AI Constructs

Artificial Intelligence is a prevalent theme in science fiction, and more so in cyberpunk, especially in the great cyberpunk literary works. However, we find many terrific instances AI in film which cannot be thought of as cyberpunk. Hal 9000 is probably the most powerful instance of an AI in movies, but clearly (at least to me), 2001: A Space Odyssey is not cyberpunk, so it won’t be listed here. Also, I clearly distinguish “Bodyless” AI from androids. For instance, in movies like, um, AI (still to be reviewed), we really see sentient androids, not singularities in the traditional sense of AI. Like all of my themes categories, I don’t distinguish here between movies and animes (which are very influential in cyberpunk) - you will see both listed.

And yes, I realize I don’t have all bodyless (can someone help me come up with a better term than “bodyless”?) AI movies listed - in fact I have very few right now. I’m still in the process of uploading my reviews. If you have one in mind that you don’t see here, let me know, and I’ll bump it up in priority.

 

(Bodyless) AI Movies in Cyberpunk

 

Comments

December 4, 2006

Nanoforge said:

you could call them AI constructs instead of bodyless AI or simply AI computers.

January 16, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi Nanoforge, I like “AI Constructs.” I may change this, thanks!

June 28, 2008

tehprion said:

There’s a dodgey B-Grade called Terminal Error. Its set in the present in a town where alot of things have been automated by a single company’s software. A former friend of the now-rich company’s head develops a virus to infect the software and destroy technology. But the virus gains sentience and starts to kill off the human race (claiming that humans are the real virus).

Any chance of getting it on the “to review” list?

January 30, 2009

Adoe said:

You could call them AI Entity’s. This could save confusion as an AI construct could be misconstrued as a machine/item/thing made by an AI. What do you think?

Adoe said:

Hal in 2001
Master Program in Tron
AI in Demon Seed

February 1, 2009

Nero said:

I think the Terminator Saga could be called Cyberpunk, at least the scenes that take place in the future.

Hell, what’s more cyberpunk than an army of Killer-Terminators with Plasmarifles, HK’s, Guerrilla-Rebels, post-apocalyptic World and a strong AI named SkyNet that wipes out almost all of humanity within a nuclear holocaust ?

..ok, Arnie is NOT cyberpunk, okok..

But the rest is ! Pretty close at least.

HaHa.. in the first one there’s even Punks ! You get it..? …

June 22, 2010

snipe94 said:

I agree that terminal error should go on the list and demon seed

July 8, 2010

The Peso said:

“”And yes, I realize I don’t have all bodyless (can someone help me come up with a better term than “bodyless”?) AI movies listed”"

DISEMBODIED I think is the word for which you are looking.

December 14, 2010

Anonymous said:

no MAX HEADROOM???

SSJKamui said:

I agree, Max Headroom should definitely be added. (One reason is that the visuals of the series are an important document of the history of Computer Graphics. (and the stylistic emulation of computer graphics.))

I would like to review it but I didn’t found the series yet and Mr.Roboto seems to be covering only brand new movies at the moment. So, I don’t think it can be reviewed soon.

July 12, 2012

REDHOSTEUR.COM said:

I found this post accidently while searching online. Thanks!

October 18, 2012

Best said:

Thanks for the good article. I have new ideas up. The article was really special.

January 17, 2013

Pets Care said:

Thanks for your wonderful post.

Leave a comment

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts