and trashy, but…100% cyberpunk in theme and visuals. Without a doubt.

Yes, I can imagine it’s tough enough running this site alone. I love steampunk, as well (ditto biopunk and, sometimes, splatterpunk), but…there are considerably less steampunk movies in existence than there are cyberpunk (in my opinion), so filling an entire website could be a chore. Books would be easier (virtually anything by Jules Verne). But, no, they’re nothing alike, really. Strangely enough, however, the ratio of good-to-bad steampunk in film far outshines the same ratio of cyberpunk films, however…so there may be less, but they’re usually of better quality. ‘Just my opinion, of course…

SFAM said:

You are a God among men Case! Nirvana will set me back 30 bucks, but hopefully it’s worth it. Thanks!!

As for 12 Monkeys, and La Jetee for that matter, to me these are as cyberpunk as you can get. I’ll have to see City of Lost Children - again, I’ve been cheaping out. I just I’ll have to dump the dough.

As for there being only a few Steampunk, I don’t see this at all. I see TONS of Steampunk movies. I would include things like Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow in that category, for instance. The number of animes alone would almost exceed the totall cyberpunk list. This may be worth a thread in the meatspace though.

Case said:

Oh, you’re quite welcome. Trust me, it’s worth every penny not to hear that annoying dub. It bumps the film up a couple rating notches alone. I own copies of both, myself (mostly just because the Buena Vista release is, as I mentioned, a cleaner print), but the Italian cut is a vastly superior film.

I’ll have to go back and take another look at TWELVE MONKEYS. I always viewed that as simply a sci-fi/time travel film (a great one, at that), but I suppose just thinking about it now some CP themes are definitely coming to mind. The higher-ups in charge of the time travel program alone run it in a very mega-corp fashion. Okay, point taken…but I’m still filing it under “CP-esque” in my head until I have another look at it.

I guess I have strict rules on what I consider true steampunk (as I do with CP), but perhaps you’re right. I never even thought of SKY CAPTAIN, but it definitely fits the mold. I should know better, too, as my second favorite film of all-time (ERASERHEAD) is far and away SP. Steven Soderbergh’s KAFKA is another SP film high up on my list.

SFAM said:

To me, Steampunk implies some futuristic technology that occurs in the past - more often than not it seems almost fantasy-like versus the science-based variety we see in cyberpunk movies. 12 Monkeys is a new-future apocalypse where man-made technology destroys society, and more man-made technology (time travel) is destroying a person in an attempt to avert disaster. You have an oppressive, controlling oligarchy, a man overtaken by events, invasive technology, massive cyberpunk visuals, etc. And DEFINITELY see La Jetee if you haven’t already.

July 6, 2006

mattness said:

Jora_Dyn mentioned about 2046. I love other Wong Kar Wai movie - Chungking Express ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0109424/ ).

Great footage, almost whole movie is set during the night. For me, very Blade Runnerish. IMHO lovers in cyberpunk movies would act like in Chungking Express.

July 7, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Mattness, I REALLY have to watch 2046 - I’ve heard so much about this movie. I’ve heard ChungKing Express was great too, but never heard a cyberpunk slant. I’ll check that out too.

July 11, 2006

ryans said:

Dont 4 get about “Demoliton Man”

July 16, 2006

Chris Smith said:

Say, you ought to also mention the TV mini-series by Oliver Stone, Wild Palms.

I just learned that there was an actual technology company that was possibly named after the Mimecom company in Wild Palms:

http://www.naturalsearchblog.com/archives/2006/07/14/towards-a-new-cyberpunk-reality/

SFAM said:

Hi Chris, I have a full listing of the cyberpunk shows and movies in the meatspace, that includes the ones I haven’t gotten to reviewing yet. The “Cyberpunk Movies by Decade” only includes those which have been reviewed so far. You’ll notice that many big name ones are still missing here (Gattaca, Matrix Revolutions, etc.).

I’m definitely aware of Wild Palms, and will try to get this reviewed soon. BTW, great link. :)

July 26, 2006

Isamu242 said:

No Max Headroom film review? I speak of the British film, not the american series.

SFAM said:

Hi Isamu242, welcome to cyberpunkreview :)

And yeah, I haven’t reviewed all popular cyberpunk movies yet - many are still outstanding. I could have reviewed all the popular ones first, but then that would leave the rest sort of unbalanced. But, um, I didn’t know that the British version of this was any different. I just checked on IM - is the British version a combination of episodes or is it completely different?

August 3, 2006

Adam Doub said:

There is an hour and a half long british film that started the Max Headroom Show TV series and the ever popular Max Headroom : 20 Minutes Into the Future that was aired in America . The film covers basically everything the first episode of 20 Minutes Into the Future (American TV series) does, except with a higher budget, a better cast, and a slightly different story (Oh, and it’s still including Mathew Frewer in the cast, of course) The American TV series is absolutley inferior to the original british film. Locating a copy of the original british film may prove to be nearly impossible, so I suggest torrents… perhaps someone should complain or spend that tax check next year and buy the rights ;)

SFAM said:

Torrents it is then. Hopefully I can find it there. :)

August 22, 2006

Hugo said:

I wonder if ‘Millenium’ could be considered cyberpunk…

Although it’s primarily a time-travel movie set in the late 1980s (and featuring Kris Kristofferson and Cheryl Ladd - how could this film NOT be good? :P), it does feature a dyspodic future where the air is toxic to birds, the entire population of the Earth is infertile and features a few cybernetically-enhanced people (though never mentioned, we see a few of them).

The film’s about people from the future abducting people off doomed airliners before they crash to help rebuild their population. Cheesy B-grade, but a lot of fun.

August 23, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Hugo, someone else mentioned this as well. I was never really able to keep up with that show. It seemed like a shallow knock-off of Xfiles the few times I saw it. Does anyone else have an opinion on Mellenium?

September 17, 2006

selftitled said:

Oi!, if punks still exclaim this, where is Westworld? A robotic amusement park, designed by computers, which, on one arbitrary day, kills all of the inhabitants. This is not included, yet Alien and Dark City are? I do not see how science fiction immediately turns into cyberpunk.

September 19, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Selftitled (who gave you that name, BTW?), Westworld is certainly an android movie but it doesn’t really come across as cyberpunk. It takes place in the present, has no real futuristic setting, doesn’t have negative technology damaging society (just those people in an amusement part), etc. It’s a terrific movie though!

September 20, 2006

Fraud said:

Here’s an anime for ya………
Dead Leaves!

Reviewing would be great for me as well as other anime cyberpunk fans.

September 21, 2006

selftitled said:

Westworld is an example, a sample of society. If robots are so commonplace and autotomous to exist for days on their own in an envoirnment. It is also not foriegn for the characters to contemplate sex with such toys. The programers understand it and it seems that this is a primary attraction for the park. This could be a sign of sexual frustration with perfect machanical dolls at their work place, which are smooth all over. It forshadows a comming falling out.
I do not recall a date ever being mentioned in Testuo.
You mention the future, when Dark City does not take place in it. Dark City may even take place in the past, with their antique cars. The doctor looked as if he was there from the start, when he was forced to erase his own memories. John (Rufus) could have just been second generation.
At the very least, technology is in the forefront of Westworld; it is a footnote for Alien. The bio-android added to the film, but was not neccessary. He could have been human. A human would have less of an impact and be less creepy, but it still could have been a human role.
I also noticed your missing Galaxy Express 999. There were two movies as an extention of the series. Maybe one should look into that.

September 24, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Selftitled. I guess we disagree on this. There are certainly many other sites on the internet that has this and other movies (like Mad Max for instance) listed as cyberpunk. I have to have some rationale for inclusion or removal - to make this call, I am going with what I have in the “What is Cyberpunk” list. This is what I use for my determination. In watching this movie, there is no corporate control of society - we do have a technology gone awry, but again, its done for random reasons in a small park setting. And technology is not in the forefront, it is merely a device to get a monster movie going - only this time the monster is an android. There are no cyberpunk visuals whatsoever - everything is straight 70s polyester - nor are there any interesting themes. All we really have is an android gone wild. If Westworld counts, then so does literally every other android movie.

Dark City has detailed invasion (very negative impact) of technology on humanity - memories are changed in people every night. The cyberpunk visuals are there in spades, as is something akin to a corporate control of society. The story has a complete focus on an underground resistance. Whether we can define a time for Dark City or not, it clearly belongs as a cyberpunk movie.

October 2, 2006

dawn said:

you totally forgot the movie REPO MAN

nadim said:

I agree with another commentator in that I am surprised that you have not included Equilibrium (which I thought was pretty damn good). Would also consider Gattaca to fall within the genre and possibly Donnie Darko. More importantly have you seen any of the Korean new wave of films such as 2046 or Oldboy which are absolutely brilliant. Like the site though so apologies if I seem hyper critical

October 4, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi Nadim, as I mention above, the total list of cyberpunk movies is in a thread in the meatspace forum. Equilibrium is certainly on the list. The list above is just the movies that have been reviewed so far. There are still MANY I need to get to. Unfortunately, September has turned out to be a wash for me as far as that concerns…hopefully October will be better.

SFAM said:

Dawn - Make a case for Repo Man. I love the movie, but I’m not seeing “Cyberpunk” there. Punk? Definitely, but where’s the cyber?

October 5, 2006

R-R said:

You really must take a look at “Kin Dza Dza”…
A very interesting “cyberpunk” movie of the soviet era :-)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0091341/

October 19, 2006

Adam Doub said:

The Millenium film that was mentioned waaay far above is not to be confused with the Chris Carter X-files spinoff series ‘Millenium’ starring Lance Henrickson as TVs best Deadzone ripoff. The film mentioned is a scif-fi time travel flick that did horrible in the box office and tried it’s best to make its money through the new market (at the time) of video rental. It was a fairly entertaining, though as stated above, a sometime cheeeesey scifi flick.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0097883/

Adam Doub said:

Oh hey, what about Code 46? It kind of a 2003 THX-1138 meets Gattaca, directed by the brilliant director Michael Winterbottom of 24 Hour Party People fame.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0345061/

November 3, 2006

anonymous said:

I just thought i would point out, V for Vendetta is pretty cyberpunk, didn’t see it on the list. Also, you might want to rethink some of these movies - not really cyberpunk. War Games? Robocop? Terminator? Bicentennial man??

November 6, 2006

Blob! said:

Isnt “Universal Sodier” a cyberpunk movie??

November 9, 2006

wtf... said:

How can you miss movies like Equilibrium dude?????!!! Stop watching kiddy-movies (eg. cartoons)

November 11, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi WTF, For the 40th time, I haven’t “missed” these movies, I just haven’t reviewed them yet.

December 12, 2006

Altercator said:

Would you consider reviewing Serenity or Firefly by Joss Whedon on your site?

December 27, 2006

Alfredo said:

Your site rocks man! Definitely put a review up for “The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai: Across The 8Th Dimension” whenever you can buy some time. Again, amazing site, keep up the awesome work spreading the word of this sacred culture! You’re amazing, and the effort put in is much appreciated!

January 8, 2007

darrenjseeley said:

I’d consider “Scanners” (1981) since there is a scene where Cameron Vale (Stephen Lack) uses his mind to hack in an old computer system over the phone lines.

January 23, 2007

realgoneman said:

Pretty decent Cyberpunk Movies list; even had some titles I was unfamiliar with and will now seek out. But I’m surprised that “Renaissance 2054″ is omitted from list

January 24, 2007

Chylde Orchid said:

“Prayer of the Rollerboys” 1996 ish, Corey Haim in a post- Apocalyptic USA that’s all but been carved up by the nations we’re in debt to, A gang/Business of Teeneged Inline Skaters rule the streets and distribute their own designer drug.

January 26, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi realgoneman, the list above is not all inclusive…yet. It only includes those which I’ve reviewed so far, so there are a number of clear cyberpunk movies that aren’t there yet. That said, I just got done reviewing Renaissance so…:)

Hi Chylde Orchid, I haven’t heard of Prayer of the Rollerboys, but I’ll look into it.

February 1, 2007

Angry said:

Consider “Cold Lazarus”

February 5, 2007

Ynk said:

Excellent site!

If you would like more tips for movies, you could try and get a hold of Lies Inc. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0459443/ (if you don’t own it already…)

SFAM said:

Awesome Ynk! I’ve never heard of this movie, but this definitely looks cyberpunk. Thanks!

BTW, do you know a place I can pick this up at. Lies, Inc. as a DVD doesn’t even show up on Ebay.

Ynk said:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0459443/board/nest/61497160

Check out those links. Unfortunatly it is no longer in print, so it might be hard to find.

March 6, 2007

Curved Mind.com said (pingback):

[…] link Bookmark to: (Be the first to rate this article!)  Loading … By cmind, March 5, 2007. […]

March 12, 2007

mir said:

And what about Tarkovsky’s Stalker?

SFAM said:

Hi Mir, the list above is only the films that have currently been reviewed. Stalker is definitely on my list.

April 5, 2007

CyberPunk Lover said:

Hello!
I think a review of “Jin-Roh”,a Japanese Anime,would be good!

SFAM said:

Hi Cyberpunk Lover, I do like Jin-Roh a lot and own it, but am not sure this should be considered cyberpunk. Going to the “What is cyberpunk” page, could you give me a reason for including it?

May 15, 2007

Howard Scott said:

Hi. I left a comment a while ago but it doesn’t appear to be here. What about the film “Until The End Of The World” by Wim Wenders? I consider it to be a Cyberpunk classic but I don’t see it on your list? Thanks. Howard

May 30, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Howard, yes, I consider this cyberpunk as well. I still need to review it. The only movies that show above are those I’ve already reviewed. I have a larger list in the forums which I need to transfer to the Wiki that has all those I identified.

July 3, 2007

josh said:

even though it’s not pure cyberpunk (only focusing on the low life aspect) you should consider adding a review for district b-13, as it deals with quite some familiar cyberpunk issues.

anyway it’s just an awesome movie, which can be partly considered cyberpunk. even though there is no digital reality, the picture of an extreme multi class society is one of the main aspect of cyberpunk.

July 20, 2007

Mihaly said:

Has anyone seen the Albert Pyun movie Nemesis? I would think that would almost be an completely cyberpunk themed movie.

July 24, 2007

SFAM said:

Mihaly, take a look at the list above - you’ll see Nemesis listed.

July 27, 2007

Jason said:

I am new to this and was wondering if 1987’s The Running Man (Arnold Schwarzenegger) fits in the cyberpunk category.

August 1, 2007

John said:

Great site! Since discovering this page I have rented and watched many of the films you have listed here that I had never even heard of. I enjoy reading the reviews, and appreciate the time put into each one.

I don’t mean to turn the comments section into a “What about xxxx movie?” section, but I just watched “Cyber Wars” and I think you might enjoy it. It matches the genre themes and visuals, and even has a spot of decent action. Even though the movie as a whole didn’t make a huge impression it was worth watching if you’re a cyberpunk fan.

August 10, 2007

ONI said:

hi SFAM. i didnt really know how else to get in contact with you so i’d figure i’d leave a comment. i think youre running a great site here with loads of excellent info on all things cyberpunk. i just recently discovered this site a few weeks ago and i’ve been visiting frequently since then. i was always very intrigued by the world of cyberpunk but never knew how to indulge myself in it until i found this site. i just wanted to thank you for making a difference in my life and i hope you continue to inspire.
ONI

“what is it that constitutes the quality of reality?” - the twilight zone

August 14, 2007

Herbert West Reanimator said:

Hard to say if it qualifies for Cyberpunk, but I would suggest Retroactive http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117468/
A really good take on what consequences a change in the timeline can have. This is featuring a really different Belushi, not funny but rather real bad.
Pefect Blue (Anime, there is a also live version but not on DVD) is real good in exploring the dangers of cyberstalking.

Pulse 2006, based on jap. Movie Kario,which I plan to see soon and Paranoia 1.0 (One point Oh) are also worth watching, imho.
Both featuring hacking and both having a nice athmosphere.
Plus both feature actors I like: Kristin Bell in Pulse and Udo Kier in Paranoia 1.0.

I really like this side, found through a search for Cassandra Complex Lyrics (What turns you on?) :-)))
Great work. After reading the review on this side I finally decided to buy I.K.U. for me and a friend. The friend was the one who suggested Demonlover (which is really good, btw. a real Movie about Anime/Sex/Sellout and little bit of Virtual Reality, OST has Sonic Youth).

Oh and I 2nd G.U.N.H.E.D., I bought the rather expensive jap. spec. Edt. (with OST) and the US-DVD !
Brenda Bakke is simply gorgeous!
This one of my guilty pleasures (beside also Hackers and The Net which I did not see mentioned).

Herbert West Reanimator said:

fsck what happened why is my comment empty.
Again:
Hard to say if it qualifies for Cyberpunk, but I would suggest Retroactive http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117468/
A really good take on what consequences a change in the timeline can have. This is featuring a really different Belushi, not funny but rather real bad.
Pefect Blue (Anime, there is a also live version but not on DVD) is real good in exploring the dangers of cyberstalking.

Pulse 2006, based on jap. Movie Kario,which I plan to see soon and Paranoia 1.0 (One point Oh) are also worth watching, imho.
Both featuring hacking and both having a nice athmosphere.
Plus both feature actors I like: Kristin Bell in Pulse and Udo Kier in Paranoia 1.0.

I really like this side, found through a search for Cassandra Complex Lyrics (What turns you on?) :-)))
Great work. After reading the review on this side I finally decided to buy I.K.U. for me and a friend. The friend was the one who suggested Demonlover (which is really good, btw. a real Movie about Anime/Sex/Sellout and little bit of Virtual Reality, OST has Sonic Youth).

Oh and I 2nd G.U.N.H.E.D., I bought the rather expensive jap. spec. Edt. (with OST) and the US-DVD !
Brenda Bakke is simply gorgeous!
This one of my guilty pleasures (beside also Hackers and The Net which I did not see mentioned).

All coming from female imagination - the daydreaming days of a daydream nation - Sonic Youth

Herbert West Reanimator said:

3d try, 3d browser.
Hard to say if it qualifies for Cyberpunk, but I would suggest
Retroactive
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117468/

A really good take on what consequences a change in the timeline can have. This is featuring a really different Belushi, not funny but rather real bad.

Pefect Blue (Anime, there is a also live version but not on DVD) is real good in exploring the dangers of cyberstalking.

Pulse 2006, based on jap. Movie Kario,which I plan to see soon and Paranoia 1.0 (One point O) are also worth watching, imho, and I see that only Paranioa is mentioned here.
Both featuring hacking and both having a nice athmosphere.
Plus both feature actors I like: Kristin Bell in Pulse and Udo Kier in Paranoia 1.0.

I really like this side, found through a search for Cassandra Complex Lyrics (What turns you on?) :-)))
Great work. After reading the review on this side I finally decided to buy I.K.U. for me and a friend. The friend was the one who suggested Demonlover (which is really good, btw. a real Movie about Anime/Sex/Sellout and little bit of Virtual Reality, OST has Sonic Youth).

Oh and I 2nd G.U.N.H.E.D., I bought the rather expensive jap. spec. Edt. (with OST) and the US-DVD !
Brenda Bakke is simply gorgeous!
This one of my guilty pleasures (beside also Hackers and The Net which I did not see mentioned).
— HWR
All coming from female imagination - the daydreaming days in a daydream nation (Sonic Youth)

Mr. Roboto said:

Hello, John. Welcome to Cyberpunk Review! Sorry about the late response, we’ve been busy checking movies and all that.

We do have a Cyber Wars, listed by its international name “Avatar.”

August 21, 2007

fisk0 said:

This post might contain some spoilers about Demon seed.

Am I the only one who would possibly consider “Demon Seed” (1977) a somewhat cyberpunky movie? It got networked computers, “smart houses” and an HAL kind of AI that becomes self-aware and discoverss that mankind is destroying the enviroment of the planet and decides that it must create a human child (or is it a cyborg, I don’t remember if the movie was clear about that?) that would take the role of a messiah to lead mankind onto the right path … by capturing the AI creator’s wife and raping her.

Sorry if I am spoiling too much, but I don’t know how else to describe this film.

August 25, 2007

ro355ck said:

m596k

September 13, 2007

queruba5 said:

Hi SFAM, I just feel miss of Cowboy Bebop in your list of review, and I think so “Flashback - A quest for Identidy” could be an Cyberpunk game.

September 25, 2007

Jim said:

You might want to take a look at “Fortress” from 1993 when you get a chance.

October 16, 2007

Dave Shire said:

Hey SFAM, ever heard of the flick “Ghost in the Machine”? It’s a 90s horror movie where a serial killer gets trapped in a city’s electrical grid after he dies in a cat-scanner, and continues killing people with his new ability to possess machinery. Some awesome scenes include the killer strolling around inside a virtual reality game circa 1993 and messing with kids, or, better yet, killing a man with his microwave!

Maybe this movie really isn’t TERRIBLY cyberpunk in its themes, but I’d say it is more in adherence to the themes than Clockwork Orange, which got a spot here. Unfortunately it’s not as good of a movie as Clockwork Orange. Check it out if you wish.

November 6, 2007

monkey said:

Good to see we’re keeping Lawnmower Man I & II off this list!

November 12, 2007

Huhn said:

oh my dear this movie is called E Q U I L I B R I UM and not equalibrium, and this land where it acts is called líbria, not liberia.

the word equilibrium is latin and means imbalance, as the word libria means balance.

go for it you big bad real cyberpunks !

..sorry for gettin my panties in a twist :D

November 20, 2007

s.sithisip said:

great list. i’m sure you’re backlogged with movies to watch/review/consider adding to your page, thought i’d mention two flicks by vincenzo natali; i’d put them on the borderline of cyberpunk— definitely cyber, i dunno about the punk part: cube, http://imdb.com/title/tt0123755/ and cypher: http://imdb.com/title/tt0284978/

keep up the good work

November 28, 2007

green plastic said:

hi, it’s just an idea that popped into my mind. would you like to comment or make short reviews on videos that relate to this theme? http://youtube.com/watch?v=8DWXDb5hGpU
I’m sure you know lots more and it would be great if we could share some of our favs

January 4, 2008

Honza said:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sexmission perhaps this movie would be worth to review :) Not a porn, as name would suggest.

January 25, 2008

Ross Winn said:

circuitry Man
Bubblegum Crisis
Max Headroom

February 9, 2008

markh said:

I’m surprised there’s no review for the 1995 French film City of Lost Children. Some serious cyberpunk in this one. Check it out if you haven’t already.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_of_lost_children

February 20, 2008

Korgull_x said:

What about the Cyberpunk and scifi pioneer TV series “Doctor Who”? I see no mention in the whole site at all…
There have been numerous episodes of cyberpunk theming that led the way for the 80ies cult cyberpunk movies such as Blade runner, and even later films like Equilibrium and Matrix. Also, it influenced many characters and technologies in the “Warhammer 40000″ scifi wargame.

Example episodes are: Robot, Genesis of the Daleks, The Sunmakers, The Deadly Assassin, and generally all Cybermen and Dalek themed episode.

Also the “Cyber” term as we use it, was introduced in the Doctor Who series in 1966 (yes, 1966! beat that!) on the first Cyborgs ever shown on TV, the Cybermen.
(source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyber-#History)

April 7, 2008

Adam Daub said:

How about a review on Meatball Machine? It’s like a more-recent more-over-the-top version of Tetsuo. Hah.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1WsJRHKiGg

April 29, 2008

paul belodeau said:

just a fan msg to say GREAT SITE! - thanx!

i discovered some films on your list i have not seen.
curious, why no mention of:
MAX HEADROOM, WILD PALMS, LOGAN’S RUN (for visuals anyway)

btw- what was that bizarre lo-budget series on MTV (i think) that
seemed like Max Headroom spin-off? lots of TV sets in the dystopic streets and some skateboard kid was the lead i think. i think it was on around same time as Aeon Flux. anybody know?

May 2, 2008

Rocks said:

It may sound like an odd suggestion but surely Stepford Wives from 2000’s, you have to think about it but it has more cyberpunk elements than some of the films on the list, and some others have suggested such as Vforvendetta (not cyberpunk)

May 8, 2008

Justinjan said:

What about Douglas Trumbull’s Brainstorm and the indipendent documentary Cyberpunk Educator?

May 10, 2008

73N5H1 said:

just thought you might want to add the anime Mezzo Forte and the film Narcosys.

73N5H1 said:

and wow, roadwarrior isn’t on the list?

May 12, 2008

hball said:

as much as I love road warrior, it just isn’t cyberpunk IMHO. There’s not technology - in fact it’s almost the anti-cyberpunk because it’s post apocalyptic.

May 16, 2008

Des said:

Just got hold of Stalker (Tarkovsky), finally.
More reviews are needed and as mentioned before, have a go at this beauty!

73N5H1 said:

I suppose I can see your point there, but Mezzo Forte definitely needs to be added… definitely my fav anime in the genre.

May 18, 2008

Adam Daub said:

paul belodeau, I think you might be thinking of the short lived series called “Dead at 21″

http://www.tv.com/dead-at-21/show/331/summary.html

May 20, 2008

INDY said:

Why is the Robert Downey Jr. starrer IRON MAN not included here? IRON MAN is cyberpunk. Right?

May 21, 2008

Adam Daub said:

IRON MAN as cyberpunk? Are you kidding me? It’s a guy in a robot suit of armor…
Just because something has technology in it, that does not make it cyberpunk.

If you go by that rule then Starwars should be posted because Luke and has a robotic hand, there are droids that have personalities, oh and Darth Vader (NoooOoOOoOOOoooOO)
*rolls eyes*

Adam Daub said:

WOW, I’m shocked someone here mentioned Tarkovsky!

Stalker is in fact very proto-cyberpunk. :)

July 1, 2008

Zombiefrank said:

Hey great site, just got my hands on a copy of Hardware, after watching almost 15yrs and falling in love with it. There is one film I noticed that was missing, “lien from LA”, yes it is a Pyun directed Kathy Ireland vehicle, but once the story gets to the lost city, we treated to a decent cyberpunk world.

September 6, 2008

jeff said:

hey! sfam ive noted the movie outland by sean connery (1981) its not in the list, maybe you could check it out i believe that it has a lot of cyberpunk visuals and theme is obviously cyberpunk (at least the background used for plot to develop on- corporativism, synthetic drugs, cop from the future, etc)

September 7, 2008

adam said:

Adding

Alphaville

and Until the End of the World

is much needed

September 8, 2008

r said:

Dont consider most of these movies posted here as cyberpunk. Best in my book, and most influential will stay - Ghost in the shell, Neuromancer and Blade runner. For me, the true value of cyberpunk is in portrayal of man-machine binary/brain cycles. And i just hope this happens one day so i can experience it, very interesting question.

September 18, 2008

Rafael magalhães said:

zerocooll

October 28, 2008

d_art said:

Demolition Man could probably be there..

November 10, 2008

suke said:

hi…first of all I think your site Is great you really give good reviews of those movies…second weel I suggest some movies that I personally consider From the cyberpunk culture

demolition man
equilibrium
mad max
and maybe 1984 based on george orwell’s book

again congrats for your website its great

suke said:

oops sorry about equilibrium I din’t saw it hahaha well the other tree are my suggests haha

November 21, 2008

Michael said:

I searched one of the most forgotten films in months until I found it. “Programmed to Kill (1987)” is the action and science fiction film that I saw once a several years ago about a beautiful female Middle Eastern terrorist who became a dangerous and armed cyborg with the brain implant, developed by CIA or secret government. She was programmed to kill any terrorist in the Middle East. She was an unstoppable killer. After completing the mission, The brain implant went wrong. She remembered her memories, and she wanted a revenge against any CIA/government agent.

Damn… “Programmed to Kill” is not in the list of DVD releases. It was originally VHS, but VHS is totally history.

Cyberpunk never dies… Cyberpunk revolution rocks!

December 17, 2008

chvnx said:

Generation X was a made for TV movie about the Marvel Comics team modeled after The X Men. This movie fits the criteria for a Cyberpunk film, in my opinion. It has the visuals and the bad guy is funded by the Government.

January 11, 2009

TUKY said:

anyone can see “abre los ojos” the spain movie of Alejandro Amenábar (1997)
for this movie was created a remake “vanilla sky”

but the original contains information about the free your mind , have a matrix-style concepts.

Please review this movie
greetings from Costa Rica

February 2, 2009

bleuge - 76 tunguskas por minuto said (pingback):

[…] Avalon, THX 1138 (es mágica esta), Battle Angel, Hardware, Children of Men . Y una lista muy, muy amplia aquí. Aún así seguro que se quedan mil buenas atrás. Qué más […]

March 26, 2009

Osty said:

Your list of Cyberpunk movies is missing one of my personal favorites; “Pandora Machine”. 2004 Low budget Indi but nicely twisted with robots that mingle with humans and don’t all realize they are robots.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0415198/

April 3, 2009

Case said:

A couple right out of left field that have elements (of sorts) of the genre.

1: City of Lost Children - the sheer darkness of it and the ultra retro-style equipment doing advanced shit.

2: Another Cronenberg mind-fuck - The Naked Lunch based on the novel of drug-supremo William S. Burroughs. This features Cronenberg’s obsession with the Human-mechanical interface ala eXistence and Videodrome (and to a lesser extent, Crash)

LMXV said:

Is there a page where I can see which new reviews are posted? Only the main page is RSS-able.

May 4, 2009

M0GL13 said:

Hi, i loved the list
Could i recommend Guyver?
there are not that many of cyborgs BUT it creates a nice cyberpunk atmosphere and cyberpunk message. :)

May 5, 2009

a said:

This is a great site! I also want to suggest the movie Repo! The Genetic Opera, though its also Bio-Punk, there are cyberpunk elements to it as well as a tiny tiny bit of steampunk.

May 6, 2009

fisk0 said:

here are a couple of films I think are missing from your list.
Prototype X29A (from 1992 I think), a low budget film, somewhat similar to Hardware both in visual style and atmosphere. A bit more post-apocalyptic than cyberpunk, but there are some cyberpunk themes to it, with a crippled guy who is offered a chance with a new life by having his mind transferred to a prototype cyborg thing left in an old pre-war laboratory. The cyborg suite looks horrible, and the pacing in the film could be better, but in my opinion it’s got enough atmosphere and great visuals to be good anyway.

I’d also like to mention the 1995 film Cyberjack. It is basically a Die Hard ripoff in a somewhat cyberpunky setting, with terrorists taking hostage in a computer company office building where they have developed some kind of living computer virus. There’s a lot of techno babble and they don’t get into much debate over how the virus would work and what it’s apparent intelligence would mean.
It’s got some hilarious moments with a Robocop (or rather, Deus Ex II) style police robot hovercraft thing, but apart from the cyberpunk visuals it hasn’t got much in the way of cyberpunk philosophy or stuff like that. Well worth seeing anyway, and it’s of course not the only cyberpunky film lacking any kind of philosophical transhumanist debate.
It is rather fun to see how Cyberjack ripped off Die Hard, and then how Die Hard 4 has a rather similiar plot to the one in Cyberjack (though of course, much better done in all ways possible).

May 16, 2009

Tankeyes said:

Thank you for this great resource, really useful.

I have a suggestion for your site - I would appreciate a quick cyberpunk rating for each film, to give (at a glace) an idea of how closely the movie ties in to the cyberpunk ethos and aesthetic. Some films fully embrace many of the themes in your excellent list, while others do nothing more than borrow one for background flavour. Meaning diffusion is the enemy!

Keep hacking reality :)

May 31, 2009

punk clash said:

what about dr. strangelove - kubrick? or modern times - chaplin?
great web!!

July 2, 2009

Dione Rangel Pinheiro said:

Esses filmes falam realmente da realidade do que está acontencendo !!!!

July 12, 2009

Wil said:

(I posted incorrectly in another section earlier)
Great work with this site! Thanks for defining what cyberpunk is. I always thought that it had to do with hackers and computers but it’s much more than that. I always wanted to see more movies like this but don’t know how to grasp the genre. I now know what genre of film I like best and that list of movies really help. There are already a number of movies that I have watched on that list and I have lots more watching to do! I just finished The Thirteenth Floor and it was awesome. Kindda like the Matrix but without the philosophic side to it. Would Fight Club not be considered cyberpunk? It’s not exactly the future of dystopia but the ending kindda lead in that direction. It’s an underground organization that is rising up against the corporation so it’s a bit relevant.

August 16, 2009

norinrad said:

Love your website. I visit regularly. Unfortunately my local video store does not stock most of the movies you review. I’ll have to seek them out and buy them! I saw Babylon AD last night. I did not have high expectations for the movie but was glad I watched it. Lots of Cyberpunk visuals and a decent plot. Really reminded me of the Cyberpunk 2020 RPG.

August 26, 2009

Truth_Seeker said:

That’s a great list of movies. Here is one suggestion from me - “Demolition Man” (I think it could be classified as cyberpunk).

Truth_Seeker said:

It would be great if there was a review for “Charlie Jade” - that’s an amazing TV show.

September 7, 2009

hebll said:

Hey, I think it’d be really cool if all the movies per genre were sorted by reviewer and/or comment score. I’m clicking them all and there’s a lot of rotten apples among the good ones!

September 9, 2009

Truth_Seeker said:

Two more suggestions from me:

1.Sci-Fi Channel’s “Android Apocalypse” - it’s a nice medium budget television movie.

2.”Resident Evil” - despite the fact that it’s a zombie movie, it has a lot of cyberpunk themes in it - an evil corporation, genetic experiments in a high tech facility, memory removal and so on.

September 11, 2009

Ludwig said:

There’s a a Hungarian movie, called “Meteo” which is a low-budget cyberpunk movie. We consider it as the Hungarian Blade runner. It’s style and visuals are really punkish, features dresses which a cyberpunk would easilly wear. It lacks high-tech, and the programmer works with a very old CPU. It is an artistic film, it’s story hides in the background, but is really awesome. If I can find a downloadable version, I’ll post it. Until than, here’s an imdb link:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0097875/

Some pics:
http://www.port.hu/pls/me/media.print_media_popup?i_area_id=6&i_object_id=1644&i_is_picture=4&i_is_video=15&i_org_id=&i_media_id=189022

There’s also a German movie, called “23 - Nichts ist so wie es scheint” (23 - Nothing is what it seems) which is based on a true story about a hacker legend, Karl Koch. It involves dystopic themes because of espionage by the Soviet Union, and because the main character believes in the consoiracy theory that the Illuminati rules the world - based on Robert Anton Wilson’s book. Illusion and reality seems to collide as the paranoia rises and the guys take more and more drugs. It’s not a science fiction genre movie, but I think that if Pi and Hackers can be categorized as cp movies, than it’s worth to list it at least.
You can watch it on YouTube in German:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBHB8xd11gw

Or read about it on the Wikipedia:
http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/23_%E2%80%93_Nichts_ist_so_wie_es_scheint

September 18, 2009

THE SHAPE said:

have you not seen GANTZ??????

October 27, 2009

LiveFastDiarrhea said:

Hello cyber-friends,

what do you think about adding the new french movie “Eden Log” to the list? Imho it fits quiet well and I’d really recommend that movie.

November 6, 2009

fsyrhiz said:

hello i believe that you add the film sleep dealer, your site its very interesting thanks

November 22, 2009

Bax said:

yeah, no love for Demolition Man?

December 1, 2009

Truth_Seeker said:

An announcement to all the fans of “Screamers” - there is a 2009 sequel called “Screamers 2: The Hunting”. I’ve just seen it. It’s not bad for a low budget movie and there are plenty of well done CGI screamers.

December 8, 2009

soul_trip said:

wow there are some great flicks up here. Someone may have mentioned this, What about “Brainscan” that was one of my absolute favs in the early 90s, I must have seen it 10 times in the theater.

December 25, 2009

zeitzeuge said:

Heyho! You forget “Trancers”, “Trancers 2″ and “Trancers 3″!!
Plot: Blade Runner meets Terminator meet Sam Spade…

Merry Christmas!

January 31, 2010

L30 B1uR said:

How do you not have “Alphaville” listed? First real cyberpunk film ever.

thedude5000 said:

I really wanna do a review of The Running Man. It’s definitely cyberpunk. If I did write one, where should I submit it? The forum?

February 2, 2010

Vampire_Shounen said:

I would add Repo! THe genetic opera to the list…

February 4, 2010

spaceBass said:

I think maybe I should post a review for Pandorum…

February 17, 2010

bryan said:

You should review “new rose hotel” starring christopher walken and willem defoe based on a story written by none other than william gibson!

Stormtrooper Of Death said:

Bryan, New Rose Hotel is also reviews on Cyberpunkreview.com

here’s the link:

http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/?s=new+rose+hotel

and it didnt get good points.

March 1, 2010

MrPutney said:

What about the movie “Disclosure”, with Michael Douglas. In my opinion, it has one of the best examples of VR ever portrayed in a movie. Not really cyberpunk, but a great example of realistic vision for the corporate world. That was back in 1996 too!

March 25, 2010

lynucs said:

District 9, without a doubt.

Yuri said:

Where’s serenity?

March 28, 2010

-NOVICE- said:

This list is missing something… Rollerball (1975) I would not mind seeing a review on this classic film.

April 2, 2010

caroline said:

I think you should put a review of the film Repo! The Genetic Opera as a cyberpunk film. Not that his story is 100% focused on cyberpunk, but it is a movie you should you place a review

April 9, 2010

Ghost Signal said:

No ‘John Carpenter’s They Live’?

It’s a little low on the cyberpunk, but overall, I’d say it fits.

April 17, 2010

Valentine Bonny said:

great list, thanks
I would add Eden Log. A very good french movie.
Blame anime
I hope to see one day an adaptation movie of neuromancer(william gibson).

April 26, 2010

jjw said:

I’ve seen 2 russian CP movies:
Nirwana – this is story about drugs, love, death. A drugs kill, a love kill. Drug-dealer is like an angel, which gives freedom worried souls. Petersburg is dark, full of wet walls, dirty, ugly, loneliness. Without technology, and weapons.

Stalker (Russian: Сталкер) movies from 1979 – well, I didn’t read this novel yeat (roadside picnic). Is very hard movie to see, and harder to understand. A colours, views, sounds and music build atmposphere which is stifing for observer. Some of the parts are black-white, and I have feeling, that for example Half-life 2 designers use some of visual idea when build game levels (oh yea).

May 18, 2010

xenojaker said:

just watched “Moon” a 2009 film that i think touches on cyberpunk a bit… technology and what it means to humans, and how it affects what it means to be human, and control of information and life by corporations, which is in the end rebelled against. The movie is similar in style to 2001: space odyssey as it is heavy on atmosphere and can be slow at times, but it delivers quite well. also if you like both of these then i suggest “Sunshine” a film from 2007 i think. It has great sci-fi style as well, but not really cyberpunk that i can remember.

May 19, 2010

Tidaltree said:

Not a movie, but imho definitivley a candidate, is the Kanadian/South African series “Charlie Jade”. It wasn’t renewed for a 2nd season, though… :(

June 2, 2010

ES said:

important film which is missing - Demon Seed (1977). Someone mentioned it but its still not in list.. Truly mature and quality film. By the way, visualisation of organic supercomputer Proteus is quite original and believable considering the time of creation http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTBzwGhH2MY

June 5, 2010

Stormtrooper of Death said:

ES, not all movies that contain supercomputers are considered Cyberpunk. SFAM en Mr Roboto are our Reviewers. And they use several rules to define a movie to be cyberpunk or not.

If you would classify any movie that contains an evil computer or robts, then you could also call 70% of all sci-fi movies Cyberpunk movies.

Anyhow, thanks for your contribution. Ever read the forum of Cyberpunk review ? You might like our little forum.

[…] Re: Decent Cyber-Punk films. quite a number of films listed on cyberpunkreview.com […]

June 10, 2010

x said:

alert(”ok”);

x said:

hmmm… must be something else

June 21, 2010

snipe94 said:

2 good movies to add=

Arcade 1993 (virtual reality)

Terminal error ( Smart computer virus controlling town and killing people)

snipe94 said:

Also- watch these the outer limits episodes=

The grid( a computer controlling a town then the world)

bits of love( hollograms controlling an undergrown home)

Family Values( Robots made to take over the father’s job in families)

The tipping point( Computer AI program looking to control the world)

All of these episodes can be watched on Hulu!

June 29, 2010

Guest Post: Cyborgs Exist and Humanity is Doomed said (pingback):

[…] List of Cyberpunk movies by the decade […]

July 14, 2010

Blank Reg said:

you missed out Maxheadroom 1985.

July 21, 2010

Daved said:

The Outer Limits has quite a few episodes with cyberpunk themes: In addition to what Snipes mentioned definitely watch the episodes called “Valerie 23″, “I Robot”, “Resurrection”, and “The Hunt” which all center around androids. They all bring up a lot of great philosophical / ethical questions involving AI. Also watch “The New Breed” for an interesting story about nanobots.

Daved said:

forgot to add: Mary25, Stream of Consciousness, Simon Says, In our Own Image as more OL episodes with some CP

July 26, 2010

Andrew Black said:

I’m pretty sure Logan’s Run (1976) has cyberpunk feeling, and visuals, to it.

July 30, 2010

clarence boddicker said:

check out megazone 23 i was surprised to not see it up

August 2, 2010

Stormtrooper of Death said:

Logans Run is already reviewed on this website

August 7, 2010

Koto said:

Hello, you could add definitely Eden Log, French dystopian film from 2007.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1087842/

August 18, 2010

Sebastien X29A said:

Quote: “Prototype X29A (from 1992 I think), a low budget film, somewhat similar to Hardware both in visual style and atmosphere.”

Wow. Cool site. What a horrible movie though. I can say this because I was in it. I was the kid with the bow and arrow who thought I could take a metal robot out with a plastic arrow. Its really amazing to see how this movie keeps popping up through random clicking. From Kim Lim theory.isthereason>strange days trailer>”cyberpunk” search>cyberpunk review…thats got to be a record for finding this movie without using title, actors and other metadata as your start.

A little known fact about that movie: Kato Kailin, the guy who lived in Nicole Brown’s guest house, was a glorified extra in our movie who was shot by the ‘prototype’ in one of the many corny fight scenes.

August 31, 2010

Zeph101 said:

I’m going to put up the argument for the 1993 film Super Mario Bros. Of course this is not a film to be taken seriously, but I would suggest that while the design is completely removed from the video games (although if you notice there were quite a number of visual references) it does have an incredible cyberpunk dystopian city. As for themes, well, all I can say is there were no cyberpunk themes since it’s mainly a comedy, but at the same time the concept of the dictator King Koopa ruling with an iron fist may warrant it’s appearance on this site? I would love to get some thoughts on this.

September 8, 2010

thisBandit said:

you don’t have Radioactive Dreams (1985)…
I think this one fit in the list, ¿or not?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0091818/

September 13, 2010

masterblasterblackheart4life said:

you forgot the the number 1 cyberpunk film of all time..CLASS OF 1999!!!!THAT IS THE TEXT BOOK CYBERPUNK MOVIE! cause theres actuall punks in it!! punk crust post nuke cheesey motherfuckers! makes me want a dangling micro chip earring,a mac 10 with a scope(useless haha) and a pocket full of drugs from the future! YOUR ALL PATHETICCCCCC!!!!!!!!

masterblasterblackheart4life said:

TRUST ME ONCE U SEE CLASS OF 1999 YOULL UNDERSTAND WHERE THAT TERM CAME FROM AND HOW NO OTHER ”CYBERPUNK” FILMS COME CLOSE..IN MY EYES THE FIRST TRUE true CPUNK MOVIE..OH AND ANOTHER AWESOME LOST CPUNK MOVIE IS “ROLLERBOYS” WITH THE LEGENDARY COREY HAIM.. check it check it

October 7, 2010

ttakalo said:

On the television side I would personally recommend Total Recall 2070. It’s not quite what the name implies, as it is more a combination of Total Recall and Blade Runner, with more emphasis on the latter. It’s basically a cyberpunk police show, and does have plenty of thought-provoking themes in the stories.

October 21, 2010

Adam Askov said:

You need to do add Class of 1999 to that list.

November 17, 2010

David King said:

Hello all

My recently-completed (2009) 80-minute quasi sci fi feature film called PURGE has been described by Frank Schonefield, director of the BUT Film festival (Netherlands) as “a must see for lovers of cyberpunk!” The film will be released by Troma Entertainment, New York in 2011.
For a full reciew of this film please go to
www.topoftheflops.nl. (look for review on PURGE)
For more detailed information about the film please go to www.purgefilm.com.au
I hope you can add PURGE to the list of cyberpunk films from 2000 to Present.

Sincerely

David King
Producer-Director
PURGE

November 21, 2010

Meh said:

I’m not sure if this was cyberpunk or not, but does anyone remember that movie where a young business guy tries to assemble a team of geeks to create a holographic type of computer. He found like four different geeks that specialized in a certain area of expertise and brought them together to create the new hardware. There was an indian guy who specialized in security, another guy that specialized in lasers, another dude who wrote the operating system, etc. I can’t remember the name, but it was a good movie.

jn said:

I’m not sure if this was cyberpunk or not, but does anyone remember that movie where a young business guy tries to assemble a team of geeks to create a holographic type of computer. He found like four different geeks that specialized in a certain area of expertise and brought them together to create the new hardware. There was an indian guy who specialized in security, another guy that specialized in lasers, another dude who wrote the operating system, etc. I can’t remember the name, but it was a good movie.

November 23, 2010

Stormtrooper of Death said:

Logans run has already been reviewed on this website (cyberpunkreview.com)

November 24, 2010

Anonymous said:

Could you please provide a link to this review because I cannot find it.

November 25, 2010

Khaosth said:

Just like @Fsyrhiz a year ago, I also recommend mexican movie “Sleep dealer”. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0804529/

November 27, 2010

RealMan said:

“Eve no Jikan” and “Technotise: Edit i Ja” are just great animated movies with lot of fun and social analysis

December 13, 2010

tribec zacks said:

as someone said, you definitely forgot the repo man

December 17, 2010

Joao mario said:

Gunnm - Battle Angel Alita

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_Angel_Alita

Is not a CyberPunk title?

SSJKamui said:

Some Media of the Alita franchise are already reviewed.

December 29, 2010

stex said:

You might find this very interesting — something that should be considered for your list:

Kamikaze 89 (1982)
Director: Wolf Gremm
Writers: Wolf Gremm, Robert Katz…
Stars: Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Günther Kaufmann and Boy Gobert
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0084191/

January 13, 2011

Disdrac said:

January 24, 2011

Gabriel said:

What a bullshit list. most of those titles arent cyberpunk.

Pi? REALLY? Tank Girl? Uhm.No. Post apocalyptic is more like it. 12 monkeys?

you people are fucking lame. buncha poseurs.

February 22, 2011

paramah said:

zieeeffff….

February 23, 2011

Cyborger said:

Excuse me but how come A Clockwork Orange is listed as Cyberpunk?

P.S. - I’m not asking because I don’t think it should be listed I’m asking be I’m genuinely curious as to why. So whoever answers my question please don’t do it with an attitude.

March 18, 2011

isamu242_ said:

Wow, I’m still shocked that no one has mentioned Wim Wenders’ classic film “Until The End of the World”. Sam Neil, William Hurt, Max Von Sydow.
The basic premise is about a device that records images and sends them directly to the brain (in this case allowing the blind to see recorded imagery), but delves deeper into the concept of technology addiction when they hook the device up directly to record dreams.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0101458/

March 24, 2011

humanumber95 said:

Hey I was wondering why “Decoder” a 1984 Deutsch film is not listed here, Watch this gem which features William S. Burroughs and Genesis P Orridge… Might be interesting ;)

SI/\73 said:

review from http://thelastexit.net/cinema/main.html#Decoder

DECODER
Cult underground film that is a kind of gritty, paranoid, industrial-music-fan’s fantasy with the involvement of William S. Burroughs. Big-brother government and corporations are monitoring the people, controlling information and generating muzak to play in hamburger joints that control people’s emotions. When a youth decodes these signals in his home studio, he literally goes underground where he encounters a cult led by Genesis P. Orridge that treat information as their religion, make a lot of rhythmic noise on industrial and metal artefacts, and plot a revolution with sound tapes as weapons to disrupt society. In the meantime, his girlfriend has a bizarre obsession with frogs and a government agent with a strange attitude towards people tries to develop a relationship with a prostitute. A throbbing, rhythmic, blinking, beeping, whirring, gritty experience with some random disturbing imagery on screens.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0087129/

March 28, 2011

Stormtrooper of Death said:

Concering some comments about movies not (yet) reviewed on Cyberpunkreview. You are all welcome to write your own review and post it on the forum Reviewer section. This site is build for and by Cyberpunk fans. So, why wait for a review of a movie that is not (yet) mentioned on this site ? Write a review yourselve!

Act! And of course, have a nice and lovely cyberpunked 2012-2013

March 29, 2011

humanumber95 said:

I’d like to write a review about that film, but unfortunately I’m not an English Native Speaker and I’m afraid my English skills wouldn’t be enough to make it properly… But anyway I did not want to give the impression to complain, but rather make your visitors and your team want to watch this movie …

April 15, 2011

SI/\73 said:

Decoder

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JlSUmLJPmU4
(complete film)

Cult underground film that is a kind of gritty, paranoid, industrial-music-fan’s fantasy with the involvement of William S. Burroughs. Big-brother government and corporations are monitoring the people, controlling information and generating muzak to play in hamburger joints that control people’s emotions. When a youth decodes these signals in his home studio, he literally goes underground where he encounters a cult led by Genesis P. Orridge that treat information as their religion, make a lot of rhythmic noise on industrial and metal artefacts, and plot a revolution with sound tapes as weapons to disrupt society. In the meantime, his girlfriend has a bizarre obsession with frogs and a government agent with a strange attitude towards people tries to develop a relationship with a prostitute. A throbbing, rhythmic, blinking, beeping, whirring, gritty experience with some random disturbing imagery on screens.

SI^73 said:

Decoder

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JlSUmLJPmU4
(complete film)

Cult underground film that is a kind of gritty, paranoid, industrial-music-fan’s fantasy with the involvement of William S. Burroughs. Big-brother government and corporations are monitoring the people, controlling information and generating muzak to play in hamburger joints that control people’s emotions. When a youth decodes these signals in his home studio, he literally goes underground where he encounters a cult led by Genesis P. Orridge that treat information as their religion, make a lot of rhythmic noise on industrial and metal artefacts, and plot a revolution with sound tapes as weapons to disrupt society. In the meantime, his girlfriend has a bizarre obsession with frogs and a government agent with a strange attitude towards people tries to develop a relationship with a prostitute. A throbbing, rhythmic, blinking, beeping, whirring, gritty experience with some random disturbing imagery on screens.

SI.:73 said:

Decoder

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JlSUmLJPmU4
(complete film)

Cult underground film that is a kind of gritty, paranoid, industrial-music-fan’s fantasy with the involvement of William S. Burroughs. Big-brother government and corporations are monitoring the people, controlling information and generating muzak to play in hamburger joints that control people’s emotions. When a youth decodes these signals in his home studio, he literally goes underground where he encounters a cult led by Genesis P. Orridge that treat information as their religion, make a lot of rhythmic noise on industrial and metal artefacts, and plot a revolution with sound tapes as weapons to disrupt society. In the meantime, his girlfriend has a bizarre obsession with frogs and a government agent with a strange attitude towards people tries to develop a relationship with a prostitute. A throbbing, rhythmic, blinking, beeping, whirring, gritty experience with some random disturbing imagery on screens.

May 7, 2011

cpnewb said:

Do you update your cyberpunk movie database regularly?
I came across a cyberpunk anime, i haven’t seen it yet but it looks promising. Its called PARASITE DOLLS. year 2003.

May 8, 2011

SSJKamui said:

Yes, it’s already reviewed. Look under “Cyberpunk Movies from 2000 to present”. It’s directly under “One Point O”

May 29, 2011

Adam Daub said:

Total Recall 2070… it’s basically Blade Runner the series.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Total_Recall_2070

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Lf9ouIQilo

June 4, 2011

rayne said:

Cyber wars?

July 21, 2011

Alison said:

Cyberpunk was till the early 90s

Not cyberpunk afterwards

August 6, 2011

peqeopaul said:

I’am a frequent visitor of this page, but i always felt like there was some movies missing on that list, so i have a question for Mr. Roboto…. the film Childen of men (2006) could be considered as cyberpunk?? i mean, i had a debate yesterday about it, and i think i need a more pointed view on it. For me, it has a HIGHEST degree on cyberpunk-related themes, however a medium-low cyberpunk-technologic visuals. also i want to know if Scape from New York (1981) could be considered as cyberpunk or not….

August 11, 2011

Cian Strange said:

No Max Headroom? Seems like a big omission.

August 12, 2011

Meltdown said:

The seventies had one more gem not mentioned here.
Demonseed!
Cyberpunk at it’s finest.

August 31, 2011

zigzigStory said:

I came here cuz of Deus ex, and wanted a good cyberPunk movie to watch, Choose Cypher

September 2, 2011

Drew Dc said:

Sup room Look’s all 3D in here?…

Drew Dc said:

A G COMPLEX VAMPIRE BLOOD OF NEO

Drew Dc said:

Jus ME CD

Drew Dc said:

Stand Out There Must BE heard Earth MAgic Fire Nerd Complex of The Mind Glitched THis Sever ?… It WAS a PLan Game

Drew Dc said:

Plane Game Alta Dawg Fight Tear Now Raining Capt’n OF All Man der Star FLeat Matrix Mod MAn E NAmeS Dual

Drew Dc said:

I Am ! all Nothing And Speak one in Toughnages

September 24, 2011

vt007 said:

Yeah ^^ “the moon”2009 totally have some cyberpunk theme in it, if you like some “portal game athmosphere” i think you will enjoy this one too (like said before: the movie is a little bit slow but it didnt bother me ^^”)

September 29, 2011

MrAschroft said:

Please add a french movie: Chrysalis (2009)

October 2, 2011

D.I said:

cyberzone 1995

October 13, 2011

D.I said:

Cyberzone: Review

Take elements from BLADE RUNNER, STAR WARS, and THE TERMINATOR, subtract any potent action and drama, and you’ve got CYBERZONE. If you’ve seen those first three films, you can safely avoid this one.

In Phoenix in the year 2077, bounty hunter Jack Ford (Marc Singer) has just dispatched a violent android. The scene quickly shifts to Jupiter where Hawks (Matthias Hues), a smuggler, steals four female “pleasure droids” and heads for Earth. Back on Earth, Ford is hired to locate the missing androids and is assigned a businesslike technician, Beth Enright (Rochelle Swanson), to help shut down their circuitry.

The strings in this society are pulled by Humberstone (Robin Clarke), a religious and political leader who has hired Hawks to steal the droids, Ford to find them, and assassins to kill Ford when he digs too deeply. Things start to turn against Humberstone after he cheats Hawks for losing one of the androids. Hawks, Ford, and Beth join forces to get the androids and the money. With Beth posing as the missing party-girl android, they break into Humberstone’s compound. Once Humberstone realizes that she’s human, Beth kills him. Meanwhile, Hawks is killed in a shootout with the security chief. Ford and Beth get the money and escape together. The film ends with the missing droid propositioning a homeless man.

Seeing CYBERZONE’s low-budget special effects, it’s hard to believe that decades have gone by since the original “Star Trek” series in the 1960s. Unlike BLADE RUNNER, the film’s darkness is not evocative, but merely used to disguise the cheap sets. Sometimes the film looks like a “Batman” episode with nudity. Of the actors, only Swanson shows any charisma. Singer is wooden throughout, and Hues looks and sounds as if he stepped down from a wrestling ring.

Ultimately, it’s the borrowed elements from better films that sink CYBERZONE. At one point, an assassin droid is sent to “terminate” Ford. As if this wasn’t enough, the actor bears a strong resemblance to Arnold Schwarzenegger and has a thick European accent. Also, the fact that the movie’s hero is named Ford can only be a reference to BLADE RUNNER’s star. A recommendation: Stick to the originals.(Violence, extensive nudity, sexual situations.)

Cyberzone: Cast
Marc Singer: Jack Ford
Rochelle Swanson: Beth Enright
Matthias Hues: Hawks
Robin Clarke: Humberstone
Kin Shriner: Walsh
Carl Bartlett: Reginald

Cyberzone
1995, Movie, R, 81 mins

a review from http://movies.tvguide.com/cyberzone/131322 (TV guide…)

Funshion has it if anyone want to see it for free. Dont fork over cash under any circumstance for this shit) Other movies too, blade runner etc. chinese. (wiki it and follow the link to english version)

October 27, 2011

exup said:

Still surprised that Serenity (end film to the series Firefly) has not appeared on the list yet.
Also an 80’s film which predated Robocop ARGH I can’t remember the title but had a Scientist working on a robotic suit - gets double crossed and caught in an explosion - ends up being encased in this suit - When he is threatened the onboard computer takes over and destroys any enemies. damn gonna have to find out what it was called now
Also A.P.E.X.?

exup said:

Got it - the film was called The Vindicator, like a cross between Robocop and Darkman. not as much budget as Robocop (and it shows) but still can be enjoyable if you haven’t heard/seen it before.

January 5, 2012

kruze888 said:

I’m trying to find a movie i saw long ago. I can’t remember much from it. I do remember that there was a virtual world that looked like real life. and in one scene, the 2 good guys were trying to find an exit and the more knowledgeable one pointed out a building that had a :) sign above the door. In case you see a smiley icon in the last sentence, it was supposed to be a : next to a ). Anyway that was the sign that let him know it was a backdoor/exit. That’s pretty much all i can remember. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

January 8, 2012

Anonymous said:

Add Virus (1999)!

February 12, 2012

alias said:

I’m surprised no Assault Girls in the 2000-present, for that matter y no Machine Girl?

April 14, 2012

someware said:

What about “Asaruto gâruzu” (2009) by Mamoru Oshii

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1478800/

Why all forget about this movie…

someware said:

Let’s remember X-Files season 7 episode 13
“First Person Shooter” (2000)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0751126/
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0751126/plotsummary
Not included in list. William Gibson was one of scenario writer as in “Kill Switch” (1998) S05 E11
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0751150/

April 22, 2012

zara7 said:

hey! what about the following :

‘Vexille’ : http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0970472/

and

‘Cowboy Bebop’

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0213338/

having rewatched this gem in a marathon viewing, after having not seen it since 2004, i noticed a surprising amount of cyberpunk elements to it : cybernetic enhancement and the traumas associated with it, evil megacorporations, the hacking of computers (and even an orbital laser!), cities filled with old, barely functioning tech, and people who wear tech to enhance abilities or replace ailing ones, not to mention the whole noir feel of it all ; well worth a watch! ;)

keep up the hard work guys! love the site! :):)

July 7, 2012

Steph said:

Hi,
I remember watching this movie (which I’m pretty sure was cyberpunk) awhile back and I’m trying to figure out the title and hope you can help me! The movie is about (from what I remember) a society that is quickly deteriorating and people can go to a theater to dream. They drink some liquid and in that theater (maybe they’re attached to something) they can dream experiences other people have had. I saw the trailer and stills for “brainstorm” and I don’t think that’s it. Can you help me please?

July 14, 2012

disappointed said:

where is Blame! movie??

August 11, 2012

shorgoth said:

You don’t have Ghost in the shell solid state society (probably the best of GITS in my humble oppinion) You need to see it back to back with the rest of them tho otherwise you might missunderstant the ending.

August 13, 2012

Ghost said:

Strange Days with Ralph Fiennes.

September 13, 2012

Pattern said:

New Rose Hotel (1998) (based on novel by William Gibson)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0133122/

Technotise - Edit i ja (2004)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1372301/

September 21, 2012

Neil said:

Hi there,

I am looking for a movie/tv movie or maybe an episode of a series…. dont know

probably 1997-2006 (sorry thats the best i got) i geuss it’s sci-fi genre

all i remember from it is: a good guy a bad guy,the good guy might be a cyborg or have an artifical heart not sure…

the bad guy i think kidnappes this girl for some knowlege
i remember a scene in witch he connects these little pumps to her forehead so she can control this computer or somthing
i remeber there is a virtual reality aspect to it beacaue there were these pods or sits that have like 3 crytal looking sticks on each side of the head and they close down like a crab’s legs and then glow white.. and then the person enter this vr or cyber spcae or somthing…’ the thing i rememr the most is that the good guy defeats the bad guy in the virtual reality in a game the resembles “half life” or some sorth of a first person shooter and a female voice computer tells the hero where to find the rocket luancher i think…. that’s it! who ever solves this 1 is the best of…. the best…….. hands down…

October 13, 2012

Rebel_Cause said:

Might want to check this out had a cyberpunk vibe
http://n1on.com/

November 11, 2012

Pattern said:

December 1, 2012

dbeck said:

Wim Wenders’ Until the End of the World
(really really needs to be here)

December 22, 2012

geoielymac said:

Never buy that product again and probably no others with that company….could have done the same thing at the drugstore ,[url=http://outlet-thenorthface.webs.com/#91787]cheap north face[/url]

January 8, 2013

penpen said:

The list lacks the great 2009 Swiss cyberpunk movie “Cargo” - maybe because it was filmed in German.

February 10, 2013

none said:

Didnt see “Casshern Sins” in the list.
Might be worth reviewing.

March 6, 2013

IBRIDUZ of status fetus said:

CYBERPUNK ITS THE REAL LIFE

THE REALITY ITS VIRTUALITY

March 31, 2013

Zwerver said:

As a fan of this website I created a watchlist for personal use on IMDB. Doing that, I discovered some movies didn’t have a link to IMDB. Below is the (small) list of my findings. I hope you can use it. From the 160 movies only 2 were not to be found (youtube + metacafe)

http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/movie/decade/1990-1999/hackers/
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0113243/

http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/movie/decade/1990-1999/reboot/
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108903/

http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/movie/decade/1990-1999/terminatrix/
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0923938/

http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/movie/decade/2000-2009/ucf-toronto-cybercide/
links to amazon.com not to imdb.com
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0906093/

http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/movie/cyberpunk-theme/forbidden-dream-a-cyberpunk-short/
(none - not a released movie)

http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/movie/cyberpunk-theme/maya/
(none - not a released movie)

April 1, 2013

stunn said:

Mr. Roboto,

have you considered to review the 007’s Skyfall scenes (no. 11+) in shanghai ? It’s neon galore.

April 13, 2013

Yod801 said:

Oi,
dunno, if this site is still going or if there just haven’t been made any new cyberpunk movies recently.
You might want to check out this obviously cyberpunk short movie from Hungary:
http://www.daazo.com/film/8b1ff058-ad69-102c-a455-000e2e531ae0/
Cheers,
Yod

August 3, 2013

horatio_ said:

Not sure if anyone has posted about this already, but it is fairly recent and coming at some point.

PostHuman
http://vimeo.com/70161501

August 25, 2013

Luke said:

Could you review the 1992 movie “Fortress” by Stuart Gordon, please?

Luke said:

If you want to answer me here’s my address:
killb.94@hotmail.it

October 1, 2013

Nick Ian said:

Just watched Narcosys, definately cyberpunk!

October 24, 2013

excior said:

You might want to look at the TV show Dark Angel it was Cyberpunk heavy with booster gangs and everything.

January 13, 2014

deCarabasHJ said:

I’d like to add that “Until the End of the World” by Wim Wenders is one of the most Cyberpunk movies I’ve ever seen.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0101458/
It may be a bit lengthy, but worth it.

Leave a comment

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts