Cyberpunk Games

There are a quite a few terrific cyberpunk games that have been produced over the years. Cyberpunk Review has Metatron, Neuromancer and DannyV_El_Acme conducting reviews for the various titles. As we develop a decent set, the intent is to break the games out into different categories, similar to the movies.

Here are the games we have reviewed to date. If you have one in mind you would like to see bumped up in priority, leave a note!

 

Cyberpunk Games Reviewed to Date:

 

Comments

April 2, 2006

Matthew said:

You might wan’t to add Metal Gear Solid 2 Sons of Liberty to that list, its one of the better postmodern cyberpunkish games around .

April 3, 2006

DannyV_El_Acme said:

Hehehe, make no mistake about it, the Metal Gear Solid 2 review is coming. Hell, I’m actually planning on reviewing the whole series, including the MSX games, and even previewing Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns Of The Patriots.

May 9, 2006

halfsharkalligatorhalfman said:

why you didnt mention FALLOUT lol

May 11, 2006

fikufik said:

What about Final Fantasy 7 ;)

May 12, 2006

SFAM said:

Hi halfshark and Fikifik, welcome to cyberpunkreview :)

The only games listed are the ones that have been reviewed. There are clearly lots more, although I don’t think I’d count Final Fantasy as cyberpunk.

May 14, 2006

Mr. Roboto said:

Has anyone ever played a game called Uplink? It’s a futuristic hacking sim from Introversion that’s practicaly opened a whole new genre of cyberpunk games (that’s if you consider hacking enough to be cyberpunk). Introversion has a couple of other games to consider, like Darwinia and the WarGames-inspired Defcon.

Speaking of hacking sims, there another called Street Hacker to investigate, and Exosyphen’s “Blue Sky” series.

Also, check Syndicate and Syndicate Wars, AI Wars: The Awakening, Spectre VR, and a Philips I-CD game called Burn:Cycle.

May 23, 2006

Sinnyo said:

One of the greatest, if not the optimal cyberpunk game I’ve played so far is Burn:Cycle on Phillips CDi. Though it’d be hard to track down for a review, it’s an addition that’d definitely be worthwhile. Mr Roboto before me mentioned it, but for those who don’t know it’s a puzzle point-and-click adventure game based on the premise of Sol Cutter, the protagonist. As courier for data much as Johnny Mnemonic is, he is infected by the Burn:Cycle virus and is given a realtime countdown in which to find the cure. Queue lots of virtual reality, uplinks, neurosurgery and chicks in latex. It was my first childhood cyberpunk experience, come to think of it..

SFAM said:

Sinnyo, that game sounds totally cool. When did Burn:Cycle come out?

May 26, 2006

Bergo said:

Burn::Cycle, what a blast from the past ! I own a copy of that.

It’s sitting in a draw at home, graphics wasn’t greate, but had all the neural interface, mind uploading and downloading stuff. I quite liked the game.

SFAM - I’ll try and find my copy, the box was pretty cool.

If I had to guess on the vintage, I’d say around ‘95 or ‘96.

August 23, 2006

Grez said:

Hey, I actually have a copy of Burn:Cycle in the original jewel case that I’ve been considering selling. Feel free to e-mail me with an offer (don’t worry, I’m not looking for anything ridiculous) if you’re interested. Please make sure that you put something about this in the subject line so that I can weed it out from all of the spam. :-) Thanks.

September 11, 2006

Startoad said:

I’d like to see reviews of Snatcher, Shadowrun (SNES/Genesis), and Beneath a Steel Sky

September 13, 2006

DannyV said:

Startoad, I will review Snatcher, SD Snatcher and Shadowrun for SNES pretty soon, it’s just that college will suck the life out of you :p

September 15, 2006

StarToad said:

I know what you mean. I’m in college too :)
I really look forward to seeing your reviews of Snatcher and Shadowrun. And just so you know, it was your review of Deus Ex that convinced me buy the game

September 17, 2006

DannyV said:

“StarToad said:
I know what you mean. I’m in college too :)
I really look forward to seeing your reviews of Snatcher and Shadowrun. And just so you know, it was your review of Deus Ex that convinced me buy the game”

Comments like this make it all worth it :)

October 15, 2006

heathorez said:

check out neo tokyo, and dystopia bot are HL2 mods and look very wounderfull

November 15, 2006

DannyV said:

Hey, ppeps! I’m getting a LOT of new cyberpunk games, since a friend of mine’s getting them over torrents, so expect reviews for:
-System Shock 2
-The Longest Journey
-Dreamfall
-Beyond Good And Evil
-Beneath a Steel Sky
-The Tex Murphy games
-An many more!

So expect a LOT from me during the holidays, stay tuned! ;)

November 16, 2006

Vesper said:

Anyone remembers “Hell: A Cyberpunk Thriller”?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hell:_A_Cyberpunk_Thriller

OvergrownEgo said:

And how about “Project Eden” by Eidos? It has cyborgs, futuristic mega-city with abandoned, dark sectors, remote access to devices through computer terminals - so it definitely has a lot to do with both cyber and punk. :)

“It is a first- and third-person shooter with an emphasis on teamwork and puzzle solving over combat.” (source: Wikipedia)

And BTW…

Guys, do you really consider MGS a cyberpunk game? With all respect - it has a great story, but it’s just a spy thriller. It has neither cyber nor punk elements. It’s not even hi-tech future world - it’s “present time, present day” world with one hi-tech weapon (Metal Gear) and some superheroes.

It takes more than some conspiracy and secret bases to make a cyberpunk story… :)

November 19, 2006

L3J said:

I’m curious, with all of the Matrix reviews on the site, why I can’t find your take on the Matrix Online MMORPG. A direct continuation of the Matrix storyline beginning with at the end of Revolutions, the game and events taking place within it are the new, unfolding, Matrix Canon.

I’d love to give my own review, but I’ve been playing for more than 2 years now, so I’m a touch biased. Just thought I’d throw that in the mix.

L3J

November 21, 2006

casualtyfigure said:

Has anyone heard of the megaten series?

Shin Megami Tensei : Nocturne

HAS to be in this list.

Basically Japan is destroyed. everyone is dead.
so now in an alternate reality…New Japan is over run with
devils, demons, fallen angels, and just f’d up things.

Give it a search.
Its such a great game.

SFAM said:

Hi L3J, there are only 3 Matrix reviews on this site - one for each movie (I haven’t even done the Animatrix yet). I also have an essay on a scifi interpretation. Regarding the Matrix Online MMORPG, I’m afraid there’s only so much time in the day. I really haven’t paid all that much attention to it, but would LOVE it if you wanted to do a review of it. :)

December 4, 2006

Halfloaf said:

Has anyone looked at Neocron it is a massive multiplayer game with lots of Cyberpunk themes. The game itself runs 24/7 so be prepared to lose some sleep if you decide to try it. 10 day free trial available.
At one point I have seen weapons used in Neocron exchanged for real cash on Ebay.
Try www.neocron.com for more info

December 20, 2006

Daedalus said:

I’ve played the offline part of Neocron (some sort of tutorial) as a demo…and can say it’s worth it. It’s somewhat similar to Deus Ex, but the world is even bigger…and far more complex, even if it lacks that brilliant storyline.

December 28, 2006

ResurrectionJoe said:

You may want to add Final Fantasy VII up there. Be Honest, it has a high level of CyberPunk themes. Crazed Corporation taking the energy of the planet, artificially made humans, robots, a giant meteor…etc.

January 1, 2007

a fan of cyberpunk visuals said:

I agree. Final Fantasy VII definitely has cyberpunk visuals and themes. It should probably be considered.

(We are only talking about VII here, not the Final Fantasy series in general)

March 9, 2007

jonomcleish said:

One of my favourite games is Flashback, it would be good to see that get a review here.

I also agree about Final Fantasy VII having a strong cyberpunk theme.

March 10, 2007

Kiyomi said:

I feel such an illiterate idiot for bringing up the name of Quake4 after Syndicate, System Shock and Deus Ex, but for completeness’ sake?

Quake4 doesn’t really deliver on cyberpunk themes, the story is simple war, but for visuals I’d suppose it might fit here. The game offers constant stream of images of marriage of flesh and steel from the enemies to some of the environments themselves with bioengineered creatures hooked to machinery processing nourishment and amputated human bodies used as excess power.
Also Quake2, the previous in story, has some meat and steel in it, but not as much as Q4 does.

Kiyomi said:

Sorry for the double post here, folks.

What about Splinter Cell -series? Especially the first and third part?
While they’re set in the present instead of futuristic settings, they deal extremely heavily with information warfare. With scenarios featuring conflicts waged almost entirely in digital form, and a faction being able to launch an attack using another nation’s weapons I’d say that Splinter Cell at least glances in passing some cyberpunk themes. Does it?

March 11, 2007

Fargo said:

I REALLY believe that the videogame Cy Girls, for the PlayStation 2, should be in this list ;-)

March 25, 2007

Billy G said:

circuits edge is rad!

Joshoewaa said:

…Where the hell is a review for Beneath a Steel Sky?! No one has played it? Damn, thats a great cyberpunk game… plus, now that its free on ScummVM, virtually anyone can play it. I’d really love to see a review, as its a top quality game.

April 21, 2007

gcaytan said:

I would like to receive your infos about games including a Virtual Reality.
Like a neon Style Matrix world (eg Tron ;0)
It seems Neocron have one called HAcknet
It seems also that Dystopia a mod for HL2 includes one.

Do you know others ?

April 29, 2007

Digital Dystopia said:

Hi! Great website just stopping by to let you guys know about my hacker cyberpunk games at www.digitaldystopia.com. Stop by look around stop by the forums etc. Take care.

Mr. Roboto said:

Hello, DD. Welcome to Cyberpunk Review.

It happens that I have all the games you’re selling. I bought them from a company called exoSyphen.

You wouldn’t happen to be them, by any chance?

No I bought the rights from them ;-) BTW have you tried them on Vista?

SFAM said:

Hi Digital Dystopia, let me echo Mr. Roboto in welcoming you to cyberpunk review. Hope to see you around every now and then. I’ll definitely check these out. :)

May 1, 2007

killratio said:

In response to Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne, I wouldn’t consider that game to be cyberpunk. Digital Devil Saga, Shin Megami Tensei 1 and 2 (Nocturne is 3), Devil Summoner 1 and 2, Shin Megami Tensei NINE, I would consider all of those to be. The second Devil Summoner game, which is titled ‘Soul Hackers’ is the prime example.

All I am going to say is that if you are into cyberpunk RPGs, try out some of the games in the Megami Tensei series. Almost all of them are unavailable in the US, but there are translation patches available if you have obtained the SNES ROMs of 1 and 2. Or, theres ebay which has many of them readily available for buying if you know a bit of Japanese and can run them.

While I am at it, I’ll just say which ones that were released in the states: Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga 1 and 2, Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne, Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner (PS2, not the old school Sega Saturn or PS1 releases), Persona 1, Persona 2: Eternal Punishment. At least, that’s all I am aware of.

May 4, 2007

jasonsmr said:

Origional posted:

Startoad :

I’d like to see reviews of Snatcher, Shadowrun (SNES/Genesis), and Beneath a Steel Sky

Comment:

Ya the shadow run game from the SNES is a very classic I just played it last month and before that when I first started college my room mate laughed at me wondering how I could get so into those super old games. they reminded me of the good old hay days. That game seriously is the best and I did’nt even know it was a movie very realy im getting it ASAP.

June 17, 2007

Gilgamesh said:

There are definite Cyberpunk elements in Final Fantasy VII. The main protagonist is an ex-member of a gene-enhanced elite fighting force called SOLDIER, there’s a struggle between a vast, world spanning tech-based corporation and a small band of environmentalist revolutionaries, giant mechs, some very thoughtful ruminations about what exactly makes a person truly alive and some distinctly cyberpunk visuals. Even if those themes were abandoned in later entries to the Final Fantasy franchise, VII definitely deserves a place in the Cyberpunk games cannon.

June 18, 2007

Hokey Gundam said:

For me it doesn’t get much more cyberpunk than Hardw[a]r.
1) Burnt out characters
2) Corporate corruption
3) Criminals mixing it with Corporates
4) Underground rebellion
Also available for free (dontcha just love it!) at the-underdogs[dot]info.

Plus, have to vote for the inevitable System Shock 2.

July 22, 2007

Terminal Reality said:

Forthcoming Bioshock may be considered as cyberpunk..

@Hokey Gundam - for sure! Hardwar was pure cyberpunk, and wonderfully dystopic. Not to mention a Warp Records-backed soundtrack to boot with Autechre, LFO, etc.

August 6, 2007

Steven said:

I’d like to see Deus Ex: Invisible War reviewed here. Would like to hear this sites opinion of it.

Thanks

August 7, 2007

[C7D6E3E3]lila Traum said:

atm the hl2mod dystopia is the cyberpunkgame I was dreaming of in the early 90s. all the things you want: virtual reality, including fights there / stealth / mechs (the heavy class) / lots of other implants / lots of weapons and a katana ;-)

(btw great site here)

August 29, 2007

Ni said:

Back to the basics here, but there were a couple of Ghost in the Shell Games, one for PSone… With cartoons by the masamune-monster himself (Good luck finding it), and one for the PS2, which wasn’t all that popular, but should be up there (they stopped printing it though) .

September 7, 2007

Anonymous said:

Would the whole Xenogears, Xenosaga be considered cyberpunk?

September 11, 2007

Cibernadie said:

I would add to the List The Fallout Series. Its a Big one in the Genre, the only bad point is the future Fallout3 (FPS) but, alas, thats another story. About MGS; Well, The only good things about it are the Cyborg Ninja stuff and Rex. The rest is just like all other Spy action games. There is a Game of Battle Angel Alita for the Playstation One, but it is in Japanese, thats what has stopped me from play it (I have it).
There is a MMOFPS Called Huxley, i have not been able to get it, but it seems like its a Cyberpunk one. The Screenshots looks very good and stuff, you guys would check it out.
¿Anyone remember Cyberstorm, or Cyberia, or Neuromancer, or Dreamweb?
My favorites are Uplink, Deus Ex, System Shock2 and Blade Runner.

September 13, 2007

kitty_tc said:

As an additional nod for FFVII, the city of Midgar is as perfect an example of a cyberpunk city as you’ll ever see. It’s a two-level city, the top portion built on a massive central stalk holding vast steel plates on which the street level is built, all over the top of a former city underneath gone to slum and ruins. The higher class live above in modern conditions with a decent standard of living, the poor underclass live below in shantytowns built from junk, scraping an existance any way they can. The entire city is a privately owned and operated property of a global corporation called Shinra, and the company is the enemy of the ecoterrorist heroes of the game. At one point, the Shinra management decides to literally drop one of the city sectors onto the slums below in order to wipe out the group, collateral casualties be damned, and blames the “attack” on the group themselves. Thousands of deaths, billions in property damage, all blamed on the group the attack was targeting, and the destroyed sector could be rebuilt for a tidy profit. It doesn’t get much more cyberpunk than that.

September 20, 2007

dcg81 said:

Try CyberSphere out if your into Cyberpunk. It’s a text based game and is very detailed and addictive. :) Lots of RP to be had!

Logs: http://www.newcarthage.net/index.php

Forum: http://cs.netsville.com/forums

Wikipedia: http://cs.netsville.com/wiki

There are many other sites that have helpful info.

Feel free to email me for any questions.

September 30, 2007

Robb Sherwin said:

I wrote a cyberpunk graphical text adventure a few years ago called Fallacy of Dawn. It opens with the protagonist, who had been modified against his will to not perceive the electromagnetic spectrum correctly, being forced to work in an arcade to get by. The game then progresses to the exploration of a cyberpunk-inspired city, in an attempt to clear the PC’s name and get out. You can download it for free right here: http://www.joltcountry.com/downloads/dawn.zip

October 25, 2007

Demian Ishikawa - p0150nh34r7 said:

Are there any plans to review Shadowrun for Genesis (if it’s available, i want to do this one), the hacker-sims form the guys who did uplink and the PnP games like Shadowrun and Cyberpunk 2020?

October 30, 2007

Yataran said:

I’d say that Headhunter, released for Dreamcast and PS2, is pretty cyberpunk too… Futuristic story, biotechnology, crime and a quite oppresive government… Loved that game! :D

November 20, 2007

DanNoir said:

Shadowrun for the SNES was a great cyberpunk game. One of the best, after Blade Runner and Snatcher.

Sadly the new Shadowrun game is going to be an online shooter without much Shadowrun, besides the name.

December 3, 2007

gelli said:

I think a game that’s missing on here that is also really good and fits the cyberpunk theme well is Final Fantasy VII. It has a good dystopic setting with over industrialization, futuristic vibe etc…
sorry if someone has already mentioned this, i was too lazy to check.

January 7, 2008

SSJKamui said:

Some Review suggestions:
Final Fantasy 7
REZ
Shadowrun(Mega CD)
Megazone 23: Aoi Garland

CSquared said:

Would Normality count as Cyberpunk? It certainly seems to, although it’s mostly comedic.

January 9, 2008

SSJKamui said:

According to Wikipedia , in the game SimCity Societies , cyberpunk cities can be build. (Wikipedia article of the game: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sim_City_Societies#Buildings)

January 10, 2008

SSJKamui said:

GTA 2 also had some cyberpunk elements, e.g. a megacorporation.

January 12, 2008

Dreamcatcher said:

What about Oni?

Definitely a game with cyberpunk story and visuals.
One could consider it worth a closer look.

http://www.rockstargames.com/oni/main.html

January 15, 2008

TheReanimator said:

Okay, well if you didn’t know these games already i must say these games need some badass reviewing:

Heavy Metal: F.A.K.K.2 (still haven’t figured it out is it cyberpunk)

Heavy Metal: Geomatrix

Oni (Lot’s of cyber punk themes and moder kick ass-assasin-like fighting, hacking)

Sin (Cloning, Hacking, genetics)

Sin Episodes: emergence (the same as Sin)

The whole Final Fantasy series begining from 7

Anarchy Online (a complete Cyberpunk franchise or none put in a amazing mmorpg, in it is everything that a cyber punk addict would want: Corporations, Rabels, Implants, nanomages :D, High-tech weponry and swords, and all the things i don’t renember, but best of all it’s free!!!(without the expansions))

Tabula Rasa (asumingly cyberpunk-scifi cross-over and also like anarchy an mmorpg! but i haven’t played it yet… yep, it’s paid)

System Shock 2

Deus Ex 2

Serial Experiment’s: Lain (the game!)

January 18, 2008

Genjinophil said:

And the most Famous for old creepy man like me

CyberPunk

http://www.talsorian.com/cpindex.shtml

April 11, 2008

killratio said:

Ooooh… I never would have thought of Sin as being that. Now that I think of it, it was extremely biopunk. As for the cyber, there is a significant amount of cyberpunk in that game as well.

April 15, 2008

CyberPunk89 said:

I had a suggestion about a game to reveiw and to play for thoughs that haven’t
Dues EX, and Dues EX:Invisible War
and my opinion on FF7 is it’s somewhat CPish the first city in it is pretty cool and check the outfits in it and Barret T’s gun arm etc.
its a CyberPunk SteamPunk fanasty mix

CyberPunk89 said:

Oh srry and the Ghost in the shell game

April 16, 2008

Boomdart said:

You should add a review of these two great old games;

Mines of Titan
Circuits Edge

Two terrifically made games for their time.

May 12, 2008

thusitha said:

rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

May 14, 2008

Doc0rez said:

mirrors edge looks kewl.. you move data/info from person to person in fp!

fastpunk said:

What? No System Shock 2? :P

June 6, 2008

danniel parker said:

Try these games… Some are old but all of them are worth playing.

Rise Of The Dragon.

Under a Steel Sky.

Full Throttle.

Omnikron.

Bioshock.

Shadowrun for SNES

Shadowrun for Genesis.

Under A Killing Moon.

And of course, Fallout 1 and 2 if you want to count them.

June 21, 2008

andy said:

where is TekWAR game?

June 22, 2008

zane said:

Psi-Ops its not über cyberpunk but its still quite dark

July 2, 2008

Tyger said:

I’m not going to dispute FFVII being a cyberpunk game, but I’m having a hard time seeing what is specifically cyberpunk about it. Is it the focus on technology? Cuz at times it feels more steampunk than cyber in all honesty. Just wanted to throw that out there. :3

Tyger said:

Bioshock never felt cyberpunk to me as much as it did simply Dystopian, which is definitely a major theme, but I could be wrong!

July 3, 2008

stn said:

I’ve played video games for around 15 years, and I’ve seen about all the movies on this website. I Love cyberpunk

stn said:

Edit : Sorry for double post but website bugged

Please add :

Neocron (can a game be more cyberpunk ? / best game ever)
The Nomad Soul / Omikron
The longuest Journey
Battletech games

July 24, 2008

Zhal said:

Cyberpunk: The Arasaka’s Plot
http://www.lemonquest.com/sites/cyberpunk/eng/index.html

A Flashback-esque mobile game with light rpg elements. It’s weird that pretty much the only (I don’t know of any other) official R. Talsorian Cyberpunk came to a mobile phone and it’s actually good, for a mobile game. Plot is quite interesting and gameplay elements are solid though later on starts to require more and more dexterity from the player.

If you can get this to your mobile phone, I strongly suggest you get it.

August 1, 2008

Game Player said:

Add Dystopia. www.dystopia-game.com
It’s on the source engine, a free mod for hl2, and a big cult following. Still getting new releases and updates.

August 8, 2008

XVI said:

Wow… Love this site. I am a DM for the Shadowrun p&p and have been looking for some new games to harvest for inspiration which this site has provided me. I feel an urge, however, to post some remarks and thoughts…

Hasn’t anyone here played dreamweb? (If that is what the game was called… I haven’t played it in a long time…) I love that game. The story is great. The graphics are ok (I LOVE pixel graphics… And chellshading, but that’s beside the point.) but the setting and the gameplay. Oh, be still my nano-heart!

I’ll toss crackdown right in there to, although I wouldn’t call it cyberpunk I still think it’s worth mentioning, if only JUST mentioning.

However… Fallout, albeit a GLORIOUS game-series, is about as much cyberpunk as Fable and Bioshock seems like more of a Steampunk game to me.

Anonymous said:

gona

Zhal said:

@XVI:
At night times Crackdown’s world looked quite a lot like a cyberpunk world. And I started to think of genetic modification more as cybernetic modification. ;P

Damn, I wish there were an open world cyberpunk game similar to Crackdown, GTA etc… sigh.

August 14, 2008

Zhal said:

Ach, how could I forget Decker: http://www.caro.net/dsi/decker/

October 5, 2008

jjw said:

BloodNEt :) Very old, very good… Flash-Back - French make me creazy !!! Duke Nukem ?? Why not ? DOOM (UAC - megacorporation)? QUAKE II ? HL :)

October 8, 2008

Scorpeon said:

What about the original Perfect Dark for N64?

October 9, 2008

Felix Neo said:

Ummm… why don’t you add those two?
Paradise Cracked (PC; MiST land, 2002);
The world ends with you (NintendoDS; Square-Enix, 2007\8?).
And yes, I guess TRON 2.0 is worth thing, as minimum just due to its atmosphere.
Still…just leavin here a biggest THANX for LOTS of info :)
And glad to see that someones of you know what Uplink is. 2010 is near, btw… X’-D

October 14, 2008

me said:

nice list, portal should be there though I think

October 20, 2008

tervok said:

im looking for a old isometric game, it was a alien style diablo clone, thats the best i can describe it

Joseph said:

Burn : Style ..great game

November 7, 2008

Lorin said:

I would say that Xenogears is Cyberpunk because of the themes involving manipulation of human biology to fulfill the goals of an elite. It was set in a dystopic future where the elites had manipulated history and tricked the rest of the human population into thinking it had freedom. All the while they were actually being subjegated.

Xenosaga not so much though.

kabukiman said:

Nobody had played neuromancer? It was based on the book, and was an excelent game. You had an adventure in the real world, and a paralel game in the matrix. Neurohunter is a cyberpunk game (but a very bad game IMO). A.I. Wars is’t exactly cyberpunk, but you have to use programming languages, so I guess it could be included.

November 13, 2008

PhreakyByNature said:

What of “One Must Fall: 2097″?

An old DOS game from 1994, which deals with the aspect of fusion of man and machine.
Most HARs - 90 ft tall Human Assisted Robots, (used for tasks humans cannot do, but also used in a futuristic combat sport), are hooked up through a neural link it seems (probably typical “jacking in” with SynthOil said to be felt through the “veins”) but the story puts it that one man Major Kreissack has the Nova Project to enable his brain to be put into a HAR.

The the game is essentially a simple beat ‘em up focussed on the story behind the Nova Project, which had a great tournament mode with some RPG elements that worked really well.

I still sneak in a tournament or two when I can ;)

December 11, 2008

Siperus said:

I would like to point out there is an interesting game I am currently checking out. Neocron 2. It is cyberpunk to the max, and its an MMO. Its pay to play, 5 Euros or $6.50, it is small but I am getting the word out about it. I figure if enough people start checking it out it will get bumbed up. plus new stuff coming soon I hear, off to go play it now……..

PhreakyByNature said:

Siperus: I sometimes loiter in the old ETG server’s #neocron channel as my cousins were big players of the first Neocron, but I don’t know if they favoured Neocron 2 as much… Have you played the first?

Same with OMF:2097 - excellent game, but OMF:BG (sequel) which was a great concept with a revolutionary fighting style was released a bit rushed and still needs polishing…

xamox said:

Are you thinking of the game called X-com?

December 13, 2008

cris said:

what about biowares mass effect?

December 15, 2008

Felix Neo said:


Felix Neo said:

[ sincerely wonderin what’s goin on and why my comment wasn’t posted… hmmm :\ ]

FN said:


February 21, 2009

JustMarc said:

I would attribute the label of ‘cyberpunk’ to the video game ‘Bioshock’ on the grounds that it contains:

1. Human and machine interfacing in the form of the ‘big daddy’ enhancement suits.
2. The trademark ‘colour style’ in the sense that tones are murky, singular and gravelly.
3. Body modification through genetic enhancements and the use of narcotics.
4. A dystopic and Orwellian society, complete with depraving residents motivated by drug addiction.
5. Hacking and reverse engineering.
6. Depersonalisation and memory reprogramming.
7. Cloning (evidence for this is debatable and subjective)
8. A narrative that is constructed around the perspective of the subjugated.

February 22, 2009

SolidFake said:

I would be pleased if you can review a cyberpunk mod for the source engine called “Dystopia”.
The cyberpunk style is extremely high there and it’s a stunning and funny mod.
But because it’s a mod you need at least one game that uses the source engine, like Css or Team Fortress 2 or Half Life 2 etc.
http://www.dystopia-game.com/

March 15, 2009

dICEn said:

Syndicate & Synducate Wars for pc is definitely worth mentioning. Isometric “point and click” strategy/rpg hybrids.

Also Deus Ex & Snowblind were too goods ones for PS2.

July 9, 2009

Krevin Sprice said:

BLOODNET

Is this a cyberpunk lost classic or what? Really good game. PC. Adventure sort-of. Google it.

August 11, 2009

Jag said:

Come check out our Shadowrun Online game at www.newseattle.org

And the best thing, is its free!

September 18, 2009

Delixe said:

You definetly have to check out a VERY old game called Corporation on various formats: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corporation_%28video_game%29 It was a long time before System Shock.

October 6, 2009

RipTide said:

There was a game released by Activision a few years ago on their value label called Revolution that I thought was pretty good. Definitely has a cyber-punk look and feel. I also picked up a couple of games that look good: Restricted Area and Metal Heart - Replicants Rampage. Haven’t had a chance to load or play these two yet.

October 23, 2009

parásito said:

Perfect dark es una buena manera de viajar dentro de una atmósfera cyberpunk :)

October 27, 2009

Dante said:

“Hell: The Cyberpunk Thriller” need to add in that list!

November 11, 2009

skoti said:

Counter Clockwise
or Ablation X from 16×16

from:
The Father of the 3D window Interface

November 12, 2009

AlbertRoll said:

What about Project Snowblind?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Project_Snowblind

This is a spiritual successor to the deus ex series, and is available at a very cheap price for the ps2 and xbox. Great game and big f-off robots to blow up.

Also the Game Judge Dredd vs Death is set in Mega City one, which is very cyber punk.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Judge_Dredd:_Dredd_Vs._Death

Shame the game sucked a bit.

December 4, 2009

Karol said:

Hello. You should totally add Paradise cracked and Cops 2170: The Power of Law. Very good cyberpunk games. cheers :)

Jargonzola said:

I would like to see Dystopia make your list. It is a total conversion half-life 2 mod but it holds its own as a game. I think it is about to be updated as well. Really fun multi-player cyberpunk game.

December 8, 2009

Skrýmir said:

The only problem i can see with Dystopia is it’s Multiplayer only, so it really has no themes to it, just visuals. It’s a Team Arena game when you get down to it, just a Knock off of Deus Ex multiplayer with some System Shock 2 elements like Mantling, and hacking from the Original System Shock. I love Dystopia, don’t get me wrong but the only thing Cyberpunk about it is the Visuals. In my opinion anyhow.

SolidFake said:

What??
I totally don’t agree with you, if you look closely you will find out that each level has a specific theme, some even do have a whole story like cybernetic, you can’t say that are just visuals! Finally open your eyes.
(Also I once heard of rumors concerning a singleplayermode)
Also it is definately not a knock-off from deus ex multiplayer, Dystopia combines different gameplays of many different games. Also isn’t each multiplayer already a knock-off of something already existing?
Tbh it sounds like you don’t Dystopia for such a long time…

December 19, 2009

baby boi said:

Nightlong on the PC

December 26, 2009

Skrýmir said:

I’ve been playing Dystopia since release of the Mod’s Beta phase. I haven’t played much of it recently because i got fairly bored. I’m not saying it’s a bad Mod, I loved it. What I’m saying is that despite all the visuals and cool themes there’s no real story to it. Most maps are just territory control style arena gameplay. And though it takes many aspects from other games, those other games being the System SHock and Deus Ex series of games, It doesn’t really stand up to either of them very well without singleplayer. When Dystopia has Singleplayer it could be a major contender though. I’m not bashing Dystopia by any means, I just don’t see how the visual mentality of everything and pretty basic mission objectives of go here hack this for no reason, truly make it a Cyberpunk experiences. That mentality is a lot like those clubwear losers with the crappy haircuts and eyeliner, that don’t know anything about Computers, or Hacking.

NKTigers said:

Dystopia is definitely not much of a story game. It’s objective based multiplayer with cyberpunk themes. The premise is fairly simple, some punk streetgangs against the eeeevil corporation! What always astounds me is how the punks are just as well equipped as the corps. :D I think the game itself was amazingly fun until the most recent patch where they killed the game entirely making it a casual friendly tardfest. Pretty much every good clan left the game entirely for other stuff.

honestly, I could see how one wouldn’t like the game right off the bat. It really has little story.

December 30, 2009

Shark said:

Here’s my 2c

Beneath a Steel Sky - a rather short but nice cyberpunkish point and click adventure.

BloodNet - a fine cyberpunk point and click adventure.
Neuromancer - goes without saying
Burn:Cycle - best CD-i game ever.
CyberMage - i was “meh” by it even when I was a kid.
Cyberia (both 1 and 2) - a cyberpunkish action/puzzle game.
Deus Ex / System Shock 1&2 - cool games.
Dreamweb - great adventure game.
Hell: A cyberpunk thriller - awesome adventure game as well.

And let’s not forget Rise of the Dragon and Shadowrun. With Syndycate / Syndicate Wars somewhere there but nearer to the top. And I think we got ‘em all :(

There should really be more cyberpunk games out there, or at least newer than 15 years old.

January 24, 2010

SnotHead said:

What about Dystopia, the Half-life 2 mod. It is practiacly based off of Cyber punk and does execllent between the the “meat space” and the Cyber space

nescar said:

These two games I played and think are CyberPunk in realm ok. They are for pc

1994/Cyberia also for ps1
2003/Devastation

Now if you have not played cyberia you really should do so.
Devastation was very fun and has a technology based story to it.

February 11, 2010

Anon said:

Jet Set Radio and Jet Set Radio Future seem like they should be on here, but i might be wrong

jmm1233 said:

Portal is good puzzle type cyberpunk game , especially the indepth look at GlaDos , also Dystopia is a good cyberpunk mutliplayer mod , there the ones i found steam

August 15, 2010

Sacheen1712 said:

How about Fear Effect 1 and 2 for Playstation?

August 17, 2010

Katalyst said:

I found a game called Cybermage: Darklight Awakening. Very cyberpunk. The graphics and gameplay are mediocre but they were designed for DOS so don’t have high hopes.
It should still be considered.

There is a playthrough on YouTube that is worth checking out (because you’ll never get the game and more, you’ll never get it running)

August 22, 2010

Mike at DFO Wiki said:

I’ve read a couple of your reviews and they’re pretty interesting to read =)

I was wondering if you could do a review on Nexon’s MMORPG called Dungeon Fighter Online! I think a lot of pvp-oriented MMORPG players would be interested.

September 22, 2010

Pile of Pooh said:

@Mike @ DFO Wiki,

Did your momma drop your on your fucking head? This is a CYBERPUNK site.

Pile of Pooh said:

@Mike @ DFO Wiki,

Did your momma drop you on your fucking head? This is a CYBERPUNK site.

Anonymous said:

HAHA sounds like a shameless self-promotion!

October 1, 2010

Tomppa said:

Anachronox
Cyberpunk third person computer role-playing game produced by Tom Hall and Ion Storm and released in 2001.

Video in Youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56pnt-6sIyw

October 9, 2010

ttakalo said:

People here already have suggested my favourites over and over again, like the console Shadowruns, Circuit’s Edge and Neuromancer. I just feel like going into a bit more detail on the last two.

What astonishes me about Circuit’s Edge is how mature its content is, and I don’t just mean the “tits and gore” stuff that’s more juvenile. It openly includes aspects of the source material like the prevalence of sexchanges, not caring if it does make teenage boys uncomfortable while playing.

Neuromancer I would rate not only as one of the best cyberpunk games ever, but also possibly the best hacking game made so far. Of course, the mechanics of hacking aren’t ultra-realistic, but they are fun. The matrix side of the gameplay is much more expansive than the real world, and has more interesting content. The databases you can hack into have loads of extra content, like internal memos and research reports you can read. No other hacking game I’ve played conveys as well the feeling of breaking into someplace where you’re not supposed to be, and feeling good about that accomplishment.

ttakalo said:

I remembered a couple of games that are not yet mentioned. There’s Angel Devoid: Face of the Enemy, which is a FMV game similar to Burn: Cycle. Another one is Bioforge, a third-person action-adventure where you play the unfortunate amnesiac result of an attempt in creating a cyborg. Sure, amnesia is an overused story element, but Bioforge does this well in that the amnesia persists throughout the story. One of the greatest moments in the game is when you manage to find a list of the test subjects - with no indication which one is you!

January 24, 2011

Gabriel said:

metal gear? cyberpunk? gtfo

January 31, 2011

Lpnalda said:

I’m surprised that Bytes for iPad/iPhone/iPod touch. It’s basically an arcade shooter that takes place in cyberspace inside a corporate computer. You shoot security minions,. That said, ther get power ups and shield regenerations in hopes of unlocking data to save the world from an evil corporation. I’ve not gotten to this point, as i get to level 4 and run out of lives. That said, there are some scathing review in the app store about the game being impossible due to the slow response of the joystick. I haven’t made up my own mind as I still think it’s fun. The free version goes to 3 levels (sectors) and for $1.99 you get all sectors

February 13, 2011

hyperlinx said:

Dystopia and Neotokyo rules!

March 19, 2011

OBSysteme said:

I still have the original Hell: cyber punk thriller CD, purchased the year it came out (1994?) as a teen I think that was actually the first game I bought with my own pocket money (we would usually pirate games) from a local store with limited variety… I was in for quite an unexpected ride with that one.

March 25, 2011

Anonymous said:

i like turtles.

April 27, 2011

SeniorCitizen said:

you guyz may wanna check out the followinx and decide if they fit in:

Crusader: No Remorse
Crusader: No Regret
Messiah
MDK (1&2)
Red Faction (1&2)
Oddworld (the series)
RoboCop
Unreal Tournament
Terminator (there are quite a lot of Terminator games)
Shadow Vault
Dreamfall: The Longest Journey
The Longest Journey (make no mistake, this one is not Dreamfall)
The City of Lost Children
Hacker Evolution
Hacker
Decker
G-Police (1&2) [PSX]
Gore
Darwinia
Crime Cities
B.A.T (1&2)
Bureau 13
Quarantine (1&2)
Lawnmower Man
Flashback
Fade To Black
Outcast

SeniorCitizen said:

plz, if anyone does happen to have Revolution (by Activision, 2002), make it downloadable by uploading it to somewhere and contact me at senior.citizen@hotmail.com

thanks

also noteworthy:
Chaser
The Fifth Element
Shadowman

May 9, 2011

Andrew said:

Nomad Soul. I used to play this yearrrrs ago. :’)

July 11, 2011

Zero One said:

You should check out game called “Cops 2170: Power of Law”. It’s a tactical, strategic game in cyberpunk world and it’s not that old :)

July 17, 2011

wraith said:

DYSTOPIA, Best Cyberpunk Online Free Fps available on steam

July 18, 2011

Thom said:

Yep, Dystopia is a great multi player FPS.

February 21, 2012

Ace said:

@SeniorCitizen Quarantine for sure! That game is the ultimate in Cyberpunk genre. Nothing else I’ve really come in contact with matches up to it.

April 7, 2012

jjk said:

So, i havnt noticed if anyone has said anything about E.Y.E Divine cybermancy, amazing indie game, came out in 2011 i believe. its like deus ex meets Warhammer 40k. the game is pretty much 50% FPS and 50% RPG, but its tones of fun.

April 22, 2012

LosTNodE said:

E.Y.E Divine cybermancy is a sure thing on games to be added to the list.
Key features:
1) Multiplayer co-op modes directly influence solo play, and vice-versa. The limits of solo and multiplayer games are finally left behind.

2) Psychological and mental trauma management.

3) 25 weapons, different shooting modes, dynamic precision, drilling shots, iron sighting, extended zoom.

4) Complete hacking system with game play impact

5) 9 devastatingly subtle PSI powers.

6) More than 20 NPC with non-scripted, fully reactive and efficient AI, endowed with a sense of initiative. Bloody close combat with technical detail. Incredible physical movement realism thanks to Source Engine physics.

7) Excellent replayability - primary and secondary missions, dynamic environments, non-linear level progression, and random NPC spawn, type and appearance. Death doesn’t penalize players: no need to restart the current mission.

8) Open-level gameplay for hours of fun without reloading.
http://youtu.be/6o7E4vNmmN4

May 4, 2012

ngamer said:

There’s a new MMORPG in the works called Neurostaza.http://www.neurostaza.com/ It’s set in a post-apocalyptic world with added cyberpunk and dieselpunk elements for flavor.
Frankly, I’m not a huge fan of this kind of setting, but the game is surprisingly engrossing, even though many of the key features haven’t been implemented yet.

July 1, 2012

Ctrlallterrors said:

Can’t believe nobody mentioned Dreamweb. The single greatest cyberpunk game of all time and also the first sex scene in a videogame. Go look.

July 15, 2012

Peter said:

ADD GAME TO TH ELIST:

Sabotain: Break the Rules

http://uk.ign.com/games/sabotain-break-the-rules/pc-641311

August 31, 2012

RaZor said:

God, I love system shock 1 & 2. Could never stop playing. Man, SHODAN is F’n BadAss.

September 16, 2012

Silvio said:

Hm, what about Fallout series? Especially the old ones from 90’s?
Had someone ever thought making a review about the ShadowRun released for SNES?

September 24, 2012

Ghost Signal said:

The Genesis/Megadrive Shadowrun game was SUPERB.

October 5, 2012

what to do when your bored said:

Fantastic blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict :P ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more to come!

October 7, 2012

Punk:Cyber said:

Hi, i would like if you guys add anachronox, i think it is cyberpunk, but just got the minimum requirements to be. Yet its an amazing game and athmosphere.

October 17, 2012

Berwise said:

So! great

It is a very good thing. Thanks for sharing the article.

ครีมหน้าขาวใสหรือว่าครีมเกี่ยวกับเผินๆสีขาวแจ่มกระจ่าง ชอบคิดค้นรุ่งมาเหตุด้วยเกลาอุปสรรคซึ่งกู่เรียกคว้าต่อว่า ทรามสงวนจวนจะทุกท่านจงพบพาน นั้นตกว่าปมปัญหาเรื่อง ขุ่นมัว ประ กับทำเครื่องหมายน้ำด่างดำนาที่ทางพื้นผิวตรงนั้นเอง ซึ่งข้อสงสัยตรงนี้ถอยพร้อมกับแหวสดสัญลักษณ์ข้าวของปูนสถานที่จะจำต้องประสูติรุ่งโรจน์ด้วยกันทุกคน
======================================================

December 1, 2012

Haxsys said:

The Journey Man Project series seems like a shoo in for this category:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Journeyman_Project

December 16, 2012

Mike said:

because Fallout is post=apocolyptic NOT cyber punk

January 11, 2013

Vacen Taylor (@VacenTaylor) said:

I hope you do a review on Cyberpunk 2077 when it comes out :) http://www.cyberpunk.net/

May 21, 2013

Kevin said:

I thought one of points of cyberpunk was to be post-modern-apocalyptic.

July 7, 2013

What to do when your bored said:

This game s superb i love to play when i m bored.. :)

July 25, 2013

horatio_ said:

hi all,

not sure if it was mentioned on here yet (not from my skimming of the above posts).

I found this on Kickstarter, and it was just successfully funded. It is the spiritual successor to Syndicate wars, and seems pretty legit. check it out on kickstarter and steam greenlight.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/5livesstudios/satellite-reign/posts/548293?ref=activity

August 8, 2013

Spooky said:

What about Shin Megami Tensei? That shit is pretty cyberpunk-ish.

August 11, 2013

Obsolète Broadcast Système said:

What about checking out: “Hell, a cyberpunk thriller”, circa 1994?

September 11, 2013

Jiru said:

Check my list…

Policenauts
Strider Hiryu 1 & 2
Oni
Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon

Thanks n I love this web!!!

January 21, 2014

Techogaian said:

You guys totally forgot about EYE: Divine Cybermancy :D

Leave a comment

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts